Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
If anyone was curious as to who ran over "Stone Cold" at Survivor Series 1999 (which was in November 1999), it was Rikishi.

For storyline purposes, this put Stone Cold on the sidelines for 9 months (the reality was that he was having a neck operation, that would keep him sidelined, and this storyline made a good excuse), and for the last few weeks he was trying to find the scumbag who ran him down.

On Smackdown on Friday on Fox8, we saw Rikishi (who just happends to be "The Rock's" cousin in real life) confess.

So, for those who are WWF fans, I thought you mighr be interested. This obviously has turned Rikishi into a bad guy - which is a good idea becasue there is a dearth of bad guys in the WWF at the moment - and apparently is leading to a match between the two at the next Pay-per-view, "No Mercy".

For those sorry souls that are not wrestling fans (I pity them), please don't respond.

This storyline will probably turn into a fued down the road between Austin and The Rock with a match at Wrestlemania 2001 a possibility.

Austin will probably think that The Rock had something to do with the crash, which he might have had or not. It doesn't really matter, anyway.

This in turn could turn The Rock into a heel (Bad guy) again as I have read he wants to do as he feels more comfortable with it than Austin does.

But you just never know in wrestling.

Yeah caught up with the Rikihi angle on a couple of the rasslin sites i hit.

They given a reason yet? Speculation on something to do with racism was one thread i heard. Anyway they said that the Nation of Domination might be reformed. I hope not that was a lousy angle.

Rock is just getting the biggest 'pop' ever though at the moment so i cant see him going back to a heel. Austin (when he and Hart) was a brilliant heel. If his necks okay and he can now resume full time thats the way id go with it.

Dan24 be sure to check out www.wrestleline.com for all the latest news, results and backstage antics in the world of wrestling.

I'm not a huge Austin fan but I'm going to have to wait and see on this angle before deciding whether I hate it or not, although I'm sure it will suck when that glorified brawler starts wrestling again.

So who are some of your favourite wrestlers?

Mine probably are The Dudley Boyz, Jeff Hardy, Chris Jericho, Kurt Angle, Tazz and Raven.

I'd like to see a babyface vs babyface match-up for Wrestlemania 17 in April. It's been a long time since two good guys went at it in the main event and I think the time could be right. However, I think you may see an Austin Heel turn.

At Wrestlemania 6, Hogan vs Warrior was face vs face and it was highly memorable.

The thing is that the Rock gets cheered no matter who he is. When he was "bad", he still got huge pops from the intelligent fans who apprecited his creativity. It would be very hard to turn the Rock heel.

If it were up to me, I'd turn Austin Heel. he had been a babyface for so long now (3 and a half years) and he is clearly second in popularity to the peoples champ. They need another bad guy too. Perhaps when the Big Show comes back, he will be a heel.

I'm really looking forward to the time when Kurt Angle turns "face". Mark my words, this guy will be HUGE. He works the crowd superbly. When he stops his cocky arrogance (which works wondefully as a "heel") and becomes a fully fledged good-guy he will be awesome. He has that good-guy "look" about him.

Only two years ago at Wrestlemania 15, we had a "face" Austin vs "heel" Rock, so I doubt VERY MUCH whetehr the WWF will ahve the exact same match-up, interms of good guy-bad guy. I think it may be the other way around, with Austin as the bad guy. The WWF has a habit of surprising us every now and then with a huge storyline, and due to Stone Cold returning and the dearth of big-time heels in the WWF, I'm sure we will see a Stone-Cold "heel" turn sooner rather than later.

it makes sense too. On Smackdown!, we saw the Rock conduct a "shoot style interview (meaning it was supposed to give as the illusion that it was real), where he was out of character. He conveyed his good-guy traits to the audiences, which shows me that the WWF have no intentions of turning the Rock into a heel just yet.

Well, they were my perceptions anyway.

[This message has been edited by Dan24 (edited 15 October 2000).]

Face Vs Face for Wm 2001(are we upto 17) would be an absolute dream. I was crying like a baby when Hogan lost to the Warrior at WM 6, as were many Hulkamaniacs at the time (Hey, give me a break I was only six). I think anytime you can divide a crowd it makes the match more special and important e.g the NWO in WCW was great in that way.

It pisses me off how they can never decide on Big Show when it is obvious he should be a monster heel(like his WCW days of 96-97).

If it is face vs face, there has to be special circumstances.

It's pointless to have a "face vs face" match-up if everyone is barracking for both of them. You have to have it, so that BOTH faces have there own set of fans. Usually "face vs face" doesn't work, but under special circumstances it can work.

