Rnd 6 v Hawks - danger game

Funkalicous said:
Pleeeeaaase people!! Hawthorn aren't even in the same league as us. They beat Brisbane and all of a sudden everyone fears them. Comon!! We're talking about the spoon favourites here!

A bit too cocky for my liking. As well as beating Brissy the Hawks have played some pretty tough, committed footy this year. I know they're not world beaters but they have shown so far that if you take them lightly you will suffer. I'm tipping Ess and Nth went in pretty confident against them and both games were very close in the end.

Last year we only beat them by 12 points in a very tight game and they WERE wooden spooners then. I think they are quite a different team this year and again we could be in for a nail biter.

I reckon the last two road trips will have an impact on this game and the Hawks will just get up :(

But I'll probably still tip us :eek:

Funkalicous said:
Pleeeeaaase people!! Hawthorn aren't even in the same league as us. They beat Brisbane and all of a sudden everyone fears them. Comon!! We're talking about the spoon favourites here!
Hope your coaching staff concur, but I doubt it. We're a young, developing side. When we're hot, we're hot. When we're not, we're not. Putting four quarters together is our biggest problem at the moment and we've only done that in one game this year. You can dismiss us if you want. We may lack the talent to beat many sides (especially up forward), but we're a tough, disciplined side under Clarkson and will have a dip.

If Fevola doesn't play, I think we could win. I'd back our defence to handle your Fevola-less forward line and i'd back your mob to handle our forwards. It will be decided in the midfield and off half-back. We get alot of rebound out of Trent Croad and Luke Hodge (when he's not on the ball) and you get plenty from Mathew Lappin. We might consider putting Tim Clarke on Lappin, though I suspect he may get the job on Stevens. Pagan is very good at dropping players behind the ball which is important against Hawthorn as it leaves Williams with little room to move.

The midfield battle will be crucial. Everitt will dominate French. Clarke, Vandenberg and Osborne may rotate tagging roles on Stevens, Kouta and Camporeale. We may also play Bateman on one of them (as we did on Wells) and try to get alot of drive the other way. Mitchell and Crawford will be left to their own devices and you will have to deal with them. Hodge will be thrown onto the ball in spurts and this has coincided with nearly all of our purple patches this season. You blokes will also rotate the likes of Scotland and Johnson through the middle.

Difficult to pick a winner in this one. You're going to lose your full forward which is good for us as Hay will not be playing. It should come down to which side gets on top of the midfield. French, Stevens, Camporeale, Kouta, Scotland and Johnson vs Everitt, Crawford, Mitchell, Bateman, Vandenberg, Hodge. Should be a cracker.

superstar said:
Hope your coaching staff concur, but I doubt it. We're a young, developing side. When we're hot, we're hot. When we're not, we're not. Putting four quarters together is our biggest problem at the moment and we've only done that in one game this year. You can dismiss us if you want. We may lack the talent to beat many sides (especially up forward), but we're a tough, disciplined side under Clarkson and will have a dip.

If Fevola doesn't play, I think we could win. I'd back our defence to handle your Fevola-less forward line and i'd back your mob to handle our forwards. It will be decided in the midfield and off half-back. We get alot of rebound out of Trent Croad and Luke Hodge (when he's not on the ball) and you get plenty from Mathew Lappin. We might consider putting Tim Clarke on Lappin, though I suspect he may get the job on Stevens. Pagan is very good at dropping players behind the ball which is important against Hawthorn as it leaves Williams with little room to move.

The midfield battle will be crucial. Everitt will dominate French. Clarke, Vandenberg and Osborne may rotate tagging roles on Stevens, Kouta and Camporeale. We may also play Bateman on one of them (as we did on Wells) and try to get alot of drive the other way. Mitchell and Crawford will be left to their own devices and you will have to deal with them. Hodge will be thrown onto the ball in spurts and this has coincided with nearly all of our purple patches this season. You blokes will also rotate the likes of Scotland and Johnson through the middle.

