Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS and Changes for R3 vs St Kilda

Best vs Giants

yep, harsh af for the millers and dows. I'm sure they'll all get more turns as covid hits though
Thought Dow really added something new to the midfield and if he continues to improve he might make it hard for selectors to drop him. Has a good skill set for an inside/outside mid, speed, hands and evasion. Should improve the more he plays, but that 's been said before about most young kids.

His clearances (5) in 3/4's is immense. Loved his game.

Loved Balta forward last week. I reckon Balta, Jack, Lynch and Bolton will become too much for the StKilda defence in the end.

IN: Jack, Grimes, RCD
OUT: Miller, Dow, Ross

I want to see RCD out there, he was simply too good in the VFL on the weekend. If we don't give guys like this a chance now well then he'll go to another club come seasons end.

The optimist in me says round 5 we'll look like this:

Gibcus, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Grimes, Short
McIntosh, Cotchin, Pickett
Edwards, Balta, Bolton
Baker, Lynch, Riewoldt
Nankervis, Martin, Prestia
Soldo, Rioli, Graham, Ralphsmith

emg/ Castagna, Ross, Dow, Parker

The question will be can we play all 3 of those tall forwards? Does Gibcus get a rest to be replaced by Balta and we just run Jack/Tom up forward? Or does Jack perhaps end up left out :( ?

Do we want both of Rioli and Ralphsmith on the bench or just one and play an extra midfielder like Parker?
Love that team. Only one change:

MP4Hunnid for Jack.

Loved Balta forward last week. I reckon Balta, Jack, Lynch and Bolton will become too much for the StKilda defence in the end.

I want to see RCD out there, he was simply too good in the VFL on the weekend. If we don't give guys like this a chance now well then he'll go to another club come seasons end.
I can't see Jack fitting into the best 22 right now. He is too slow, and whoever defends him in a big final will run off him and he will blow up. Keep him in the VFL to develop the younger guys. Balta was big on the weekend the Balta Lynch combo is what we need and if the defence is slow, Riewoldt to stretch them. We can't drop two midfielders for an extra tall.

FWIW I agree with you. We all love Cotch and admire / respect what he has done but that doesnt mean he should be immune to criticism of his form right now FFS. Some real flowers on this site these days.
Perhaps I'm one of those flowers you're referring to ? Some real a$$holes on this site too. They're pretty easy to spot. They're the ones taking giant ******* steps backwards after shitting all over a bunch of club legends after R1.

Nobody is free from criticism about their playing or even their future, that's a given and I certainly have been critical of given performances on given days. This club has driven me crazy for half a century. But perhaps you've been on the dark side of the moon or something because some of the personal attacks on Cotch, Edwards, Jack, the MC, our recruiters, the coach and the Club as a whole went beyond the pale.

That's what I've been critical of because it was unwarranted and undeserved, especially coming from a bunch of armchair warriors.

Rather be a flower than one of those a$$holes any day. But hey, you be you.

So now people aren’t allowed to question the balta move forward when he had been so successful down back??
We are lucky it seems to working very well atm but I’d suspect the club wasn’t even sure until the season proper started.
You can do what you bloody like mate. Just don't expect me to agree with you every time. If you can't handle that go have a sook.

Unlike some here tho, the club had the courage of its convictions. It also tends to put it's hand up when it's dead wrong.

I don't think this is correct. Dimma explained that the decision to train Balta up as a forward came about because CCJ and Chol leaving left us with no depth in this area. It wasn't a long-term plan to turn him into a Jack replacement, but a short-term fix for our lack of depth.

However, as a result of Gibcus being ready to go straight away and Balta exceeding expectations in the role over preseason, Balta has become a forward who can swing back to cover injuries, rather than the other way around, which is fantastic as it plugs what would have been the biggest hole in our list once Jack retires.
Which is exactly what I said.

Once Tarrant was in the bag and we took Gibcus, Balta being a viable option as a key forward was put into action. So how is this not correct ?

I can't see Jack fitting into the best 22 right now. He is too slow, and whoever defends him in a big final will run off him and he will blow up. Keep him in the VFL to develop the younger guys. Balta was big on the weekend the Balta Lynch combo is what we need and if the defence is slow, Riewoldt to stretch them. We can't drop two midfielders for an extra tall.
Bit early for that call. Let's see what happens it's not like he is a rookie or a big immobile ruckman.

