Rocca?

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

If you want lonie in the side you have to take out a player, who?

OMG, go back and read what i'm saying....slowly

Actually don't bother, just forget about Lonie and move on.

At 100% he could push for the spots of Maxwell, Goldsack, and Johnson. In the event that Wakelin were to retire, and Maxwell or Goldsack were to step up to frontline KPP duty alongside Brown and O'Brien then at 100% Lonie could challenge for selection also.

But unfortunately you missed the whole point, I am objecting to people writing him off when he is 25 YEARS OLD!! He may never play AFL again, he may never regain his old form, he might not break into the side...fine.

But when some parrot comes on and states matter-of-factly that everything he does is shit and he is the softest player ever to pull on the black and white, I am going to object.

He played at 18-19 years of age for us, kicking out from full back and finishing set plays when noone else wanted the responsibility. For someone to come on here and call him the softest player ever is a disgrace.

He might not get a game, but he should be given every opportunity to get himself right before we write him off.

Adzarani, you do not think that Lonie is soft?

If he is not one of the softest players ever to pull on a black and white jumper then please name me the ones that are softer. Egan is the only one that comes close.

Yes, in his first few years he played pretty well as a good outside finnisher but it has been years since he has shown anything like that form. When you are as outside and soft as him you can't afford not to be an exceptional user of the ball. They are the cold hard facts.

Adzarani, you do not think that Lonie is soft?

If he is not one of the softest players ever to pull on a black and white jumper then please name me the ones that are softer. Egan is the only one that comes close.

Are you familiar with the work of Mark Fraser?

Fraser was soft but I'd say less soft than Lonie. Anyway, the Pies did the right thing and shipped him off.

Try again.

I know he is hated by so many on here, but i reckon at 25 he still has a lot to offer this footy club.

Ryan Lonie is only 25?!!!

:eek::eek::eek:

I must admit I've sorten forgotten about the bloke,

but watching him do the CTV, i thought he was great - and i watched some collingwood highlights of 2002-2003 season and lonie featured in so many

you're right faves its been unfortunate that he has not hit his best form. to be fair he was given chances last year and didnt really take them. he didnt do too badly in the senior, but that said with so many kids that were coming through last year it was hard to justify his spot

I hope we see him have another chance at least.

Fraser was soft but I'd say less soft than Lonie. Anyway, the Pies did the right thing and shipped him off.

Try again.

Mate, if you reckon Mark Fraser was harder than Lonie good for you. But i'll give you the tip he wasn't.

So many people have formed their opinion based on his last 2-3 years when he hasn't been 100%.

Its all perception, it's bullshit. Of course Lonie is not a kamikaze, and yes he is not a "hardman" of AFL but people see him not go in and write him off completely.

If he did what Didak did last Saturday, when he avoided contact and soccered the ball along the boundary out of bounds there would have been an uproar. "Oh Lonie's soft" "Get rid of him" " Pea Heart" etc.

We have got courage by the truckload what we need is polish. There is NO benifit for the club in delisting Ryan Lonie.......zero

Have you got any evidence that Josh Fraser is any "harder" than Lonie......

My view on Lonie is that he makes for a very good depth player... that's it!

Pretty much.....

I just want to see him get the chance to get himself right.

The guy is a 100+ game player with potentially 6 years of footy left.

Benifit in terms of depth outweighs his trade value (i.e. 0) or just delisting him at the end of the year imo.

Mate, if you reckon Mark Fraser was harder than Lonie good for you. But i'll give you the tip he wasn't.

So many people have formed their opinion based on his last 2-3 years when he hasn't been 100%.

Its all perception, it's bullshit. Of course Lonie is not a kamikaze, and yes he is not a "hardman" of AFL but people see him not go in and write him off completely.

If he did what Didak did last Saturday, when he avoided contact and soccered the ball along the boundary out of bounds there would have been an uproar. "Oh Lonie's soft" "Get rid of him" " Pea Heart" etc.

We have got courage by the truckload what we need is polish. There is NO benifit for the club in delisting Ryan Lonie.......zero

great post'

i would be right there with you on the josh fraser thing

This is like an argument about which is the softest cheese, brie or camembert? They are both soft but Fraser only played about 35 games and was shipped off pretty quickly. Lonie is a better player, no doubt, i'll grant you that.

