- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Edmonton Oilers, Newcastle
Re: The Rodan Pick Explained
deleted - cross post

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Glad someone else picked up on this
The Port Adelaide Fijian Player Dynasty has begun!!
I'm finally back on after phone line problems and given everything that I have read so far, ain't that the truth brother.I think a few people here have been living in Adelaide too long given the negativity.........

Who would Power supporters have preferred?
Gill or Rodan?

Who would Power supporters have preferred?
Gill or Rodan?
One can only but hope its not.
But since two of our new players are from Adelaide, dont you think that its just possible that they or someone they know might just read the boards and see how some supporters of the club are **********ed off that they are to pull on the teal, black and white.

Gill has had a questionable history having been cut from 2 clubs' rookie lists and (admittedly) rumours of attitude issues. Rodan hasn't, and has played 65 AFL games.
Thanks for your insight. I always liked Rodan as a player. I thought he was developing quite nicely until he did his knee.A few thoughts on Rodan.
As you know he won 2 Morrish Medals playing midfield.
After being drafted to Richmond I had high hopes for him.
I remember watching him in his first Preseason and he was impressive. Quickly nicknamed "Hoover" by the Tiger faithful as he pounced with sure hands on any crumbs and made his way in/out of heavy traffic. Finally we looked to have found a genuine rover.
From then on under Frawley he seemed to tread water going up and down rotating between midfield and forward. At one stage Spud even tried him in the backline![]()
A lot of Richmonds draftees from that time struggled under Frawley.(ie Pettifer, Hyde) His lack of game plan, instruction, belief etc. confused the hell out of the youngsters. He never gave them enough game time in a defined role. The sure hands that Rodan had seemed to disappear and he instead he seemed to tap the ball in front of himself rather than take posession. Don't think he ever got a full game so I wouldn't read much into his stats.
When Wallace arrived Rodan was one of the most impressive in that preseason. Wallace gave him some belief back and told him he would be a starting player in the midfield. I saw some of these preseason games and he was on fire. Attitude was never a problem. He is a fantastic bloke who gives his all, the type of guy you want around your footy club.
Unfortunately, in Richmond's last preseason game he did his knee and missed all of 2005. 2006 was an average year for him as most are for someone coming back from a knee. He spent most of his time at Coburg and always copped the primary tag. He seemed to be ok in straight lines but his lateral movement and pace off the mark wasn't the same. I cant recall many players coming back from knee injuries who fire first year back. I also feel that if some of our players weren't contracted for 2007 (ie Ray Hall) then Rodan would still be on the list. The emergence of Foley. Krakouer still being contracted spelt the end for him.
Reports are that his preseason (at Essendon) has been impressive. Williams said on SEN this morning that he trained with Port last week. The feedback from Port's senior players was "get him".
I wish him all the best and would love to see him fire (not against Richmond though). At pick 80 odd you would be better off having Rodan with a mature body and a point to prove on a one year deal than a speculative pick on a kid whom you will have to sign up for 2 years. You may well recoup the time and effort we put into him.
You will need to be the Port Adelaide Alchemists to revive Rodan.He obviously has some talent - He's played for the most pathetic club in the AFL and didn't fire. We have a penchant for picking up players from other clubs and turning them around.
You will need to be the Port Adelaide Alchemists to revive Rodan.
Frawley couldn't teach a pig to be dirty.No worries ... we always seem to have been pretty good at doing that sort of thing .... and lets face it - its not like Richmond has had much success with developing players in recent years.

You mean like how Stewy did?
That sort of ruthlessness is not something you can teach someone, I reckon.He looks fit, and look at those freakin' thighs! Wonder if we can get him to use that low centre of gravity to go all Byron on a few people.![]()
You sure have been Glass Half Empty man for the last couple of years.Kane Cornes told Port to get Nathan Lonie too.