Autopsy Roast & Toast v Sydney & Mid Season Review

Top 5 v Sydney

The same applies. As for that, our backline is the strongest. So, who do you think would replace him if that were the case?
Come next year I’d rather play gray and blight.
The young guys have to step up at some point. Brown is and the rest will follow given the responsibility.

It's probably time to give Alger a go. Maybe in place of Green, who could be sub?

I'd also like to see Trainor back in place of Smith, Ross up on the wing and Short across HF if he's ready to go.

Blight also deserves a call up, but neither Balta or Miller can be dropped and I don't think we should play him of position again.

Richmond's rebuild is being stymied, or even sabotaged, by playing too many kids for too long at senior level.

We have Gray, Blight and Bauer all mature bodies who have played well at AFL level now getting our 2's wins, while guys like Trainor, Faull and Sims are being thrown to the wolves with all the pressure at senior level.

These recent draftees should show some decent form, build some confidence in the VFL before being promoted.

Right now the opposite is occurring, any confidence is being depleted.

What’s blight gotta do ,he’s dead set killing it , 10+ marks ea week with his 20 plus possies , get him in the side ,,,,now it’s laughable we think we can leave him out ,,,,sure if we win every game the line up can be bullet proof , we lose e ery flipping week , hellooooooo get the talent into the team ffs

Come next year I’d rather play gray and blight.
The young guys have to step up at some point. Brown is and the rest will follow given the responsibility.
Trouble with broad he has speed can play short and tall blight and gray can't. If he goes and vlastuin we just don't have anyone to replace them. I think our failure is that we just went all out on talls and it will hurt us no matter how good they seem.

It's probably time to give Alger a go. Maybe in place of Green, who could be sub?

I'd also like to see Trainor back in place of Smith, Ross up on the wing and Short across HF if he's ready to go.

Blight also deserves a call up, but neither Balta or Miller can be dropped and I don't think we should play him of position again.
We should be looking to go past ross and short perhaps that's our problem and a couple others.

100% I want us to stick with the kids. Why don't you mention dropping Lynch for Lefau? 8 disposals and 2 points from our leader is just as bad.

Tired of reading posts potting the kids yet our experienced players seem to get a free pass to stink it up.

Lynch has a few more runs on the board than the other two

Richmond's rebuild is being stymied, or even sabotaged, by playing too many kids for too long at senior level.

We have Gray, Blight and Bauer all mature bodies who have played well at AFL level now getting our 2's wins, while guys like Trainor, Faull and Sims are being thrown to the wolves with all the pressure at senior level.

These recent draftees should show some decent form, build some confidence in the VFL before being promoted.

have you been watching Bauer in the VFL...he has been putrid over the last month and more.(decent this round) but month before terrible.
constant attempts at mark of the year don't get you a call up.
On the path to be delisted

Mid season review

Positives
  • We are playing the kids…and kept playing them…Lalor, Trainor, Faull, Sims, Armstrong, Mccauliffe, Seth, Green, Smith
  • Sammy is a ripper
  • Trainor is a ripper
  • Sims Armo and Faull will be rippers
  • Seth is quality…looking forward to him taking the game apart over the next few seasons
  • Banks has had a great season….has taken shorts role
  • Brown also continuing to show class….very skilful
  • Hugo has been very good all season …his gut running and getting to the right spots has been good
  • We won 3 games so far….many “experts” expected us to go winless
  • We were in several other games ( should have beaten Norf and the plastics)
  • We beat Scum, Dimma and Mini….that was satisfying
  • Yze has been steady, less agitated, backing the kids….for most part, his coaching has been good
  • Taranto, Vlastuin, Nank, Broad, Prestia Lynch Hopper have all been rock solid and helped the kids develop as they shoulder the work load
  • Miller has been very good all season….just does the job expected
  • Dow has been serviceable….given the circumstances, has been in our better 50% of players
  • Algar, Blight and Gray need to be played…they are very good players and coming along nicely and need consistent senior exposure

Negatives
  • Balta…his shite act in the pre season was really disappointing…for Noah and the fact we have so many impressionable kids…..Baltas form has been questionable….needs to pull his finger out for the remainder of the season….his liaisez faire attitude v Swans was horrible to witness
  • Injuries to Juddy, Armo, Lalor, Dow, Gray….and lingering injuries/ set backs to Smils, Gibcus
  • Ross has stagnated….this bloke is 24 now and should be at the peak ….hope he gets his shite together or will likely be traded
  • MRJ…..one step forward, 3 steps back….come on Maurice we need you man
  • Why did we sign Kosi for years?

i think it’s stymied by blokes like ross sonsie and mansell and broad. bauer is a headcase. fawcett has not come along. blight needs to come in. but the biggest block is our negative coaches who have forced us to play negative football.?