Riewoldt, Grimes likely to return for Saints clash​

Richmond is set to regain Jack Riewoldt and Dylan Grimes for Round 3.
By Callum Twomey, AFL Media

RICHMOND stars Jack Riewoldt and Dylan Grimes are expected to return for Sunday's clash with St Kilda, while youngster Thomson Dow has avoided a nasty knee injury from last week's win over Greater Western Sydney.

But Dion Prestia (hamstring) is set to be another week away from selection, while defender Nick Vlastuin looks more likely for a round five return from his own hamstring injury.

Riewoldt required thumb surgery after the Tigers' round one loss to Carlton and sat out the win over the Giants at the MCG on Sunday, but has made a strong recovery and is likely to line-up in the annual Maddie's Match at Marvel Stadium.

"Jack's going to train and he'll be available if he completes training this week," Richmond's physical performance manager Peter Burge said.
"He saw the specialist yesterday and got the tick-off and he said to him he could train and, if he was comfortable, he could play, so I'm expecting that will happen. Jack's pretty tough so I'm expecting that will be the case."

Grimes was a late withdrawal for the win over the Giants after pulling up sore from training ahead of the game, but Burge said the Tigers' co-captain should be back to take on the Saints.

"It was pretty minor and a bit of a frustrating one. He slipped over at training the other day and pulled up sore and it's just an area that he's had a problem with in the past. The smart thing to do was not to play and he's settled fine. He will train on Wednesday and if that's fine then he'll be playing," Burge said.

Prestia looks likely to play in round four against the Western Bulldogs as the Tigers take extra time on the important midfielder, with coach Damien Hardwick getting back some of his senior stars after an injury-hit start to the campaign.

Vlastuin is participating in training as he takes cautious steps in his hamstring recovery, having not yet progressed to long-kicking drills. The Tigers are careful not to build his training up too quickly as they take a "very conservative" approach with the triple premiership defender.

Dow was substituted out of the win over the Giants with a knee issue but could still be a chance to face the Saints this week after narrowly missing a more serious concern.

"Someone ran into the side of his leg at a centre bounce contest and got him in the quad, but his knee [went] inwards and he's quite hypermobile, so it saved him a bit. If that was slightly worse he might have done his ACL, but he had all the checks done and all of those things and then came good," Burge said.

"He's pulled up pretty well, but we'll need to wait and see when he starts moving around and running. I think he's a chance to be available."

Richmond Injury List:

Probable

Dow - knee
Stack – elbow
Riewoldt – thumb
Grimes - soreness

Unavailable

Caddy – soreness – short term
Prestia – hamstring – short term
Vlastuin – hamstring – short term
Lambert – hip - TBC

They have persisted with Ross, however he has been poor in two games.
Carlton, 14 kicks, 6 turnovers.
GWS, 7 kicks, 3 turnovers.
He can find a spell of form in the VFL, then return.
Hugo, Matt P and Dow have cemented their senior slots and are untouchable.

FWIW I agree with you. We all love Cotch and admire / respect what he has done but that doesnt mean he should be immune to criticism of his form right now FFS. Some real flowers on this site these days.
If players like Cotchin are deemed to be off limits to criticism, then this board is going to become quite boring. Whether people like it or not we have some aging stars who are coming to the end of their careers and questions are going to be raised along the way this season about whether they are best 22 locks like they have been or if a younger option is a better way to go.

Another club (hi Norf) will poach him.

I'm really warming to the idea of Jack, Cotch, Edwards having a turn at being the sub.
Doesn't really hurt them whether they get a run or not, whereas the young players really need to play full games every week.
Next week a good time for Jack to be the sub - can still talk on Maddie's behalf and be part of the whole atmosphere. And doesn't hurt his thumb if it only plays for a quarter, a half, or not at all.
Not a bad idea at all!

No need to rage about posters disrespecting our stars. Getting offended on behalf of the player is the kind of thing religious nut jobs do.

Theres a distinction between being offended and pointing out that the naysayers now look like idiots though. Give em both barrels if you want to.

I just block serial offenders; i dont have time for their s**t. Makes for a less aggravating experience.

Saints will be hard to beat Sunday after the Warney Memorial tonight.

What an emotional night.
They might be emotionally drained, has the reverse effect sometimes. I think any player who watched the memorial tonight would be pumped to get out in front of their supporters and give it their all, so our guys will also have similar motivation I expect, especially being Maddie's match as well. Shame it's not at the G.