Football God

Nov 26, 2007
melbourne
Man utd, miami dolphins
Going on a Road Trip for a couple weeks at the start of 2011 with the mates* up to Brisbane and making a few stops on the way back in NSW, should be epic during the hot Summer over there :thumbsu:

Anyone been on one before? Exciting stories?

I haven't been on one this far so should be good (only shitty family trips..boring as ****.) And should be many stories when I get back here.
Anything I should be bringing on the Road Trip?? Inb4Drugs :p

*no homo

Going on a Road Trip for a couple weeks at the start of 2011 with the mates* up to Brisbane and making a few stops on the way back in NSW, should be epic during the hot Summer over there :thumbsu:

I haven't been on one this far so should be good (only shitty family trips..boring as ****.) And should be many stories when I get back here.
Anything I should be bringing on the Road Trip?? Inb4Drugs :p

*no homo

*Take a deck of cards in case things get boring
*Double check you have ID, it sucks massively if you can't go out while everyone else can
*Keep a flexible schedule so you can do things at a leisurely pace
*Have a decent esky filled with booze on hand
*Stay in a backpackers hostel, most of them are seriously awesome and ridiculously cheap
*Take 3-4 changes of clothes and wash them rather than take heaps of stuff
*Take lots of music, it's a long trip
*Have a couple of hundred spare in another account just in case you need it for an emergency (flights, booze, strippers etc)

*Double check you have ID, it sucks massively if you can't go out while everyone else can
*Stay in a backpackers hostel, most of them are seriously awesome and ridiculously cheap
*Have a couple of hundred spare in another account just in case you need it for an emergency (flights, booze, strippers etc)

Thanks for the tips, Yeah we're going to stay in a couple backpacker hostels, we've worked out how much its gonna cost.. something like $200-300 each for us for the 2 weeks staying at hostels etc.

Where you going in Brisbane? City or suburbs, or just wherever you end up? I could let you know a couple of places to go and shit.

Went from Canberra to Brissy at the start of last year. Was the best road trip I have ever gone on. There were 5 of us and all we took was a 3 man tent, a matress, esky and enough clothes for a week. We stopped just past Newcastle and slept at a caravan place next to the beach then went to Yamba ( had the best time there, if you can stop at the whirlpools...ask the locals about it) the next night we stopped in Byron Bay and had a blast.

Will be doing the same thing at the end of the year. Have a bus hired and doing a trip with 20 people up to the gold coast. Can't wait.

Did a road trip with the misses from byron bay to cairns over last summer. Took about 12 days and was absolutely awesome.
Stayed in one of those juicy campers
6-09-jucy-lucy.jpg

only problem was it was hot as hell at night (brought a small fan to put in the van which helped in the end)

The east coast of Australia is a road trip must do!

Me and a few mates went on a road trip to Adelaide-->Alice Springs-->Brisbane-->Sydney-->Melbourne in January 2008.

Since there were 6 of us we took 2 cars, a mates VS commodore and my dads hilux.

The highlight of the trip was on Glenelg beach when a mate managed to sweet talk a 8/10 back to our hotel room for the night. Since i was most sober in the morning, i decided to drive her back home in davaeron park, and on the way they she wound down the window and threw up outside the car, totally covering a cyclist in strewn out vomit.

In Alice springs the air con of the hilux stopped working and i ended up having to drive it the whole way back because the other guys were pussies.

Was a very fun experience.

Don't forget the #1 rule: Toilet stop frequency is determined by the strongest bladder, not the weakest.

I've actually just got back from a 3-month lap of the nation. Was ****ing brilliant, I could have just kept driving and gone around again. Unfortunately minor details like having to earn money to pay for it all get in the way.

Where you going in Brisbane? City or suburbs, or just wherever you end up? I could let you know a couple of places to go and shit.

Our place in Brisbane is 3 or 4kms from The Gabba if that helps.. lol

Then we're staying at Surfers for a few nights, And making a few stops going back down south

Ok so just out of the city then.

If you go into the city for a drink/night out hit up.

The Vic
The Stock Exchange
Gilhooleys/Irish Murphys (If you like Irish pubs, Irish Murphys is directly across the road from the Casino and is usually pretty busy most nights)

Other than that the city is pretty shit for pubs and clubs. You wanna head to Fortitude Valley, or "The Valley", as it's known. There's plenty of bars and clubs and dirty hoes for some cheap sechs.

My favourites are

X and Y bar (Always start a night there, no entry fee or dress code)
The Met and The Family are the two big clubs, $20 entry fee, can usually spend the whole night there though. The Empire is pretty sweet as well, three stories, with different music on each level, and extreme air conditioning.

Also your not too far away from a resturant called Ribbets in Dutton Park. $30 bucks and you get 90 minutes for all you can eat pork and lamb ribs/pizzas/pastas/garlic bread. Also BYO as well.

Send me a PM if you have any other questions.

Ahk sounds good, let the others know about the options :thumbsu:
and of course gotta hit up the beach, be around 30+ most days
cheers

The one in Northbridge is incredibly boring.:(