Rivalry Round

What do people think about the games that have been selected for the Round 5 Rivalry Round?

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section
Old Essendon vs St Bernards

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section
Old Westbourne vs Werribee

D3 Section
Elsternwick vs Monash Gryphons (night match at Sportscover)

D4 Section
Richmond Central vs South Mornington

What do people think about the games that have been selected for the Round 5 Rivalry Round?

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section

D3 Section

D4 Section

mc, the whole round is seen as rivalry round, not just these games. eg - Ivanhoe v Banyule, North Brunswick v West Brunswick. Obviously all teams can't have rivals in their division so the ones mentioned above would be the main ones in each grade.

I wonder why would the VAFA copy the AFL and have a Rivalry Round? If that's the case the VAFA should have a Heritage Round (where VAFA clubs wear uniforms from days gone by), ANZAC Day Weekend, (where ALL VAFA clubs-no matter what section they're in-remember those who have served and died in war for Australia and remembering the ANZACs), and a Welcome 2008 round in Round 1.

1. the cost of obtaining original design jumpers would be too excessive for clubs to shell out for one round. Mind you, not that many clubs have changed their strip anyhow.

2. not a bad idea, given Anzac Day on the Friday.

3. seems a moot suggestion - the opening round is the opening round.

At my suggestion, would it be a good idea for the VAFA to move the A Section match between Old Xaverians & Collegians to Sportscover Arena, have the seniors play their game on the Friday night (reserves have their game the following day). The following pre-match ceremony will occur on the Friday night of that game:

-A special tribute to the VAFA players who lost their lives in war
-The head of the local RSL recites the words to 'Ode of Rememberance' & 'Lest We Forget'
- A bugler from the Melbourne High School Band plays the 'Last Post' & 'Reville'
- The Melbourne High School Band and the Wesley College Band plays the National Anthem
- The player judged best on ground would receive the 'Bluey Truscott Award', in memory of the Melbourne premiership player who served in World War II, but died at the age of 26.

How much money do you think clubs have. 90% of clubs under C Grade would JUST break even. Thank goodness you are not in charge of funds of your club!!!!

At my suggestion, would it be a good idea for the VAFA to move the A Section match between Old Xaverians & Collegians to Sportscover Arena, have the seniors play their game on the Friday night (reserves have their game the following day). The following pre-match ceremony will occur on the Friday night of that game:

-The head of the local RSL recites the words to 'Ode of Rememberance' & 'Lest We Forget'
- A bugler from the Melbourne High School Band plays the 'Last Post' & 'Reville'
- The Melbourne High School Band and the Wesley College Band plays the National Anthem
- The player judged best on ground would receive the 'Bluey Truscott Award', in memory of the Melbourne premiership player who served in World War II, but died at the age of 26.

Don't the Xavs have a band?

Why the Melbourne high school band?

The wesley one I get but Melbourne High?

Jase, for someone so keen to improve the VAFA it was a little disappointing not to hear your views expressed at the VAFA AGM last Monday. If you were actually there you would of heard that the "rivalry" round is just one initiative the VAFA are using to celabrate 150 years of Australian Football and as a football comp older than the VFL/AFL they should be applauded. Many clubs will be able to plan large functions for past and present players and members which should be considered prime fund raising events for all clubs. The Werribee vs Old Westbourne game in D2 will be a cracker and I'm looking forward to wearing the Red V against the Fitzroy jumper in our D1 clash.

Also, while I reckon you could be on to something with the Anzac round remember, this is a rivalry round thread and all Jason Cave's suggestions to improve VAFA football should be directed to the appropriate thread.

Interesting to note that the rivalry round is on May 10-the very same day that the AFL is having its All Stars game. I guess there will be a lot more people than normal to attend the VAFA Rivalry Round, not only to get their footy fix, but also to possibly boycott the All Stars game ahead of VAFA football. If you had a look at the AFL board (like I have), there is almost total opposition to the AFL's decision to stage an All Stars match instead of State of Origin as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary, with most claiming the match will be meaningless, a 'joke' and a complete waste of time.
My view is it's better to wait until after the All Stars game before making a judgement about whether the match and the concept was a success or not.

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section

D3 Section

D4 Section

Yes and according to the VAFA website we're playing them at punt road oval.... first I've heard of that...

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley
Apologies to these clubs, but Fitzroy vs South Melbourne at the Brunswick Street Oval will be a far better fixture.... the names, the jumpers, the ground, for heritage factor this will have it all. I'm sure the rivalry will develop pretty quickly on the back of it too.

