AFL Toast RND 11: Dreamtime Win Against the Tiggers

Don's 6 debutants vs Tigs 7.
Hopefully Reid injury is that bad.
Seems Tigs players were better positioned a few times over the dons, is that better coaching?
Great going Clarke, 3 goals! Looking forward to seeing him play.

The dead cat barely bounced after the crash last week. Every year we can play half a year as we spit in the face of reality. But you can only bluff so long. This team lacks something fundamental and I dont know what it is.

Tonight was a real easy game. Any side outside west coast and north beat the side Richmond wheeled out by 90+
You put lynch nank and balta in and we lose by 5-6 goals
Richmond are ok for a young team and have fight a lot of the time, they don't give a lot of space and have come of a much better recent culture. We were also missing good talent. We can certainly upgrade a few players for sure.

A Richmond supporting mate commented it was like watching the local under 18s - not far from it. Hard to take much from it but great to see Clarke debut and a wins a win etc

Stop focusing on the score line, we're building. Give it time and patience. If it wasnt for our injuries to our gun players (cox, langford, nguyen etc) we'd be pushing for top 4.
Haven’t put anyone on this board on ignore, ever. Well done for popping my cherry.

First half was probably about the worst half of footy I can remember seeing, collectively from both teams but with us as the worse offenders. Absolutely deplorable stuff. We got better in the 2nd half but the Tigers running out of legs really flattered us a bit too. Martin, Merrett, Roberts, McKay and Durham at least put in full efforts and can't take away from Clarke's debut. Reid is scaring me with this injury.

Very mixed feelings. Yes a win is a win and not to be sneezed at, but given what we saw for the first half and our crying need for better more skilled players, I worry that these hollow victories take us further from the real pointy end of the draft.
The greatest pleasure I was getting early on was the pure clas that Reid was showing, his poise and efficiency was most un Essendon like
So what a punch in the guts to see him succumb yet again to injury.
After that loved the willingness of Roberts to try to create. Every time he has it he looks to take the option to put a team mate into space rather than just hack it in their general direction. OK he makes the odd blue, but I live the instincts.
Obviously great to see young Clarke make such a big impression first up. With Gresham and Guelfi being so ineffectual, there's obviously room for him where he played tonight but wonder where his most effective position is. His see.s to have decent disposal to work back ad well as forward.
Martin and Durham worked very hard I thought Duursma wad solid too. Caldwell still finding touch.
Perkins OK last quartet when heat had gone, otherwise thought his game was poor. There were times when he wad badly served by delivery, but he really needs to put in stronger efforts. McKay has great last quarter, but again he looked best when the heat went out of the game. Thought Laverde was solid within his limitations.
Up forward Kako wad very busy, thought was one of his better games. Caddy still had a lot of nearly moments but let's remember he is a KPF in just season 2. He doesn't stack up badly compared to contemporary Walter and 1 yr older Cadman both drafted in top 3.
But our .problem still lies in trying to string together enough error free chains of possessions that we can create the relatively easy scoring opportunities that the best teams do. For us it's mostly a huge amount of hard yakka for every goal.

Anyway, the game was ass. We are very obviously not very good. But given where we’re at and our injuries I’m not gonna lose the plot over it. This is just our lot this year.

Silver lining, those injuries are going to stop us from scragging our way to a mid table finish and gives plenty of opportunity for kids to get games and for the side to be shuffled around.

It's obviously bad for the individuals and consistency of the group to build connection though.

I think the core youth of the next build is showing enough signs (Martin, caddy, Kako, Duz, Reid, Roberts now Clarke).
The result is not really important, I think what this year is all about is watching for signs that this next wave can bring success.
Will be the same next week against looks facing what will probably be a big loss, who from this group can show what they will bring? Do we get another debut?

Angus Young Paso Del Pato GIF

AFL Toast RND 11: Dreamtime Win Against the Tiggers