Toast Robbo - Vital Cog

He's actually a very skilful player: good mark overhead, good kick when he keeps his head, good quick hands.

He is prone to rushing his kicks and losing his feet, but has obviously worked hard to iron these out and as they become less and less he will be better and better.

Love him.:):thumbsu:

Watched him improve every game last year - commentators try and make a joke out of his hard nut play and ignore the development of his skills. One of my favourites too - old fashioned and fair dinkum every time.:thumbsu:

He presents well too. When the defenders are trying to get it out and have to kick to a contest I reckon it goes in Robbos direction as much as to the tall timber: he works really hard to find some space and if he doesn't mark it he's a good chance of locking it in for a stoppage.

An invaluable member of the best 22. A mate of mine who doesn't support Carlton but loves Robbo (we live near Lauderdale so the local boy is a favourite with everyone) reckons that if umps factored in courage and one percenters Robbo would be a Brownlow chance. Me too.

He presents well too. When the defenders are trying to get it out and have to kick to a contest I reckon it goes in Robbos direction as much as to the tall timber: he works really hard to find some space and if he doesn't mark it he's a good chance of locking it in for a stoppage.

An invaluable member of the best 22. A mate of mine who doesn't support Carlton but loves Robbo (we live near Lauderdale so the local boy is a favourite with everyone) reckons that if umps factored in courage and one percenters Robbo would be a Brownlow chance. Me too.

I grew up in Sydney and played a lot of rugby as a tight head front rower.

Mitch doesn't look 'pretty' in what he does - but he gets the job done - better than most pretty boys. Lately he has been taking some high pressure marks hasn't he - who would have thought and his kicking at goal has appeared over the last 6 months too...

Mitch won't be a star as far as journos are concerned ( and therefore umpires too?) - he isnt pretty enough for them. I'd have him in my side - every time and teh journos can stick with the pretty boys. :thumbsu:

I know we only played melbourne today but i was confident he'd step up. I recon it could be the making of him and mclean with them being starting onballers. some guys relish having to step up and be the number one man instead of being an impact or change player. If all our players were as strong, hard working and put in the 2nd 3rd 4th efforts that he does we'd win a flag. He is the exact opposite to what Gibbs and Russell are. Love how he hits the ball hard, is able to break tackles and just makes things happen and never loses a contest.

I had a great time watching Mitch today. One of the best players to watch in the competition. I think with Murphy out, he now has a roll that suits him - a kind of Box to Box midfielder. He drew a bit of unfair criticism so far this season because his stats had been down, but like I argued earlier today, he has actually been playing really well this year, but he has been playing more negative rolls, usually on the opposition's attacking defender. He was great in the first half against Adelaide playing on Reilly, kept him to about 3 touches to half time, then was unleashed more into the midfield in the last half and finished with a decent amount of touches himself.

He is a unique player that can be used in a lot of different roles, but look for Mitch to produce more BOG type performances if he continues to play in the midfield for the rest of the year.

Today is exactly why I have Robbo on my membership card.

So much :heart: for Robbo.

He is really great when allowed to follow the ball all day.

He was clearly BOG today. Onya Mitch:thumbsu:

I went for Jeff on mine...:(

Na..he'll lift but Robbo is a dead-set legend, would lie down in traffic for the jumper.

I love watching Robbo go about his football. He was superb today. The key to his game now is to do it consistently against the top sides as well. He is proving to be a bit of a game breaker now, which is what we desperately need with a growing injury list.

I went for Jeff on mine...:(

Na..he'll lift but Robbo is a dead-set legend, would lie down in traffic for the jumper.

I was close to choosing Jeffy myself cos he is amazing to watch when on :)

But as you said Robbo would lie down in traffic for the club which is why I had to choose him. Seriously I think if Ratts asked him to try to run through a brick wall he would attempt to do it.

Great all round performance today, he could not have done any more.

Even when he wasn't getting the ball he was having an impact. Loved in the last quater he was chasing the ball and was out numbered two on 1.... dived to get to the ball first and just punched it forward to advantage.

Very well put indeed.

Not bad for a pick 41 (?) is he? Though I understand we rated him much higher internally.

He's one player you know will never give up and will smash every contest but what's impressed me the last couple weeks (yes even against the Crows) is he's showed an air of composure. He's doing all the hard fast stuff but also seems to be thinking through things too.

Yes he will always have a natural rough edge but by golly I dont give a stuff ;) Still young and developing too, I don't think we've seen the best of Robbo yet.

But think about it, he's a complete midfielder. Tough, runs hard and isn't slow by any means, great overhead and as much as we can criticise his long banging kicks often they have been the reason we have either cleared a zone or got a ball to a marking forward (just ask Walker :D).

Still young and developing too, I don't think we've seen the best of Robbo yet.

Apparently his upside has the club very excited. If he can play consistently at the level he did yesterday, and have the odd even better game, he will be a genuine star of the game.

Really hope he steps up the way Beams has in Luke Ball's absence. His presence alone on the field is a plus for the team.
Really think he's only had the one bad game this season vs bombers but he wasn't alone that day.

Apparently his upside has the club very excited. If he can play consistently at the level he did yesterday, and have the odd even better game, he will be a genuine star of the game.

If he can play consistently at that level he will definatly be a star of the game. One thing we know about Mitch is that we are always going to get 100% and he is going to squeeze every drop of his talent out.

An opposition supporter asked the question on our board a couple of weeks ago- Is Robbo in our leadership group.

Great point raised by that poster. I think next year we should definatly include him in our leadership group. He already leads by example on the field. You can tell the other players just love his attack on the ball. He is very much our "barometer", when Robbo is up and about it just lifts the whole team.

His left foot kick down the line against Melbourne - was a statement about just how much he has developed his skills - one of our players who has clearly continued developing and is still playing with enthusiasm.

I like him in the think of things - hopefullly he learns to also not muck up our own clearances, bumping one of our own players or forcing fumbles - saw him do that a few times against Melbourne.

Somehow I dont think he will ever be worried about who he plays against - a natural competitor.

The more idjot journos under estimaet him - the more opposing idjot players do same. Wont be long before he is being tagged - which is a good thing for us.