- Jan 7, 2010
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- Adelaide Strikers
What is it like to have your Captain carrying the premiership cup wearing a Collingwood jumper?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
we really don't get to many free's in our goal range- unlike our opposition.Had to watch the game on replay. We looked like a tired team and Faull being injured early on didn't help. Anyway not too worried about the result. For a team that was predicted to not win a game this season we have 5 on the board.
The thing that stuck out for me during the game was that some obvious frees we should have got weren't called but similar frees did go the other way. Watching the game it seemed the free kick count was lopsided towards the home team. But FMD, I I just saw the team stats and we won the free kick count 20 to 18. Those numbers don't seem real, CFL must be pulling a shifty on us.
Did you see the VFl? We don't have anyone left. This is turning into a worse year than last, which I didn't think would ever happen again. We had Blight, who won't be around Gibcus, who is too scared to jump and run (don't blame him), and Kozi, who isn't fit to wear a WC jersey.Short and McIntosh are not best 23.
Still don't understand how a group of full time professional sportspersons where kicking for goal (and general field kicking for that matter) is a major skill/requirement, can be so poor at it.we really don't get to many free's in our goal range- unlike our opposition.
We also don't do ourselves many favours with our own goal kicking unfortunately.
Because Nank,broad, short, hopper, Taranto, vloss Lynch Prestia are getting better and will get worse. Young guys improvement won’t counter that before 2027 at the earliest. Still bottom 4 next year in my view. Just where we are at. Still positiveOur list will be worse again next year? On what basis? McIntosh maybe retiring?
Just look at the list of players who will have missed 7+ games by season’s end:
Armstrong
Gibcus
Lalor
Hotton
Lefau
Young
Faull
McCauliffe
Balta
Lynch
Gray
Short
Prestia
Clarke
Hugo
Dow
Don’t get me wrong, I realise they are not all quality players, but when you have multiple layers of players out you start digging into the 30-35th best player on your list every week etc…
No one can tell us we’re wrong. Search in our hearts for so long. No one can tell us we’re wrong. Love is a battle field.We are yung
Sadly, I think you are right. Him and Lynch and MacIntosh need to retire. Next year it won't be on their terms.Always been a fan but I’m finding it hard to make a case for Prestia to go again next year.
He is regularly getting out bodied inside and turns the ball over by hand far too much. His defensive efforts are half hearted at best and he simply doesn’t sprint. He moves around at three qtr pace. he also adds to the problem we have the unbalanced midfield mix.
Sam Grlj please. Played really well in our reserves.Yep, Sharp or Greeves
the one player in the comp that can't wait for new year eve.
needs to wipe 25' from the memory and get on with his career.
he's on a long contract, we need him to get it together.
Interesting that they tried a few different combinations in the CBA on Saturday. I'm not a fan of Ross in there as I think he provides more for us when he is used to kick the ball inside 50. He is one of the few who can kick it to the advantage of the forwards. When they moved Ross out of the centre and used Rioli to try and stop Rowell Rioli just got completely lost.Lalor. McCauliffe. Smillie. Taranto. Why worry about our midfield when the 4 x players I expect to be our best mids before too long aren’t even playing ?
Sorry, I meant with a full list.Did you see the VFl? We don't have anyone left.
Good balanced assessment. I think that the assessment of Balta is a bit harsh though. None of our players who can deliver the ball into the forward line played well. Makes it hard for any KPF to standup against a really organised defence.OK, I'm going against the grain.
We played a very good side, well drilled, physically mature and aiming to get % and a top 4 spot. Our kids just couldn't physically impact.
We played fairly well, mostly made it hard for them to move the ball, and in general played OK.
EXCEPT --> Goal kicking was appalling.
Losing our main forward (That Jonty is our #1 KPF is both awesome and worrying) destroyed our structure. Balta is many things, but tonight he wasn't good defensively and he isn't a KPF. That we played Young as both a KPF and ruck is great in that we have confidence in him, and a worry as he isn't either thing. That meant our defensive structures also got knocked around.