Gray is injured and Bauer's form has been so poor that he's highly likely to be delisted.

Blight is the only one deserving of a spot in the seniors, but unless we play someone out of position (not a great long-term strategy), there's no spot for him, as he's not going to play ahead of Miller and Balta.

Mid season review

Positives
  • We are playing the kids…and kept playing them…Lalor, Trainor, Faull, Sims, Armstrong, Mccauliffe, Seth, Green, Smith
  • Sammy is a ripper
  • Trainor is a ripper
  • Seth is quality…looking forward to him taking the game apart over the next few seasons
  • Hugo has been very good all season …his gut running and getting to the right spots has been good
  • Yze has been steady, less agitated, backing the kids….for most part, his coaching has been good
  • Taranto, Vlastuin, Nank, Broad, Prestia Lynch Hopper have all been rock solid and helped the kids develop as they shoulder the work load
  • Dow has been serviceable….given the circumstances, has been in our better 50% of players
  • Algar, Blight and Gray need to be played…they are very good players and coming along nicely and need consistent senior exposure

Negatives
  • Balta…his shite act in the pre season was really disappointing…for Noah and the fact we have so many impressionable kids…..Baltas form has been questionable….needs to pull his finger out for the remainder of the season….his liaisez faire attitude v Swans was horrible to witness
  • Injuries to Juddy, Armo, Lalor, Dow, Gray….and lingering injuries/ set backs to Smils, Gibcus
  • Ross has stagnated….this bloke is 24 now and should be at the peak ….hope he gets his shite together or will likely be traded
In perspective the biggest neg is Balta form which makes me rage wtf we Shanghai one of our best prospects to bring him straight in , it’s a blight on the coaching group ,,, and talkabout blight , how on earth does a side that loses every week leave a tall that avg 20+ and 10+ marks a game while we play a couple of teenagers that look like they’re fresh out of u16s

Blight ain’t 34 he’s 23 , seems the genius pool have decided he’s surplus to our needs

Have I mentioned our goal kicking yet ,,,, oh my ,,,, and we’re paying these blonks. A tall forward that can’t kick goals ain’t worth a knob of goat shit . Drop them to work on a routine they can bank on , not torture the fans as they crumble on the big stage time and again

What’s blight gotta do ,he’s dead set killing it , 10+ marks ea week with his 20 plus possies , get him in the side ,,,,now it’s laughable we think we can leave him out ,,,,sure if we win every game the line up can be bullet proof , we lose e ery flipping week , hellooooooo get the talent into the team ffs

Blights form has been great….needs to be rewarded….if not I can see him seeking a trade or other clubs will come knocking….id rather keep him as I don’t think we can assume Gibcus will come back and stay injury free

Frustratingly, the match committee dropped Gray…when they shouldn’t have…and they selected Balta after a putrid vfl game….and what did he serve up?….garbage against the swans…..wish they stuck with Gray or given Blight a run ….at least Blighty would have given us something

Mid season review

Positives
  • Sammy is a ripper
  • Trainor is a ripper

Negatives
I agree with most of what you have written except for Ross who I admit I have still got hope for. However, I would add three additional points which are all related.
Negative
Our midfield has been ordinary at best. The clearance numbers are ok, but that statistic does not measure the quality of the first possession. Many of the clearances are hack kicks that are not to our forward's advantage. Provided the hack kick does not go directly to an opponent or out of bounds it is considered an effective disposal. Even by this measure Taranto and Hopper and MacIntosh have low disposal efficiency. This is our most experienced group. We cannot blame inexperience. In fact, the opposite is true, so next year, it will not suddenly get better with experience.
Positives
A lot of credit should be given to the defenders who have managed to hold up playing to a losing midfield. Yes, they have been scored against heavily at times but that seems to correspond to the times when the midfield has gone completely missing.
Similarly, the forward group should get credit for at least being competitive given the lack of entries and the poor quality of entries in most games. If we had a better midfield then I think people would be raving about the quality of the young forwards, we have.

feel weirdly checked out after this game now, we didnt get pumped or anything but the way we played was so far from an attractive or effective gameplan it really was painful to watch.

