Rodan!!!!!!!111

• Thread starter Thread starter pafc4life

I think a few people here have been living in Adelaide too long given the negativity.........
I'm finally back on after phone line problems and given everything that I have read so far, ain't that the truth brother. :D

Be ashamed of yourselves, the lot of you. :thumbsd: :eek:

23_rodan.jpg

"There's only one David Rodan"

Who would Power supporters have preferred?

Gill or Rodan?

Cant speak for everyone but Rodan has played at the level and is younger. Gill hasn't been close as yet

I remember seeing Rodan play before his knee injury and he looked pretty damn good at the time and it's always disappointing seeing potential development stopped by the damn knee recon's (let alone star players in their prime). I felt some disappointment for him at the time. Of course it means alot more when those players play for the team you support, but the game loses something when good (or great, or champion) players are out of it for a year, then have a year to get back to their best form or continue their development. Rodan just had his 'year after the knee recon' and he has the 50+ games of experience that alot of our youth doesn't have.

I would think that being of reasonable character is important otherwise why do coaches et al bother interviewing anyone? It seems to me that the guy has 1) shown some potential at the highest level to be worthy of a go (in fact has the potential to be a rather big win for us at pick 86)
2) shown he has the right character/mindset etc to fit in at PAFC

Bagging the guy out at this stage seems rather unfair in the scheme of things, but each to their own... sure, he might be a dud, *shrugs*.

Who would Power supporters have preferred?

Gill or Rodan?

Gill has had a questionable history having been cut from 2 clubs' rookie lists and (admittedly) rumours of attitude issues. Rodan hasn't, and has played 65 AFL games.

One can only but hope its not.

But since two of our new players are from Adelaide, dont you think that its just possible that they or someone they know might just read the boards and see how some supporters of the club are **********ed off that they are to pull on the teal, black and white.

They would have to be VERY think skinned to get upset at what is written on a BB. There will be plenty of 'advice' and 'directions' given if they play like Lonie.
;)

Gezza

Gill has had a questionable history having been cut from 2 clubs' rookie lists and (admittedly) rumours of attitude issues. Rodan hasn't, and has played 65 AFL games.

not quite true. Rodan was always though to be too small for AFL football, with all his underage pedigree many thought he just wouldn't translate to senior footy.

he has talent, and Richmond initially thought themselves geniuses with his start to his career; but injury, and the continued physical demands took its toll. He's a guy who needs everything to be spot on to make it.

Gill is physically ok, and has an interesting development curve in the last couple of years. he has skills and perhaps application issues, which might (not) be in the past, Rodan is always going to be up against it.

Gill is probably more likely to play footy in 2007, but in both cases, it remains to be seen what a second chance is really worth to each of them.

I

A few thoughts on Rodan.

As you know he won 2 Morrish Medals playing midfield.

After being drafted to Richmond I had high hopes for him.
I remember watching him in his first Preseason and he was impressive. Quickly nicknamed "Hoover" by the Tiger faithful as he pounced with sure hands on any crumbs and made his way in/out of heavy traffic. Finally we looked to have found a genuine rover.
From then on under Frawley he seemed to tread water going up and down rotating between midfield and forward. At one stage Spud even tried him in the backline :eek:

A lot of Richmonds draftees from that time struggled under Frawley.(ie Pettifer, Hyde) His lack of game plan, instruction, belief etc. confused the hell out of the youngsters. He never gave them enough game time in a defined role. The sure hands that Rodan had seemed to disappear and he instead he seemed to tap the ball in front of himself rather than take posession. Don't think he ever got a full game so I wouldn't read much into his stats.

When Wallace arrived Rodan was one of the most impressive in that preseason. Wallace gave him some belief back and told him he would be a starting player in the midfield. I saw some of these preseason games and he was on fire. Attitude was never a problem. He is a fantastic bloke who gives his all, the type of guy you want around your footy club.

Unfortunately, in Richmond's last preseason game he did his knee and missed all of 2005. 2006 was an average year for him as most are for someone coming back from a knee. He spent most of his time at Coburg and always copped the primary tag. He seemed to be ok in straight lines but his lateral movement and pace off the mark wasn't the same. I cant recall many players coming back from knee injuries who fire first year back. I also feel that if some of our players weren't contracted for 2007 (ie Ray Hall) then Rodan would still be on the list. The emergence of Foley. Krakouer still being contracted spelt the end for him.

Reports are that his preseason (at Essendon) has been impressive. Williams said on SEN this morning that he trained with Port last week. The feedback from Port's senior players was "get him".

I wish him all the best and would love to see him fire (not against Richmond though:D ). At pick 80 odd you would be better off having Rodan with a mature body and a point to prove on a one year deal than a speculative pick on a kid whom you will have to sign up for 2 years. You may well recoup the time and effort we put into him.
Thanks for your insight. I always liked Rodan as a player. I thought he was developing quite nicely until he did his knee.

He was a surprising draftee though. I would have thought maybe the pre-season draft, but not the regular draft! He's certainly a gamble, but hopefully it will pay off!

If he was our "recycled" target, it made perfect sense for us to pick him up when we did. He gets to train immediately and with the next "live" pick in the PSD in front of us, we should be able to identify one more really good talent to pick up.

He obviously has some talent - He's played for the most pathetic club in the AFL and didn't fire. We have a penchant for picking up players from other clubs and turning them around.
You will need to be the Port Adelaide Alchemists to revive Rodan.

No worries ... we always seem to have been pretty good at doing that sort of thing .... and lets face it - its not like Richmond has had much success with developing players in recent years.

Frawley couldn't teach a pig to be dirty.

Hope Rodan does well at Port as everyone speaks highly of him as a person. He just didn't develop after his first couple of years.

0,,5317677,00.jpg

Rodan's a tank. Roy and HG used to call Glen Lazarus "The brick with eyes" - Rodan's a similar stature (although much shorter - more your half-brick). He looked pretty sharp at the bit of training footage I saw, and he came across very well in his interview on 5AA yesterday.

If his cousin Fiji Bob bulks up like that, he really will look like the second coming of Mal Michael.

Advertiser article on Rodan.

He looks fit, and look at those freakin' thighs! Wonder if we can get him to use that low centre of gravity to go all Byron on a few people. :)

You mean like how Stewy did?

He looks fit, and look at those freakin' thighs! Wonder if we can get him to use that low centre of gravity to go all Byron on a few people. :)
That sort of ruthlessness is not something you can teach someone, I reckon.

Would Rodan be Fiji's answer to Jarrod Poulton? I think we're going to like his endeavour but maybe wish he had more talent.

Kane Cornes told Port to get Nathan Lonie too.

Its a natural response when people keep insisting the glass is mostly full.