Autopsy Roast & Toast For Suns & Changes For Saints

Top 5 v Suns

Had to watch the game on replay. We looked like a tired team and Faull being injured early on didn't help. Anyway not too worried about the result. For a team that was predicted to not win a game this season we have 5 on the board.

The thing that stuck out for me during the game was that some obvious frees we should have got weren't called but similar frees did go the other way. Watching the game it seemed the free kick count was lopsided towards the home team. But FMD, I I just saw the team stats and we won the free kick count 20 to 18. Those numbers don't seem real, CFL must be pulling a shifty on us.
Frees were Suns 9 to Tigers 3 in the second quarter when I checked, they evened it up late when the game was over. Happens regularly. Nothing to see here.

Good balanced assessment. I think that the assessment of Balta is a bit harsh though. None of our players who can deliver the ball into the forward line played well. Makes it hard for any KPF to standup against a really organised defence.

Balta is great in many ways. But as a smart forward, he isn't.

He fills a role atm. But he's been tried forward many times, and it has never looked like working.

Still a good player though.

I've been watching him for weeks, they do share some sort of screening role (I think Ross will often do it at a CBA and then Sonsie will rush in from CHF then they'll swap roles, which is why they're always gesturing to one another.) Mind you it's clearly not working, our stoppage stats are appalling, but might explain their poor stats.

I'm more concerned about how aggressively he sits off the contest in transition. I think he's been told to do this by the coaching staff but it's too much. Oppo players will have all the time in the world to shrug off the Mansell/Green tackle because Sonsie is jogging 10m away in front guarding space instead of providing the follow-up tackle. If you track him instead of the ball it does look pretty bad.

Another possibility is he's gassed. He's been given the most demanding roles physically and the knock on him as a youngster was his endurance. No-one criticises his tank now but maybe he's forever playing in energy-saving mode. Seems more likely to me than being soft because he's not soft in marking contests, the VFL, etc.

One easy way to solve all these problems is just to play him on-ball offensively for the rest of the year. That's how he's always played. He was touted as a potential no1 pick in his junior year, he's not used to playing random defensive roles, he's better on both sides by hand or foot than all our midfielders are on their preferreds. We're using a ferrari as a tow-truck.

Ferrari as a tow-truck, I like that.

He's got a lot of skill. Maybe it's longer term development him doing grunt work. But I agree it seems strange to play him like that.

Balta is great in many ways. But as a smart forward, he isn't.

He fills a role atm. But he's been tried forward many times, and it has never looked like working.

Still a good player though.
His best game was r1.

Canadian Lol GIF
Wonder if ol mate here is at today's game. 150 years of pretty much nothing, played their GF after 3/4 time last week, apparently showing a replay of that last qtr before their game at Marvel against North. Currently losing atm. You couldn't script this.

Morgan Freeman Applause GIF by The Academy Awards

Ok that's fair but what did Sonsie do that's bad again? Or is more what he didn't do or didn't do enough?
He has little impact at the contest because he is not quick enough or strong enough. His first steps are slow so he has not impact in a contest. Cotchin was so good because his first few steps were really fast and he was so strong through the core.

You don't expect Sonsie to be at Cotchin's level, but just highlighting that he tends to float around and accumulates in space okay, but the opposite in contested situations, which footy is played mostly in these days.

We lack speed in the centre.......ball use. its a broken record.

with a young team we are going to get gamea like this..

BUT what i cant excuse is playing prestia, ross, Hopper in the same midfield. all flat footed.

Hopper will start again next week after posting 15 1 mtr handballs.

Even our defense which is our biggest strentgh played poorly.
At least Ross can get down and dirty then get up and use the ball effectively. Took a bit of time to get into the game, a bit like last week, but his last half was very good. Ross has pretty quick feet ala Selwood, so he can change direction quick enough, once it is outside he is much like the others, not quick enough but you can live with one of those.

Great to see Campbell get closer to the midfield last night, because he does give us pace and the ability to pick the ball up quickly and use it well. Once he gets used to the traffic, he could be a serious mid/forward. One of the positives out of the game.

Of course Hotton is much the same, better, given how few games he has played. Lalor is the other one who is much the same. Cross our fingers for next season with him, but they are going to take over from Prestia, Hopper and Taranto in the next 2 years. McAuliffe and hopefully Smillie as well.

Had to watch the game on replay. We looked like a tired team and Faull being injured early on didn't help. Anyway not too worried about the result. For a team that was predicted to not win a game this season we have 5 on the board.

The thing that stuck out for me during the game was that some obvious frees we should have got weren't called but similar frees did go the other way. Watching the game it seemed the free kick count was lopsided towards the home team. But FMD, I I just saw the team stats and we won the free kick count 20 to 18. Those numbers don't seem real, CFL must be pulling a shifty on us.
It was 9-3 gold coasts way at quarter time according to the AFL app. I actually thought we played pretty well early but jeez they got some soft frees to get the ball rolling and we got nothing at the other end (jonty’s mark where we got injured etc.). They squared the ledger after quarter time but the damage was done.

Because Nank,broad, short, hopper, Taranto, vloss Lynch Prestia are getting better and will get worse. Young guys improvement won’t counter that before 2027 at the earliest. Still bottom 4 next year in my view. Just where we are at. Still positive
Hard to predict next year. You can't deny that the talent that is coming on is pretty impressive. Lalor, Hotton and Faull look like real players. McAuliffe looks like a player. we haven't even seen Smillie or Gibcus this season. The young players like Banks and Brown are improving. Plenty of other positives.

We need a ruck as Nank has about a season left in him, but Sims has definitely improved as the season has gone on. But we might snag one or even draft the Duff-Tyler. Vlastuin and Broad are going nowhere yet, both are having excellent seasons.

Lynch and Prestia are close to finished and haven't helped much this year. Young players will be hungry for their places. Taranto and Hopper will be handy for another season only, but could be overtaken as early as next season. We need them to be.

We may be bottom, but sometimes young sides spark, and with the talent we have and two top 4 picks next season, it might not take as long as it usually does, this year is a good guide to that.

Hard to predict next year. You can't deny that the talent that is coming on is pretty impressive. Lalor, Hotton and Faull look like real players. McAuliffe looks like a player. we haven't even seen Smillie or Gibcus this season. The young players like Banks and Brown are improving. Plenty of other positives.

We need a ruck as Nank has about a season left in him, but Sims has definitely improved as the season has gone on. But we might snag one or even draft the Duff-Tyler. Vlastuin and Broad are going nowhere yet, both are having excellent seasons.

Lynch and Prestia are close to finished and haven't helped much this year. Young players will be hungry for their places. Taranto and Hopper will be handy for another season only, but could be overtaken as early as next season. We need them to be.

We may be bottom, but sometimes young sides spark, and with the talent we have and two top 4 picks next season, it might not take as long as it usually does, this year is a good guide to that.
Agree with most of that - fair summary but will depend how quickly young guys improve. Even if Gibcus lives up to potential could take him until 2027. Smillie effectively a first year player next year. Broad might hit the wall next year I reckon and injuries to young guys will be a key factor too.

Wonder if ol mate here is at today's game. 150 years of pretty much nothing, played their GF after 3/4 time last week, apparently showing a replay of that last qtr before their game at Marvel against North. Currently losing atm. You couldn't script this.

Morgan Freeman Applause GIF by The Academy Awards
Yep...at the bar celebrating. Tough when the oppo kick more than 1 goal for the day.

Autopsy Roast & Toast For Suns & Changes For Saints