Its a defence mechanism that we all need. Helps ease the pain

I'm not so negative about the weekend having finally watched the game.

Sure the Swans weren't playing good football but if you see their lineup it is very experienced and very hard around the ball, as the Swans have been for decades. We let their confidence build by not putting the scoreboard pressure on, and they took control. But they kicked 11 goals only, so it wasn't like we didn't have some control over the game, we just couldn't score.

Lynch was well beaten and got no help from Sims who did not get near it forward bar once. Faull slightly better but the Swans talls ate them up. So effectively our forward line was pretty useless apart from Campbell who always looked dangerous.

Still a few positives. McAuliffe continues growing and looks like a player. I thought Brown played really well especially early and you could see plenty of Vlastuin in his intercepting, and such a good kick.

We have been playing good football overall but Sydney are discipline and seasoned, so just too good.

Alger has to come in for Ross. I'm a bit of a Ross fan, but he is doing not much and has gone backwards this season, good with ball in hand but he didn't get it. Green does a lot of pressure acts, so that might save him. Algar is a bit like Campbell, they he is dangerous and knows where the goals are.

Time to give Faull a break I think and bring in Blight as a forward. We need more physicality up forward. Lefau is not ready yet, so time to give the young blokes a break. The bye is well timed, we need it. I reckon hearing about Clarke's injury might flattened them a bit.

Blights form has been great….needs to be rewarded….if not I can see him seeking a trade or other clubs will come knocking….id rather keep him as I don’t think we can assume Gibcus will come back and stay injury free

Frustratingly, the match committee dropped Gray…when they shouldn’t have…and they selected Balta after a putrid vfl game….and what did he serve up?….garbage against the swans…..wish they stuck with Gray or given Blight a run ….at least Blighty would have given us something
There’s zero chance we will keep him , presumably he’s a smart bloke he speaks well and realise for a bewildering reason he’s down the pecking order , at 23 he could and should be playing reg senior footy , if I were advising him I’d take my time and sign with a decent side where senior opportunities abound

I'm not so negative about the weekend having finally watched the game.

Sure the Swans weren't playing good football but if you see their lineup it is very experienced and very hard around the ball, as the Swans have been for decades. We let their confidence build by not putting the scoreboard pressure on, and they took control. But they kicked 11 goals only, so it wasn't like we didn't have some control over the game, we just couldn't score.

Lynch was well beaten and got no help from Sims who did not get near it forward bar once. Faull slightly better but the Swans talls ate them up. So effectively our forward line was pretty useless apart from Campbell who always looked dangerous.

Still a few positives. McAuliffe continues growing and looks like a player. I thought Brown played really well especially early and you could see plenty of Vlastuin in his intercepting, and such a good kick.

We have been playing good football overall but Sydney are discipline and seasoned, so just too good.

Alger has to come in for Ross. I'm a bit of a Ross fan, but he is doing not much and has gone backwards this season, good with ball in hand but he didn't get it. Green does a lot of pressure acts, so that might save him. Algar is a bit like Campbell, they he is dangerous and knows where the goals are.

Time to give Faull a break I think and bring in Blight as a forward. We need more physicality up forward. Lefau is not ready yet, so time to give the young blokes a break. The bye is well timed, we need it. I reckon hearing about Clarke's injury might flattened them a bit.
Pretty right , underlines my broken record why we continue to play teenagers ahead of a couple of talls ready to go ,,,both <23
I’d understand if they were >28,,,, miles off it

The Round 13 debrief, good bad and the ugly

Very harsh on our tall forwards. Yes, they kicked points when they should have kicked goals but for most of the second and third quarters the ball was in our back half. When our tall forward were competing, it was for long high kicks against a well-structured defence. You could have had Tony Lockett and Lance Franklin in our forward line, and they would have struggled to get a kick.
The group that deserves much more criticism is the midfield. Not only did they lose the clearance count but most of Hopper's and Taranto's 20+ possessions were worthless. Unfortunately, this has been the same for most of the year. We desperately need a shakeup in the midfield.

Autopsy Roast & Toast v Sydney & Mid Season Review