Autopsy Roast & Toast v Saints & Changes For The Death Ride

Top 5 v Saints

Fantasy points are useless. The 'AFL Fantasy' awards 3 points for a kick and 3 points for a mark. 2 points for a handball.

So if a player stands still on the half-back line, look around for half-an-hour, and then chips it sideways 15.001 metres to his mate - he gets 3 pobnts for a kick, and his teammate gets 3 points for a mark.

If you gave a quick handpass to your teammate running past, you only get 2 points, and your teammate gets zero (until he kicks it). I know which piece of play is generally better for my team.

Saints had 60+ more uncontested possessions than us, and 50+ more marks than us. We took more contested marks.
I cbf doing the work to sus it out but it would also be interesting to compare the numbers without including that 1st qtr where the saints really just owned possession with those uncontested chip kicks

I dare say the difference between the sides would be a lot smaller without that qtr when the changes were made

Like directly assisting goals and being involved in us scoring? Ross is first at the club at both of those things.
How dare you bring facts and common sense into the argument.

Yesterday's team wasnt young... Do people realise this?

We were also missing some very highly talented youngsters. Lalor, Smillie, Faull, Trainor, Gibcus. Sims and Alger also look good and were not in the team from the 2024 draftees. And we have 3 top end picks and a handful of useful looking academy players/father-sons about to join the club.

Good result for the long-term future of the club:

• No way KMac gets another year after that performance
  • We've sewn up picks 2 and 3 now (can even beat North and still secure it)
  • With Miller and Young playing well, and Gray and Gibcus to come in, Balta could be our new ruck
  • Hopefully the club wakes up and trades Short before he gets too old to have any value

I really want to see the ball in Tom Brown's hands more. He only had 5 touches all game. Why? Why are we giving games to Short and having him as designated kicker instead of Brown?
Maybe he needs to demand the ball. Competing for hand off possessions should improve his positioning etc.
However I agree, I would rather him kicking than Short’s rain makers.

)
Just got back from the game.
Gee it’s an ordeal to devote an entire day to watching that.
Saints a bit crisper on the outside than us.
if anyone dares to watch the replay, and why would you, go to 7:30 of the 3rd quarter and tell me the umpires don’t hate us.
Today reinforced my feelings that full backs take four years to even resemble a footballer especially when no kid is drafted as a full back.
Miller has been superb this season.
Great stuff that you attended support and feedback. Cheers

Yesterday's team wasnt young... Do people realise this?
Yep, but injuries are too blame.
Add the four first rounders from last year and Gibcus into the mix and it’s a very different story.

Yep, but injuries are too blame.
Add the four first rounders from last year and Gibcus into the mix and it’s a very different story.
There aren’t many of our best 23 that are out.
Maybe Lalor and Mcauliffe.
The rest are first year kids and plodders like Hugo, Dow and Ryan.
Of course injuries to kids means we can’t get games into them so there’s that.

This is wild

Game stats in order of Disposals

View attachment 2390701

Game stats in order of Fantasy Points

View attachment 2390703

I worry sometimes our w/l record is covering up the massive lack of quality football we are playing. This is not a stat-line that shows a >1 goal loss. I hope the way we are playing is the best for our development & not just short term results.

That just shows you how useless stats can be. They chip around and over possess way too much st.kilda. Stat padding at its best. That game plan wont win you finals, let alone a GF

If not for our crucial errors going inside forward 50 in the last 5-6 mins, we win.

I was calling for steeley to come on for macca half way through the last as he looked cooked. Only reason I can think of for not using the sub is that winning wasn't the priority yesterday which I can understand.
Armstrong was the obvious replacement, with Balta and lynch he wasn’t needed , mind numbing it wasn’t done

Tauru's raw talent, wow

How did we miss that?

Armstrong looking much improved too

enjoyed their contests against each other

not much else

We didn't, but North sure did stuff up on the flying viking, as they were into him bigtime.

Faull and Armstrong will forge our forward line for the next decade. Balta, I reckon will play more forward and second ruck to give Nank a chop out.

We have more than enough options with Miller, Young, Gibcus and Gray as tall backs.

That just shows you how useless stats can be. They chip around and over possess way too much st.kilda. Stat padding at its best. That game plan wont win you finals, let alone a GF

If not for our crucial errors going inside forward 50 in the last 5-6 mins, we win.

We win by making the opponent play one of the ugliest games of footy you will ever see.

Not all wins are equal. The stats tell you exactly the story of that game. One team trying to stop the other team play football.

Trying to say that this is some sort of proof that "stats lie" is baffling. Sure stats can not show you the full story - but in this game it really did.

Balta as a ruckman has no real basis either. He hasn't really shown anything to be considered that. Its wild that we have a guy on a 7 year contract and we are still discussing where he fits. Surely the club had sorted that out before they offered him that deal

We win by making the opponent play one of the ugliest games of footy you will ever see.

Not all wins are equal. The stats tell you exactly the story of that game. One team trying to stop the other team play football.

Trying to say that this is some sort of proof that "stats lie" is baffling. Sure stats can not show you the full story - but in this game it really did.

Balta as a ruckman has no real basis either. He hasn't really shown anything to be considered that. Its wild that we have a guy on a 7 year contract and we are still discussing where he fits. Surely the club had sorted that out before they offered him that deal

There's nothing baffling to what I said, I articulated myself well enough. In this case, stats don't always tell you the truth with all their supposed dominance in the stats column, for uncontested possessions, marks and more kicks, which can be attributed to their game style of short chip kicks. So with all those high stats in those 3 areas, the inside 50 count was almost the same 43 to 41, and the scoreboard difference was a few points.

So, in a nutshell, one team went more directly towards the goal, the other went sideways, backwards, and forward, mainly with chip kicks.

So I stand by we only lost due to our inability to nail gettable goals, especially in the last 5-6 mins.

Balta is a swingman who can play anywhere. He has been great for us over many years playing back, but this year, due to circumstances that we know curtailed his year. And yes, he is more likely than not to play forward and 2nd ruck in 2026.

Autopsy Roast & Toast v Saints & Changes For The Death Ride