No, it is not perception it is reality. The problem is that Ryan refuses to commit to putting his head over the ball and actually pulls out of contests. Watch how many times there is a 50/50 ball and he opts to not attempt to get the ball but stand back, let the other player pick it up, then attempt a weak tackle.

I'm glad you brought up Didak because he is a good comparison as he is an outside player with good skills. The difference is that Didak puts his head over the ball when it is his turn and does not pull out of contests. Further, he uses his skills in a constructive and damaging manner.

Huh? No benefit in delisting a list clogger like Lonie who has no upside (face it, he's never going to get any better as he hasn't improved in 5 years) when we could draft a potentially gun kid?

Just playing in the ruck requires great courage as the big men continually crash into each other. On that basis alone Josh is way harder than Lonie. Josh has never seriously been considered to be scared, more that he lacks intensity, passion and aggression.

Can you imagine Lonie in the ruck (even against someone his own size)? You'd might as well put a blindfold on him.

Huh? No benefit in delisting a list clogger like Lonie who has no upside (face it, he's never going to get any better as he hasn't improved in 5 years) when we could draft a potentially gun kid?

Just playing in the ruck requires great courage as the big men continually crash into each other. On that basis alone Josh is way harder than Lonie. Josh has never seriously been considered to be scared, more that he lacks intensity, passion and aggression.

Can you imagine Lonie in the ruck (even against someone his own size)? You'd might as well put a blindfold on him.

OMG, same old story. Draft a potentially gun kid......look at Medhurst's effort this year compared to any kid we have ever drafted just as good if not better, A.Rocca, Licuria, Clement, Buckley, O'Bree, Wakelin most of our club champions of recent times came from other clubs, yet we are obsessed with the kids. It's Sheedy's old trick that keeps you in your job as senior coach for as long as possible, let's go with more youth. Recently only Lokyer, Swan & Didak aside from father-son picks have turned into guns.....pretty low strike rate, but everyone wants more kids.

If you think half the kids "clogging" our list deserve a chance more than Lonie then you haven't recognised what he has done for our club. You're too accustomed to bagging him everytime he goes near the ball.

You completely missed my Didak example.....

But your right, everything he does is shit, he's the softest player ever, let's just write him off, because he is such a massive liability to the footy club, what a disgrace. You bag a guy who isn't playing seniors, for his perfomance in a developing side down the bottom of the ladder.....seriously. If he is playing senoir footy, he is fair game, but your gonna rip holes in him for his VFL games, give the guy a chance to get back to senior footy before you start spouting off.

And as for comparing cheese to softer cheese....I take your point about Josh Fraser on board.

OMG, same old story. Draft a potentially gun kid......look at Medhurst's effort this year compared to any kid we have ever drafted just as good if not better, A.Rocca, Licuria, Clement, Buckley, O'Bree, Wakelin most of our club champions of recent times came from other clubs, yet we are obsessed with the kids. It's Sheedy's old trick that keeps you in your job as senior coach for as long as possible, let's go with more youth. Recently only Lokyer, Swan & Didak aside from father-son picks have turned into guns.....pretty low strike rate, but everyone wants more kids.

If you think half the kids "clogging" our list deserve a chance more than Lonie then you haven't recognised what he has done for our club. You're too accustomed to bagging him everytime he goes near the ball.

You completely missed my Didak example.....

But your right, everything he does is shit, he's the softest player ever, let's just write him off, because he is such a massive liability to the footy club, what a disgrace. You bag a guy who isn't playing seniors, for his perfomance in a developing side down the bottom of the ladder.....seriously. If he is playing senoir footy, he is fair game, but your gonna rip holes in him for his VFL games, give the guy a chance to get back to senior footy before you start spouting off.

And as for comparing cheese to softer cheese....I take your point about Josh Fraser on board.

You picked an example where didak tried to keep the ball alive and scored a goal lonie and tried to apply it to many examples where lonie turns the ball over to avoid a contest it is a vast difference. There are a fair few outside players in out team, and a couple who when possible avoid contests with high collision, but not completely pull out all together where a contest is likely. Either way, In todays football you can get away with that if you have the skills to back it up but Lonie doesn't

His skills are above average but by no means elite, his kicking is good, not elite and his decision making is poor which further negates any positives to his kicking, His pace is good by no means elite. If your going to be that absolutely outside you need to bring something special to make up for it Lonie doesn't.

