'Richmond's top 10 basic errors' - Lloyd analysis

• Thread starter Thread starter TheAnt

this is true each week though, our coaches should be picking up on it and our players need to change. moronic element in aussie footy, they have no idea about how to execute skill need to watch top teams like barcleona and co train and play every pass is on target every detail is covered

Why do we have these injuries at the start of the year? Hell, Deledio is so important to us but they have stuffed up his pre-season three years in a row. Are they too conservative with him? Maybe if his workload was upped earlier the fitness staff and him might recognise a problem sooner. That then gets him on the field sooner.

Good point. It seems the Senior players, which come back later, instead of the younglings, are the ones getting soft tissue injuries.

Lots to work on . 5 more shots on goal that we wasted, didn't run the clock down by continuing to attack. Just like winning, a loss is part of the whole team.....:cry::cry::cry:

Yeah I understand your point but I just wonder being so far from the start doing it at this time would just make him work hard on the hard decks of feb and just increase the chances of additional injuries anyway.
He can run laps of my backyard. Each one will only take him about ten seconds but come the middle of February the Sir Walter Buffalo is lush - heaps of padding for fragile veterans. And once a week he can mow the lawn while he is at it.

3rd time (at least) that we've had a chronic break down in the last 2 mins of a game. GC, Freo and Drugwood. And David Astbury says he wasn't sure what the coaches wanted out of the team in those last few mins on Friday ? He's been at the club how long ? Hardwick has coached him how long ? Interesting.

Either our coaches are rubbish, or our players are dumb or unwilling. Or maybe it's both the coaches and the players ? Who knows.

Whatever, yet another capitulation like this suggests imbedded and high level problems.

We're treading water with this playing group and/or coaching staff. We may win next week. Might even make the 8. But there's something just not right at this club. Certain things we just aren't improving on.

3rd time (at least) that we've had a chronic break down in the last 2 mins of a game. GC, Freo and Drugwood. And David Astbury says he wasn't sure what the coaches wanted out of the team in those last few mins on Friday ? He's been at the club how long ? Hardwick has coached him how long ? Interesting.

Either our coaches are rubbish, or our players are dumb or unwilling. Or maybe it's both the coaches and the players ? Who knows.

Whatever, yet another capitulation like this suggests imbedded and high level problems.

We're treading water with this playing group and/or coaching staff. We may win next week. Might even make the 8. But there's something just not right at this club. Certain things we just aren't improving on.

When did Dave say that? Radio?
Pretty damming on Dimma I would have thought.

I remember at the Cocktail Night I went to last season, I remember it was mentioned by someone that they had 3-4 gameplans depending on the scenario of the match. If true, it would explain why the players have no idea what is expected in certain scenarios, especially when there are so many options.

I personally believe that we should revert back to our 2010-2011 game plan of running and playing on at all costs. Sort of like the Eagles last, we had to compensate for the lack of quality defence for all out attack. Now, we are relying on our defence to win games. All well and good doing so, but you also need to score as well. That's why Ross Lyon will never be a premiership coach. You can shut down your opposition from scoring, but even if they only kick 7, you still have to kick 8 to win.

A free flowing game will suit us far more than our current chip chip stuff, considering we cannot play possession football with players like Grigg, Brandon Ellis, Taylor Hunt etc in the side whose kicking skills are average. Possession football means a slow game plan that requires good kicking to maintain control on the game. Too many times we let ourselves down with poor disposal and get scored against on the turnover. Also factor in the slow movement and it gives opposition time to flood back and clog up our forward line.

Playing an attacking game might mean we open ourselves up defensively, but it allows our forwards more time and space to operate, puts the opposition under pressure and allows us to exploit mismatches.

****in sick and tired of the Cotchin bashing in the media, but especially on here. Some supposed Richmond supporters on here are a joke.
Cotch cant win. If he says nothing he would be bagged, he says something to Treloar and people say he should have shut up because we lost.
Wayne Carey had a good point on talking footy, he said where was all this hate for Cotch when they won nine straight and when he was leading this club to finals?? One bad game and a sluggish start has everyone questioning him.

The bloke is a stand up citizen on and off the field, he is no hodgey and he has some things to work on, but he is a dam good player and im backing him in to recapture his peak form.

For me we have started the last 3 seasons the same way. With slow ball movement, chipping it sideways & not trying to use pace to break lines. Then Dimma wakes up & gets the players to move the ball quicker & our disposal seems to improve with the quicker movement. So whatever Dimma is trying to do in the pre-seasons is obviously not working. We really need to play to our strengths & stop over complicating whatever the game plan is.

We must have watched a different team last year. In 2015, we started the season trying to play a running style of game, kept turning the ball over and went back to a slower tempo, control possession game from around round 8 and had success.

Again turnovers are killing us this year.

So we are missing some onfield leadership that would no doubt have helped a little with some of those errors....

But thats a bloody cop out..grigg and vickery shouldve iced the effing clock

The captain was still out there and not vocal enough or nobody listened

Maybe we just have utter shit on field leaders and if so it needs to be adddressed cos its games like this and games like last year vs the shemons that continueally hold us back from top 4 and a real chance of learning how to be successful. Utter bloody tripe

Been saying this for years. We have very little onfield leadership. Trent may be a very good off-field captain but it is plainly obvious that he needs help on-field. From a list management and coaching perspective, everyone involved has to shoulder the blame. They could see our leadership group was weak. Has been for years. So what do they do about it? Who have they brought in that could help for a few years? No-one.

This is a quote from Eddie Jones on what he spotted in Dylan Hartley to appoint him captain of the English Rugby team: "Those are the things you look for in leaders, it's not how well he speaks, what school he went to, can he write poetry, that has nothing to do with leadership. It is all about the ability to influence people." Now I'm a big fan of Trent's and think he was given the captaincy way too early. Problem is that we have a shortage of people who could influence in a positive way. Rance is obviously one. I don't believe Jack is...poor body language and sooking is not a leadership trait. Marin is so far from a leader it's not funny. I don't understand why some blokes are calling for him to be made a captain. He does very little talking out on the ground. Not what you want in a leader. Vlaustin...too young.

And yes Vickery and Grigg as senior players should have iced the game. Seriously, wtf were they thinking. Collective IQ of my left shoe. Just dumb football.

Oh and if Taylor Hunt plays one more effing game for our club, I am going to dump 2 truckloads of chicken shit in Dimma's office. No more. It's obvious he is a terrible disposer of the ball. Turnovers kill you in today's footy and he the opposition is guaranteed a few free goals from him being in the side even before they run out. NO NO NO!!

I haven't watched this - nor will I, but does anyone think having Chaplin back in defense would have helped in the last 30 seconds - his organisation of the back 6 I feel is very underrated, allows Rance to take the game on and the 2IC, is always on the last line when needed (just look at how many possessions he has had in years gone by cherry picking on the last line).

The last 30 seconds is not why we lost, but he could have certainly helped