Rix

Yep. Hopefully King and Gardiner stay fit so we won't have to see him again though.

I'm usually allergic to MSG but I'm with him on this one. We will see Rix when the injuries start sneaking in.

Thanks. Someone told me he was dumped, but i didn't think so. I think he might have meant Brookes.

Rix will be better this season for last years workout. He's a big unit and, like most ruckmen, a late bloomer. :thumbsu:

I dunno about that. You can't doubt his athletisism, but his actual football skills don't seem to have improved (became acceptable) at all. He isn't all that big either...he's strong, but at only 197cm he is short for a ruckman.

I'd love nothing more than for Rix "bloom" next year, but unless a miracule occurs, he shouldn't be in our team unless 3 of King, Gardiner, Kosi and Blake are injured. I'd even rather give McEvoy a few runs than persist with Rix.

Excellent VFL player though, the Scorps will be very happy to have him, especially with Brooks and Clarke gone.

Rix will be a backstop for St.kilda's ruck stocks. Unfortunley, i can not see both Gardnier and King fit at the same time for the majority of the year. I would love to be proved wrong, but im judging this by their last 2-3 years at AFL level.

All reports are that Gardiner is fit as a fiddle now. Mission's worked wonders with the guy.

As for Blake, mate, this forum generally is made up of the Blake "110%" fan-club!! But I'd like Rix ahead of Blake for the ruck. I suspect if Blake is going to do anything this year, it's tag taller mid-fielders.

While I think of it, what do we think are the hopes for Fiora this year?

I dunno about that. You can't doubt his athletisism, but his actual football skills don't seem to have improved (became acceptable) at all. He isn't all that big either...he's strong, but at only 197cm he is short for a ruckman.

I'd love nothing more than for Rix "bloom" next year, but unless a miracule occurs, he shouldn't be in our team unless 3 of King, Gardiner, Kosi and Blake are injured. I'd even rather give McEvoy a few runs than persist with Rix.

Excellent VFL player though, the Scorps will be very happy to have him, especially with Brooks and Clarke gone.

If Rix at 197cm is short for a ruckman, then what is Blake, who you rate ahead of Rix at 189cm??

Blake shouldn't be a ruckman. But he is a better option to play against the opposition's backup ruckman than Rix. The hitouts ratio would barely change between the two of them, but Blake is a useful link player/tagger around the ground. Rix does NOTHING.

And at 191cm he did beat the 211cm Sandilands in 2006.

I'm not saying that he should be selected as a ruckman, but I'd rather have him in the side so he can have some stints in the ruck as well as playing his usual tagging role than have Rix in the side so he can get his usual 2 possessions and 8 hitouts.

All reports are that Gardiner is fit as a fiddle now. Mission's worked wonders with the guy.

As for Blake, mate, this forum generally is made up of the Blake "110%" fan-club!! But I'd like Rix ahead of Blake for the ruck. I suspect if Blake is going to do anything this year, it's tag taller mid-fielders.

While I think of it, what do we think are the hopes for Fiora this year?

I think Fiora had an excellent 2007. I hope he can continue this form and be used on a wing to push forward and kick a few goals. Has got some speed and can take a good overhead mark. I can't see any reason why he can't continue to perform.

Blakey won't ruck.

We have Kosi/Gardi/King as the main ruckman, and McEvoy in development. What you need is someone bulletproof in the reserves to fill a void in case of need. Rix fills that need.

Fiora was much improved, but missed the clutch goals. Needs to improve in this area (but heard from a few Tiger fans that this has always been a problem).

I think Fiora had an excellent 2007. I hope he can continue this form and be used on a wing to push forward and kick a few goals. Has got some speed and can take a good overhead mark. I can't see any reason why he can't continue to perform.
I almost lost it when he took that skyer and landed on his neck last year... scary.

I hope he does well. I don't think GT knew what to do with him, but Ross has found a niche for the guy.

Bloody harsh assessment I reckon MSG.
Rix is worth persisting with, and he's definately a big unit.

You say at 197cms he's short for a ruckman but then you through Blake (189cm) in as being ahead of him in the pecking order.

You'd rather give McEvoy a few runs? Based on what? He's a low draft pick? Plenty of top-ten draft picks get very limited gametime in their first year, especially big men.

If Rix is missing out because King and Gardnier are both fit you'll hear no complaints from me but if (when) one of those two go down I reckon Rix is our man.

He says 197cm when he's actually 200cm.

According to what? The 2007 footy prospectus (the most reliable source of stats) has him at 197cm. I think the Coburg records had him at about 201cm, which created some confusion when he was drafted.

Just look at him standing next to another ruckman. You don't need specific stats to see that he generally has a height disadvantage against opposition ruckmen.

According to what? The 2007 footy prospectus (the most reliable source of stats) has him at 197cm. I think the Coburg records had him at about 201cm, which created some confusion when he was drafted.

Just look at him standing next to another ruckman. You don't need specific stats to see that he generally has a height disadvantage against opposition ruckmen.

So you're saying that if it suits your arguement he's 197cm?

The club's measurement of Rix is 198cm, but it's irrelevant.

He did not improve in 2007 and is clearly a limited player. At the age of 26/27 then not too much is going to change.

I've seen worse ruckmen play in premierships. But hopefully for the sake of St Kilda's fortunes, Rix won't be featuring too frequently on the team sheet in 2008.

Like MSG, I'd rather give McEvoy a match or two to cover for injuries, because at least then we are investing in the future.