Difficult to pick a winner in this one. You're going to lose your full forward which is good for us as Hay will not be playing. It should come down to which side gets on top of the midfield. French, Stevens, Camporeale, Kouta, Scotland and Johnson vs Everitt, Crawford, Mitchell, Bateman, Vandenberg, Hodge. Should be a cracker.

Great post superstar - agree with most of what you say and I'm also looking forward to an absolute ball buster of a game. I just hope we have the legs to see the entire game out. Two road trips in a row and a game in 27deg heat with high humidity last week will help your cause too.

Funkalicous said:

What? you reckon we are any good. We couldn't even beat Fu.cking Colingwood. Don't kid yourself the Hawks will run us off our feet.

yeah apparently. he might get another weeks rest especially if Fevola gets suspended. I reckon if Fevola play you guys will win, without him it may even it up a little more. Kouta to play full forward maybe? Should be a good game. We have to shut down Nick Stevens and Campo , and you guys need to watch Crawf and Mitchell. Hodge and Lapin will do the attacking from half back so we match up pretty evenly. honestly don't know who will win. Only leading me towards hawthorn if Fev doesn't play is the amount of travelling you guys have done compared to us.

good luck hope it is a good game with hopefully better umpiring than we had last week at the kangas v hawk match it was bad for both sides and they called a goal a point for willo [not good] fingers crossed they are better

HAWKS HEROES said:
good luck hope it is a good game with hopefully better umpiring than we had last week at the kangas v hawk match it was bad for both sides and they called a goal a point for willo [not good] fingers crossed they are better

they won't be!

sportsmaaad said:
watch out for big red at full forward
thornton will get franklin or roughhead
norman or carrazzo will get williams (hes not much of a threat anyway)

Ok mate tell yourself that, Williams is not a threat at all, 13 goals in 3 weeks is nothing hey?

surpstar said:
Blues need to be on the ball this coming Friday against the Hawks.

They've been pretty good in their last 2 games, and if Carlton are napping, they'll lose.
I'd say that this game will have a big impact on the 05 season.
1 win + 1 draw after 6 rounds will be a tough spot to come back from if we are thinking of September

I've already given up thinking of September a while ago actually.
I think Hawthorn is an real good chance whilst Fev is out :(

stokesy said:
Fevola not playing will help us.

We are worse with him in the side at the moment.

At least we wont be hearing Fevolas manager using the media to complain about his contract offer for a few weeks. Thats the only positive, Dont know who could replace him... Can't see us kick a big score even without an out-of-form Fev. just one less piece for them to worry about. Betts has to come in, + Scotland & Simpson for Davies, Bowyer, Fev

Anyone know if Digby has put his hand up for a return?

While i will concede that i think Carlton will win i do however think there is a real possibility that our youthfull list and run could cause some real concerns. I see Carlton winning by a few goals, it always seems to happen to Hawthorn, we play well for a few qtrs then let teams get run ons before coming back and falling short and i bet that to happen again. I wouldnt be to suprised to actually see us take the points.

To the Carlton boys, what are your main worries about a young side that Hawthorn has?? Firstly if i was a Carlton supporter i would be very worried of Mark Williams, he is very consistant and always provides a leading target, the kid is super super quick as well. Another thing i would be worried about is the run ons that our mob can generate, often you will see Hawthorn play like a premiership side for 15 minutes and in that time the kids really do have enough talent to blow sides away.

Anyway its more than likely that the Hawk boys will have a brain freeze and decided to go woundering for a qtr while Carlton pile on 8 goals and end up winning by 3.

cheers

juzza316 said:
Jordan Doering :mad:

Jordan Doering ... geez it's funny how quickly you forget the names that come and go from your club.

I remember seeing a couple random things from him that made me think he could turn out to be a pretty athletic Kouta type .... but clearly I was mistaken.

Rnd 6 v Hawks - danger game