AFL Toast RND 11: Dreamtime Win Against the Tiggers

We play such a boring style of football. No system to our forward ball movement. At least Clarke was exciting.
Would look a bit better if we did not turn it over so much. It is more the execution than game plan that hurts.

I agree our execution is terrible, but we take the least risk in the competition.

Maybe that’s because they know we don’t have the skills, but I’d prefer to live and die by the sword.

I agree our execution is terrible, but we take the least risk in the competition.

Maybe that’s because they know we don’t have the skills, but I’d prefer to live and die by the sword.
Going on what I watch them do at training they want to build into a faster transition game but it also has to have a tempo side and a better defensive side. It is okay for the Pies to go full attack as they had a system built of defence.
Hawks similar although they are now getting the better sides clamping down on their kicking game.
Dogs play fast football but they end up struggling in most big games.
Brisbane and Geelong tend to play a mix of fast and medium tempo.
At the end of the day I am opposite. I prefer we build the tempo side and not just go flat out in a live or die style. Yes it is boring but longer term if you can integrate both then we will be a better side.
The simple fact is we have another 2 or 3 years of feeding in players like Robert’s and Clarke before we will see a more balanced style.
The sides that can do it have the cattle to do it.

at one stage we took an intercept mark on the back flank, jest behind centre wing.

Looked and kicked backward.

took said kick as mark and instantly looked to and did kick backwards

thats out game plan
Seeing it live made it 10x worse to watch. Absolute borefest.
Other than Clarke, I can't remember a single exciting passage.
Going on what I watch them do at training they want to build into a faster transition game but it also has to have a tempo side and a better defensive side. It is okay for the Pies to go full attack as they had a system built of defence.
Hawks similar although they are now getting the better sides clamping down on their kicking game.
At the end of the day I am opposite. I prefer we build the tempo side and not just go flat out in a live or die style. Yes it is boring but longer term if you can integrate both then we will be a better side.
The simple fact is we have another 2 or 3 years of feeding in players like Robert’s and Clarke before we will see a more balanced style.
There's tempo football and there's 2m hanballs in defence to invite more pressure that leads to a dump kick turnover. That's how terrible our brand is at the moment.

Yeah nah, we're not that much better than Richmond.
Richmond played a bunch of kids and VFL players without Nank, Balta and Lynch off a 5-day break.

That was their weakest side in the last two years. Even ordinary sides like St Kilda would have smacked them by 80+ points. If a bunch of VFL players can run with us for 3 quarters off a 5-day break, then we're cooked.

And it's BS how yesterday's game is framed as a response to last week's smashing by the media. Anyway that's my rant done, but it's really frustrating how the club gets applauded for doing less than the bare minimum.

6-4 with a percentage of 85% having played all bottom sides. Even North managed a 59-point win.

Seeing it live made it 10x worse to watch. Absolute borefest.
Other than Clarke, I can't remember a single exciting passage.

There's tempo football and there's 2m hanballs in defence to invite more pressure that leads to a dump kick turnover. That's how terrible our brand is at the moment.
And how terrible was the Hawthorn brand or the Brisbane brand early on ?
Average sides play an average brand.
It takes 3 or more seasons to build a brand and we have decided to reset the side after two seasons of Scott.
Of course it is going to look like a dogs breakfast.
It was also on record that building the football program was priority number 1.
Any flash game plan hopes are unrealistic expectations. We are in the process of changing maybe 10 spots in the side.
The only real concern for me has been the two totally uncompetitive games.
When you build a good side the level of the game plan improves. Until then well it is what it is. Average sides play an average style.

Having seen them training I know what they want to eventually build on what I have seen.

The fact we generally suck at team defence and have lacked endurance runners has been a major handbrake. Hard to build an attack game if we can not defend it or have the runners to manipulate it.

Richmond played a bunch of kids and VFL players without Nank, Balta and Lynch off a 5-day break.

That was their weakest side in the last two years. Even ordinary sides like St Kilda would have smacked them by 80+ points. If a bunch of VFL players can run with us for 3 quarters off a 5-day break, then we're cooked.

And it's BS how yesterday's game is framed as a response to last week's smashing by the media. Anyway that's my rant done, but it's really frustrating how the club gets applauded for doing less than the bare minimum.

6-4 with a percentage of 85% having played all bottom sides. Even North managed a 59-point win.
We have a lot of injuries too.

When you factor in Langford and Reid, we’re arguably missing 30% of our best 23. Taking that many players from an average side makes you a poor side.

It was always going to be a struggle. I think we did well to get over the line. I think we should enjoy the victory, there won’t be many more this year.

One thing I will say is that we tend to come out on top when it comes to the close games. I think they got that down but oh my god I don’t understand why our skills are so bad and the fact that we turn the ball over so easily.

I rated Kako highly as a junior and he has played consistently reasonable footy. At junior level he was able to get separation from his opponents it doesn't seem to be happening at AFL level.
Am I reading this correctly?
How do his first games compare to the Wizard?

Clarke looks a good one. Looking at our draw I don’t see too many wins for rest of the season especially as injury list grows. Some really good signs with some of the younger guys. Roberts looks like a late first early second round pick. Martin and Durham look like mid/late first rounders.

Makes up for what looks like a few first round misses.

His competive instincts take over most times. I think he's told to drop a couple each season which wouldn't impress him.
I reckon pulling a hammy a few metres from the finish line would work.

First time we’ve beaten Richmond three games in a row since 2001-2.
Happy Very Funny GIF by Disney Zootopia

AFL Toast RND 11: Dreamtime Win Against the Tiggers