Injury Robert Murphy

Stevo saying that those inside the kennel have the gut feel that he will play on. A friend of my mother's went to see Jake Landsberger, bulldogs club doctor about plantar fasciitis this morning. Said that he was a great doctor and bloke, and said that Landsberger reckons that Bob could go on until he's 37. (For what's it worth). Hopefully that brings around some hope for us that are feeling so glum.

Hi Doggies supporters,

Just wanted to pop in and offer support for your captain. As much as we won on the weekend, I'm gutted with the outcome and the result pales into insignificance. Bob is one of the nicest guys in the AFL fraternity, and through being a regular watcher or AFL 360, I almost feel like I know him myself. I really hope he does the rehab and continues playing, and nothing would be greater than to see you guys make the big dance on the last weekend in September. I know he leaves big shoes to fill, but you guys are ready. Best of luck for the rest of the season. Love watching you guys play.

Absolutely gutted for Bob, and all the Doggies fans. By far my favourite opposition player in the AFL. I hope he's not lost to the game and plays on. One of the good guys.

It's just f'n sh*t and shouldn't happen to such a great player and amazing example of a bloke. It just really pisses me off to be honest with you.

Luckily I know that Bob will still be there. Yes, not on the field, but he'll still be there doing what he does best. Providing tremendous leadership and inspiration to the other lads. None-the-less, you're still going to have to carry his on-field loss through the season and it's going to have 1 of two outcomes.

1. It will impact the club negatively. It will mean there's a hole in defence. A loss in on field leadership. etc.
Or
2. It will impact the club in the best way it can. It will mean your boys fire it up. More kids will step up. Leaders will rise.

I reckon I've seen enough from this group of kids already that I think they will choose (& it is a choice) option 2. They'll stand up and not back down. They'll run their guts out and keep running. They won't let this stop the train rolling. They'll use it and learn from it and grow.

Yes, ominous from my clubs point of view... but an exciting opponent and challenge that I'm looking forward to going up against.

I'd wish you luck for the year but luck is only a small part of it. You've got the rest of it ready to go, turn it up and get rolling.

Really sad for Bobby & the Doggies but he must come back no doubt he was still playing brilliant footy& leading so wonderfully.He no doubt has a fair bit left in the tank,but understandably this requires the time& patience as much as is needed.All the very best Bobby can't wait to see you back& hopefully lead the Doggies to a flag& certainly hope of course 2016 is your year as well:thumbsu:;).

I desperately want Bob to play on and even more desperately want him to hold up the 2017 cup.
There is no other team nor player I would wish this for.
I have had the good fortune of meeting Bob several times thru a mutual mate.
He is all class.
Everyone assumes he is a terrific fella and they are right.

Was gob smacked when I saw him go down, and I stayed down on my seat when the goal was kicked.
Just couldn't celebrate.

Shattered for Bob but he's not dying and will keep a smile on his dial. They're going with traditional surgery, not Lars. Too much ligament damage for Lars according to Youngy.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
He even managed a smile and chuckle on Ch7 on the news. He'll be ok, he would be just as shocked as us, he'll process it over the next little while and i reckon he is enjoying his footy and the lads at the club to much to just give it all up just yet. He's a fighter, as he's shown plenty of times before.

I wonder if fatigue got him. I can't bring myself to watch a replay but I thought Bob pushed himself to the limit in that last quarter to get us over the line. In that last play he may have been too tired and mis-timed tensing his leg when landing.

Anyone else get the impression from the media releases that the club want Bob having a traditional op but Bob is considering LARS so he can be part of this year? His interview looked to me that he was gutted and that he'd agreed to think about things prior to deciding. I might be reading too much into it but I really get the feel both the club/surgeon and Bob aren't on the same page just yet. Also, many players would have had their surgery already. They don't seem to muck around these days. Maybe the delay might be swelling given my extensive experience in the medical side of things (30 years banking/finance)

^^^ Liked for last sentence (Barking Mad)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Aweful news, if ever there was a bloke from an opposition club who you would love to have a beer with, it's Bob Murphy.
If my mob can't win it this year, I hope yours does.
Bob once wrote an article on the magic of getting a beer or two at a Melbourne pub on a cold winter's day, watching the people drift by and then joining the pilgrimage to the 'G and riding the bumps of the game, even if your team isn't playing.

He just encapsulates what the footy is all about, on and off the field. It's a cruel irony that the game could rob such a champion of its cause of a chance at immortality, at least this year.

Anyone else get the impression from the media releases that the club want Bob having a traditional op but Bob is considering LARS so he can be part of this year? His interview looked to me that he was gutted and that he'd agreed to think about things prior to deciding. I might be reading too much into it but I really get the feel both the club/surgeon and Bob aren't on the same page just yet. Also, many players would have had their surgery already. They don't seem to muck around these days. Maybe the delay might be swelling given my extensive experience in the medical side of things (30 years banking/finance)
Factually incorrect that many players would have had the surgery already. He only got the scans done today ffs. Just chill, bro. :)

I have a feeling its time to raise a family and stop chasing the dream.
I believe he will announce his retirement by weeks end.
And with that, we will struggle
2016 is no more!

I'm taking a break from the pseudo-sport that is afl

He'll play on. He loves footy, he's body is is great shape. Right now he just needs some time to get over the disappointment, the sense of loss he must be feeling. But that will be fleeting.

Bob will look at it for what it is, not the end the world and move on with his positive, pragmatic and romantic approach he has to footy and life and so he will continue to chase the dream, while he still can. Why wouldn't you if you could.

Not the case at all for the surgery. You have to have the scans, the scans (best organised during business hours) have to be reviewed and the alternatives considered and then a surgeon and operating theater organised. All that doesn't happen in less than 24 hours. Seven days is about the upper preferred limit on surgery unless there is other trauma or medical factors.

I have a feeling its time to raise a family and stop chasing the dream.
I believe he will announce his retirement by weeks end.
And with that, we will struggle
2016 is no more!

I'm taking a break from the pseudo-sport that is afl
He won't desert the boys! They will be inspired by his presence around the club, his approach to his rehab, and he will be a much valued mentor. Slight possibility he will take stock at the end of the season, but we shouldn't expect any decision until then.

Chin up, theAthenian

Injury Robert Murphy