I liked the structure we showed and that we stuck to it all night long. If we'd kicked straight and stuck a few marks it would have been a 40 - 60 point loss. Still bad but OK for where the teams are at.
Couple of points
- Some of the Suns are a step above where our guys are at. Rowell is a beast, Anderson fantastic. I reckon I'd rather back the Suns for the title than the Pies. Dimma knows what he is doing.
- Hopper is good at getting the ball and creating a solid presence. Without support and with the Suns targeting him our midfield struggled to control contests. If TT had played we might have been able to have greater control and so less damage. But we really need to develop our midfield over the next couple of years. We played MRJ, Campbell + in there tonight, and it was OK. But that extra class is not there right now.
- Sonsie's handballs are often so quick that our players are surprised when it hits them in the chest. I remember that being the case with Shedda until the team got more mature. So I am taking that as a positive (with a huge dose of salt just in case we don't learn how to use what Sonsie brings). Also he often was in a full on wrestle with whoever he was on. Seemed to play a physical/stopping role around contests a lot - didn't used to happen. So in some ways a lot of positives for a new emerging Sonsie.
- Nank is losing his mobility
. Without him we have trouble.
- Armstrong is good. He and Faull will be a dangerous couple in a few years.
- Hotton super smart, but needs to learn to kick for goal. But we have winner here.
- Our defence can move the ball very well. We need the next few steps to happen to actually use what we have though. 1) Guys through the middle who can mark and move the ball, 2) Lead up forwards and mids who get into dangerous spots, and 3) Marking forwards who can compete with the best KPDs. So that's a lot of development. But we have a lot of the pieces on the list already. Now to mature them.
- Balta, a really good player. But I'm not sure he fits going forward. Miller and Young KPDs, Brown and Banks + Vlas and Short. Gibcus to come in. So our backline will be OK without him (excepting injuries). And he ain't a forward. Hmm. interesting times.
- KMac is smart and does so many right things. But he has slowed down and is now depth. For experience he plays another year. For development he retires.
- Our structures are sound, how we move the ball is good, our discipline is good. Great signs. But alongside that we have to continue hitting targets, making tackles stick, and finishing the job. Hopefully as they mature these things will happen more. However, from the start of this year the team has matured a lot.
Overall, poor goal kicking made a decent showing look terrible.
And yeah, the usual WTF about the umpiring. Soft frees for both sides and many missed for both sides. I have to accept that the AFL umpires are playing chook lotto with decisions. Every 8th time a high contact is paid etc. Just pisses me off.
Not to me. Faull and Armstrong already have more forward craft than Balta, and when he's in defence he gives his opponents far too much room. Put it this way, Kosi offered just as much.I think that the assessment of Balta is a bit harsh though.
Balta, Faull and Armstrong could be a tantalising prospect up forward.Not to me. Faull and Armstrong already have more forward craft than Balta, and when he's in defence he gives his opponents far too much room. Put it this way, Kosi offered just as much.
Second ruck?
How many times have we tried Balta as a forward?Balta, Faull and Armstrong could be a tantalising prospect up forward.
Speed, power, left foot, right foot, lead-up, contested marks, rucking, big tanks, bursts, smart campaigner, dumb campaigner. Together they have it all.
Balta as a forward is about as useful as a Barbwire canoe.Balta, Faull and Armstrong could be a tantalising prospect up forward.
Speed, power, left foot, right foot, lead-up, contested marks, rucking, big tanks, bursts, smart campaigner, dumb campaigner. Together they have it all.
I agree but there may not be a spot for him down back.How many times have we tried Balta as a forward?
And how has he succeeded as a forward?
Balta plays his best footy in defence.
Gonna be funny when we smoke you guys next week.
View attachment 2384419
Only problem with that is right now, he's a liability in defence. He just loses his opponent too easily.How many times have we tried Balta as a forward?
And how has he succeeded as a forward?
Balta plays his best footy in defence.