As for your who turned out to be guns, I would argue pendles was a gun Harry O and Nathan brown for that matter, regardeless they need time to develop where as Lonie has offered his best and its not up to the mark

You picked an example where didak tried to keep the ball alive and scored a goal lonie and tried to apply it to many examples where lonie turns the ball over to avoid a contest it is a vast difference. There are a fair few outside players in out team, and a couple who when possible avoid contests with high collision, but not completely pull out all together where a contest is likely. Either way, In todays football you can get away with that if you have the skills to back it up but Lonie doesn't

His skills are above average but by no means elite, his kicking is good, not elite and his decision making is poor which further negates any positives to his kicking, His pace is good by no means elite. If your going to be that absolutely outside you need to bring something special to make up for it Lonie doesn't.

As for your who turned out to be guns, I would argue pendles was a gun Harry O and Nathan brown for that matter, regardeless they need time to develop where as Lonie has offered his best and its not up to the mark

What you say is valid and i've got no objection with your point of view.

My issue is with the "Get Lonie off the list, he is the softest/worst player ever" mentality.

I want to see him given another year to try and get himself right and push for selection. If he was 28-30 I would agree he has to be delisted. But at 25 having been a great player for Collingwood earlier this decade I can't understand the urgency when it comes to delisting him. I think he also deserves to be remembered for some of the footy he played for us if he never gets back.

As for Pendlebury, O'Brien & Brown they could be guns, but funnily enough Lonie has played more games in the black and white than all 3 put together. I was more referring to longstanding players (i.e. examples given), but my point is that people grossly overestimate the value of a kid, especially on Collingwoods list, when compared with players (of any age) we have brought in from other clubs.

If his body is past it then I would expect Lonie to retire off his own back for the good of the club. If he thinks he can get himself right and challenge for selection he should be given another year on the list imo, if our senior players all play on then he may have to go, but my issue is with the urgency of people to delist him, he is a 100 game player ffs.

##I was referring to the Didak soccer on the members wing##

I think we'll just have to accept that I'm a harsher judge than you adzarani.

I think we need ruthlessness because I want to see another premiership in my lifetime.

I think we'll just have to accept that I'm a harsher judge than you adzarani.

I think we need ruthlessness because I want to see another premiership in my lifetime.

Don't worry I'm ruthless as well.

But i'll tend to focus on players in the seniors and the coach.

It's probably more like another poster said about clinging to the past and being unable to let go than me rating him as a player going forward.

But still, i'd personally like to see us gamble on him once more for whatever reason.

And I am desperate to see another flag in my lifetime also.

Go Pies!

Because you judge harshly you think it will get us closer to a flag?

Were you one of those who were calling for the clubs head when they recruited a list clogger in Medhurst.

All I ask is for Lonie to be given one more year to see if he can get his body right. You dont rate him and I understand that, but we all don't share your opinion. With all the experience leaving, it would be stupid of the club to delist a 100 game player.

Obviously you dont rate Malthouse as a coach either.. how could he give a list clogger like Lonie 100 games?

If you want lonie in the side you have to take out a player, who?
I don't think it's a case of who has to go.
For me it is great to hear he is pushing for selection. If we need him through suspension or injury, we have the option.
I would like to know everyone in the VFL is pushing for selection.

I don't think it's a case of who has to go.
For me it is great to hear he is pushing for selection. If we need him through suspension or injury, we have the option.
I would like to know everyone in the VFL is pushing for selection.
Yeh but u can only push for selection for so long.

Rocca was interviewed on SEN and from what he was saying he thinks he should be right to make it back in time for a few games in the VFL before finals.

Only way we can be a serious contender this year is with big Ant so great news.

Rocca was interviewed on SEN and from what he was saying he thinks he should be right to make it back in time for a few games in the VFL before finals.

Only way we can be a serious contender this year is with big Ant so great news.

Sooner the better after tonights pathetic effort against the Roos.