It's a bit like a Bulldogs vs Saints Grand Final. If you don't barrack for any of them, no one cares who wins, because we like both of them. Everyone loves both teams. They are both fan favourites. When the Crows met the Saints in 1997, it made the Grand Final so much more interesting for neutral fans (like me), since the match had a hero and a villian. If it were bulldogs vs Saints, the Victorian public like both teams, which takes away the interest level. It is worth noting the 1997 GF crowd was 99,300.....well above the usual crowd of about 94,000, proving the interst level of a Face vs heel Grand Final.

At Wrestlemania 6, there were the usual Hulkamaniacs, who wanted the Hulkster to win. Then there were the new breed of Warriors (like me) who wanted the Warrior to win. I still remember the emotional embrace of the two, after the match, which got the crowd pumped.

If it is "face" Rock, vs "face" Austin, then both will have their own set of fans. So, it "could" work. I think the special circumstances mean that it could easily work.

But personally, I think Austin will turn heel. I just have a funny feeling.

I agree about the Big Show. They have misused him. He is neither here nor there. One minute he is good, the next he is bad. They should just make him a monster heel.

A good guy is only as good as his villian is bad. The villian is the most important character. Luke Skywalker was only as good as Darth Vader was bad, so its very important that they get some "heels" back into the main storylines. To make things worse, Triple H has now turned good. That's why I am almost certain, we will see a Stone Cold Heel turn. Undertaker is "face" too to make matters worse. Kane is heel at the moment, but he is never really "bad" because his character has us all feeling sorry for him. I'ts just GOT to be Austin to make the heel turn.

This new angle will certainly take Rikishi to a new level. Will he still do the (stupid) dancing when he is supposed to be the bad guy who almost killed the most popular wrestler ever?

I don't think we have heard the end of this. The WWF is good at twisting things just when you think you have it worked out. It all eventually leads to The Rock. He and Stone Cold were supposed to have four PPV mathces in a row after Wrestlemania XV but Austin was injured so they moved on and elevated HHH. Maybe Rikishi will step up into that level but I'm not so sure.

I'm not sure what they will do with Rikishi since he didn't really get any heat (crowd reaction) from the fans when he announched that he had hit Austin with the car.

Also, Rikishi explained it like he was forced to do it or something like that, but I can't remember.

Maybe the creative writers just put Rikishi out there to see what would happen. If the crowd turned on him then they would keep going on with the angle. But if they didn't they might change the storyline and make it that Rikishi was covering for someone else so as to elevate someone else to mainevent level.

Did anyone watch SmackDown on friday night?

What did u think of Vince going insane? How about the UT squashing Raven in a Hardcore match?

I am glad there are some WWF fasn on here so we can tlak about the WWF and footy as well
smile.gif

Paul

He he

I love an evil Vince. He plays the best heel !

Smart move too, I reckon. The two biggest stars (Rock and Austin) are both good guys. HHH, is a bad guy, but he gets cheered a bit, because he is cool. Kurt Angle is the only true "bad guy" who only gets booed, with no cheers at all. But Kurt Angle isn't an evil sort of heel. He's an arrogant, up-himself, cry-baby sook, type of bad-guy.

So, the WWF really needs an "EVIL" bad guy, who no-one likes. Like I said, HHH get's cheered a bit because he is cool ! With Vince going on his insane rampage and showing contempt for his family, it gives the WWF that evil bad-guy they've been looking for. Expect HHH to side with Vince, to ensure that HHH gets the boos he should be getting - not cheers.

What I orginally thought was going to happen was....HHH and/or Rikishi were faking their injuries from Armageddon (exaggerating them) so Mick Foley would resign then Vince would become commisioner sided with HHH. But since Foley didn't resign, i changed my view...

Please god let WCW die the death it deserves and let the one true bad guy left (the AWESOME ONE HIMSELF BIG POPPA PUMP) move to a federatiom where his talents belong.

Anyone see him a while back in the shoot interview about other wrestlers? Brilliant stuff but hed have to take Midajah with him for it to be complete.

Jod23,

Kurt Angle is a legend. No one gets more crowd boos than Kurt. He is an expert at being hated, which is his job.

He's not "supposed" to be cool. That's not his job. His job is to be an arrogant, self important, stuck up, sook, who keeps winning mathches pissing everybody off.

He does his job so well, that the WWF have already given him every major award there is to win; and he's only been in the WWF for a year ! Plus, I think he us funny.

