Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
Not sure he’s coming back. His Dad’s in hospital and close to the end. Plus he’s spending his time at the cas and sleeping all day.

They’re not deal breakers , kicked out of a nightclub at 300am would be , dealing with illness within the family is fact of life. I’m tipping you’ll see him resume training

Agree
If he has lapsed a little with training while dealing with an extremely stressful situation I hardly think the club will judge it to harshly as long as he’s honest

And that’s even IF he’s slacked off a little
But hey maybe I’m soft

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
Agree
If he has lapsed a little with training while dealing with an extremely stressful situation I hardly think the club will judge it to harshly as long as he’s honest

And that’s even IF he’s slacked off a little
But hey maybe I’m soft
If there were Harley Bennell like headlines then it would be grim , is only a few weeks into his stay , relationships not yet established, get through the Christmas break without incident and FT training again ,he’s right on track

Nov 26, 2013
Man U, Chicago Bulls, Anaheim Ducks
cant get into trouble if you sleep all day

20180703190744-rollsafe-meme.jpeg

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
cant get into trouble if you sleep all day

20180703190744-rollsafe-meme.jpeg
That’s it , with no training sessions , most of the list away on holidays , what else will the poor bugga do after he helps mrs Hardwick hang out the washing , bring the bins in ,cut the grass and mop the floors . I might be crazy but I don’t see a problem

Jan 15, 2006
Oz
Orlando Magic, Baltimore Ravens
Plenty of players enjoy poker at Crown for many hours. Melbourne players especially when I've been wandering through but it might just be because Gawn is so distinctive you also then recognise the others more as well.

As long as he also isn't mixing it with copious alcohol while he's at the Casino, he could be in more dangerous places doing much worse things than hanging out at a secure monitored venue like a casino.

Cotcho

Jul 4, 2012
Liverpool
Plenty of players enjoy poker at Crown for many hours. Melbourne players especially when I've been wandering through but it might just be because Gawn is so distinctive you also then recognise the others more as well.

As long as he also isn't mixing it with copious alcohol while he's at the Casino, he could be in more dangerous places doing much worse things than hanging out at a secure monitored venue like a casino.

Hmmmm to me it's pretty much the most dangerous place that I could think of for a young kid who is soon to be coming into decent coin with a fair bit of free time. Genetically predisposed to addiction in a place that is designed to leverage addiction. You're right in that it's physically safer than plenty of other places but ouuff I wouldn't think it's a financially, mentally, emotionally safe place for a vulnerable kid.

Jan 15, 2006
Oz
Orlando Magic, Baltimore Ravens
Hmmmm to me it's pretty much the most dangerous place that I could think of for a young kid who is soon to be coming into decent coin with a fair bit of free time. Genetically predisposed to addiction in a place that is designed to leverage addiction. You're right in that it's physically safer than plenty of other places but ouuff I wouldn't think it's a financially, mentally, emotionally safe place for a vulnerable kid.
True, fair bit of unknown variance glossed over in my comment. It's very different and a lot of unknowns of if he's playing low-stakes poker than can go for hours with comparatively little cash burn risk compared to if he's sitting at a pokies machine churning cash through the machine. And the discretionary spend difference between lets say Max Gawn vs Sydney Stack's wage, as well as what their playing motives are, i.e. coping mechanism vs enjoyment is very relevant too.

Grrr

Aug 16, 2009
mildura
You sure about that, much more likely to be learn't than genetics. I assume you are referencing this due to being indigenous, not sure gambling was a big part of their culture.

Shazza_

Jan 2, 2018
Safeway carpark
Richmond VFL
That’s it , with no training sessions , most of the list away on holidays , what else will the poor bugga do after he helps mrs Hardwick hang out the washing , bring the bins in ,cut the grass and mop the floors . I might be crazy but I don’t see a problem
has mrs hardick moved to perth

Dec 28, 2007
Richmond 2019 Premiers
Not sure how much of this is true or not but people need to remember that doesnt matter who you are and what your job is gambling ruins lives
Jake Stringer is probably the best example and whilst he on the surface looks to be getting his life back in order he is still gambling and constantly
It is an addiction and people take it lightly when footy players are involved due to the players being paid so well but it doesnt last long.

If all this casino/stack stuff is a joke , Its certainly not funny

Joker91

Jan 3, 2012
Tigerland
Liverpool
Unfortunately I don’t think any of it’s a joke why would someone post that a players dad is about to die and they are spending all there spare time gambling and sleeping

Marcel Proust

"Oohh WADA ooga booga" {Jul 11 2013}
Sep 6, 2018
#BigBigSound
Unfortunately I don’t think any of it’s a joke why would someone post that a players dad is about to die and they are spending all there spare time gambling and sleeping

I have not been following the social media but that doesnt sound good - hopefully Sydney and his family are ok and the lad breaks into the senior team for round1

Cotcho

Jul 4, 2012
Liverpool
You sure about that, much more likely to be learn't than genetics. I assume you are referencing this due to being indigenous, not sure gambling was a big part of their culture.

Nature v nurture I suppose and I have no idea what would be more influential. Indigenous lads seem to fall into the trappings of addiction for a variety of reasons. I shouldn't have said "genetically" predisposed. Perhaps just predisposed. Let's hope this impressionable kid doesn't grip onto something long term detrimental for everyone's sake.

Marcel Proust

"Oohh WADA ooga booga" {Jul 11 2013}
Sep 6, 2018
#BigBigSound
Nature v nurture I suppose and I have no idea what would be more influential. Indigenous lads seem to fall into the trappings of addiction for a variety of reasons. I shouldn't have said "genetically" predisposed. Perhaps just predisposed. Let's hope this impressionable kid doesn't grip onto something long term detrimental for everyone's sake.

your correct in regards to alcohol addictions

Grrr

Aug 16, 2009
mildura
Life is not always rosey for many Indigenous youth, many reasons no.1 breakup of the family unit. That will predispose kids no matter what the background... but let's not run off track. I reckon Stack will come back fine, he looks a tough type of player and once you get a taste not many kids just throw it away in the first few months.