I think the VAFA have done a pretty good job of this round. It would be pretty hard to organise all grades and all teams.
i can tell you one thing, in C Grade the Whitefriars and Mazenod game will be a ripper. Both clubs have played each other since school days, and there is an intensity between them. They also play for a trophy, which is currently held by Mazeond.
To put it into perspective, the senior school teams also play for a trophy, and have done so for quite a while now.

This game will be as good as any for the rivalry round. Maybe both clubs should wear their traditional old style school jumper. That would mean Whitefriars wearing their original Brown and White stipred jumper.

D4 Rivalry Round Looks Pretty Good.

BHN vs Eley Park is a great match up, always close a competitive (a 1 point after the siren thriller last year). Not to mention they've had to share the same training oval for 3 years.

Interesting to note that the rivalry round is on May 10-the very same day that the AFL is having its All Stars game. I guess there will be a lot more people than normal to attend the VAFA Rivalry Round, not only to get their footy fix, but also to possibly boycott the All Stars game ahead of VAFA football. If you had a look at the AFL board (like I have), there is almost total opposition to the AFL's decision to stage an All Stars match instead of State of Origin as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary, with most claiming the match will be meaningless, a 'joke' and a complete waste of time.
My view is it's better to wait until after the All Stars game before making a judgement about whether the match and the concept was a success or not.

Jase - no need to drag AFL chit chat onto this board mate.
Fact is, they;ll get 90,000 to the G, most of the whingers are interstate persons.

I doubt the EE Gunn will have every vantage point filled as a result of this fixturing quirk. :thumbsu:

Apologies to these clubs, but Fitzroy vs South Melbourne at the Brunswick Street Oval will be a far better fixture.... the names, the jumpers, the ground, for heritage factor this will have it all. I'm sure the rivalry will develop pretty quickly on the back of it too.

Mappy i think u may be underestimating the rivarly between Aquinas and Yarra.. Even tho i have only been at Aquinas for about 4 yrs one thing i do know and that is that there are no love lost between these two rivals.. Also goin to school at Aquinas there seemed to be a bit of hatred between the two schools... It's gr8 that as we are about to celebrate 150 yrs of this gr8 game Aquinas move back to D1 to reignite this rivarly and play again for the "Mitre 10" cup...
....and all the best to you for the year Bloods (except against the Reds of course). I suppose I was wearing my "Heritage" hat rather than my "Rivalry" hat when i posted that.

Great ideas Jason. I am a little concerned however, that the schoolboy bugler would be a little overawed by such a momentous event. Furthermore, given the scant regard that Wesley College and Melbourne High kids have for one another (if my tram is any indication) I am concerned that these two great musical instituitions would not gel together well enough and we could well be left with an anthem that rivals the 1993 Grand Final debacle.

I suggest you forward these ideas to Mick Sholly however.

Great ideas Jason. I am a little concerned however, that the schoolboy bugler would be a little overawed by such a momentous event. Furthermore, given the scant regard that Wesley College and Melbourne High kids have for one another (if my tram is any indication) I am concerned that these two great musical instituitions would not gel together well enough and we could well be left with an anthem that rivals the 1993 Grand Final debacle.

I suggest you forward these ideas to Mick Sholly however.

JGH,

I suggest you work on your bike and run legs.
Your swim, however, was outstanding - clearly those broad shoulders carved up the Elwood beach swell like SMG and his buddies at Mo Mo's in the halcyon days of the mid-2000's.

Back to the topic though......come on Bourkey, what about SKOB -v- Caulfield Grammarians.

Surely that should have been a monty for rivalry round.
Imagine D. Ryan -v- JG Hornet off a half back flank at the magnificent Righetti Oval?

I'd fake a stomach bug and pi$$ off coaching for the day to watch that one.

FSC

Fraser Scribe

Unfortunately, the bike was derailed by a seat malfunction of Martin Vinnocombe like proportions, which saw me riding the 20ks out of the saddle, BMX Bandits style. However, it was most gratifying to come up trumps in the battle of AF scribes, though I hear T Brain and P Williamson had below par runs.

Best

JGH

It's a bit of a shame that Beaumaris is not in the same section that Hampton Rovers are in. Hampton Rovers v Beaumaris-that would certainly come under the criteria for rivalry round, especially after what happened in the 1998 C Section Grand Final.