Everytime the guy talks, he just cracks me up. When he was apologising to Steven Reagal about he American revloution, I just couldn't stop laughing.

I remember 3 weeks ago, when he called out the Undertaker. He was pissed off with the Undertaker fo beating him up and he wanted the Undertaker to come out to the ring. Angle said :

"Listen Undertaker......if that IS your real name...."

classic stuff

Originally posted by Dan24:
Jod23,

Kurt Angle is a legend.

Dan,

I would not say that Angle is a legend. Well, not yet anyway. It will be a few more years until that happens.

But you just know about these things (who the legends will be). He might get a severe injury and never be able to wrestle again or if he still can, only in a limited capacity.

Same Old's,

Good point. But I didn't mean he was a legend in the same way as Hulk Hogan or the Undertaker. I was just saying "legend" in the context that I think Kurt Angle is very good. I didn't actually mean he was an actual legend in the true sense of the word. Sorry about that.

It's a bit like a first game player kicking a great goal, and you might say "What a legend !"

But considering what he has achieved in his first year, he is well on the way.

He has won the Eurpoean title, the Intercontinental, King of the ring and the WWF Championship. The WWF story-writers obviously see enough talent to put him at the front of the WWF storylines. I think he's a magnificent entertainer - not in the same way as the Rock, but in his own unique way.

Dan23,

I was a huge wrestling fan when i was young and slowly i just moved away from it as i got older, and i started getting into basketball alot. But then about a year or so ago i started getting back into it and i found out that my all time hero was a bad guy
frown.gif
Hollywood Hogan.

So i started watching the WCW purely cos Hogan was in it. But then i realised that the WCW had some great names like Goldberg, Kevin Nash, Scott Stiener, Sting, Booker T, Kronik, Lex Luger, DDP, Jeff Jarret, the list goes on.

Then i thought i would go back and see how the WWF was going and it was just shocking, the storylines were so crap it was like watching Days of our Lives not Wrestling. I looked for some great wrestlers but i couldnt like any of them, none of them had an edge. Apart from the Undertaker who has history and The Rock who just kicks ass.

HHH is just stupid, Stone Cold is annoying and then theres Angle who trys too hard. He'll never be as bad as The Million Dollar Man it just aint possible.

So i went back to WCW and to my delight Hogan had turned back to Hulk Hogan and i became a full fledged WCW fan.

So thats my two cents.

If you want real wrestling and not poncy days of our lives bullshit with weak ass wrestlers, then come on over to WCW!!!!

Cheers

Jod,

It's not very "wise" to compare wrestling promotions so as to state which one is better. Everyone has a personal preference, which is hard to argue with, and some like several wrestling companies, like myself.

[This message has been edited by Same Old's (edited 19 December 2000).]

I beleive Kurt Angle is a disgrace to be a WWF champion. Its a insult to great past WWF Champions. (Shawn Michaels, Bret Hart, Hulk Hogan) They could actually win matches without it being interferred. I understand he's a heel (bad guy) so thats expected to happen but enough is enough. Time for a changing of the guard. I say give Kane a chance. He's very underrated at the moment and deserves a title reign.

Don't say that about Kurt.

He's a true professional. He's a great athlete, great on the microphone, confident, funny, and works well as a heel. He'll be champion many more times before his carrer is over.

Oh it's true.

For once, Dan and i are in total agreement!
eek.gif

Angles a legend waiting to happen. Also he 'sells' well which is something that fewer of the bigger names are now willing to do (HHH is another who is an outstanding seller for his opponents).

I like WCW but the stuffing up of feuds and chop changing storylines and roster are really just getting me down of the company. Bringing back Sid as the no.1 conteder against Big Poppa? Cmon please, thats so tired. When they finally gave Booker the shot he deserved they should have let him hold the title for at least half a year, but no, they couldnt do it. Nash is a poser who wont put anyone over, Jarretts a talent but needs a smaller bloke to work with (his cage match with Benoit earlier this year was THE match of the year) and Russo is a McMahon wanna be. He should stick to stricly off camera.

WWF, at the moment its strongest stuff is the tag team division. How good is Jeff Hardy!! The Dudleys (bubba is the best phsyco since Savage in his early WWF days) and Edge and Christian are gonna cripple each other soon.

Both feds are worth watching, but im just pissed off with WCW for constant stuff ups, plus i really would love to see Steiner come in and terrorise the Rock,Austin,HHH etc.

Anyone seen Jap wrestling? Now thats something else again!

Cheers.

Rikishi is the culprit who ran over "Stone Cold" Steve Austin