Rodney Eade

Can you elaborate WTF are you talking about?

Well, the ground "shifting" was obviously a deflection on what ultimately was an insipid performance, after getting smashed by 100 points the week before. Selection issues; I don't know why Roughhead was dropped or why Everett hasn't been playing. In terms of being out coached I think this happens pretty often, in fact, I think he gets out coached almost every time he plays a team in the top 4.

Do you reckon Leigh Matthews be able to pull a flag with this list without Adam Cooney, Brad Johnson and Dale Morris pulling on the boots and Shaun Higgins on one leg?

If any man could it'd be Lethal....but your suggestion is based on what, Matthews taking the reins for Round 22? Yeah, that's gonna happen!

Well, the ground "shifting" was obviously a deflection on what ultimately was an insipid performance, after getting smashed by 100 points the week before. Selection issues; I don't know why Roughhead was dropped or why Everett hasn't been playing. In terms of being out coached I think this happens pretty often, in fact, I think he gets out coached almost every time he plays a team in the top 4.

I am sorry, but you know F all about the dogs. Yes we have had two bad games, but we have made the top four for the year. Whether we are able to go on with that, time will tell. But your assessment of Eade has nothing to back it up.

BTW, if you watch the replay, Cooney's foot gets stuck in the turf. Eade wasn't blaming that for the game he was asked about the injury.

Ok, well where am I wrong?

Was picking Mitch Hahn a good decision? What about playing Brad Johnson? Higgins has been woeful this entire year and you haven't beaten a top 4 side.

I'd say my assessment is spot on, you're just deluded.

Ok, well where am I wrong?

Was picking Mitch Hahn a good decision? What about playing Brad Johnson? Higgins has been woeful this entire year and you haven't beaten a top 4 side.

I'd say my assessment is spot on, you're just deluded.

Mitch hahn has been a good player in the past. he played well at VFL level and the MC gave him a chance to prove himself.

Brad has been plagued by an injury but has still been a consistent performer.

Higgins - injured most of the season, inckluding a rare disease that was only recently discovered.

Dillusional - maybe but we are in the top four so have just the same chance as you have.

The great Allen Jeans use to say to his players - there are three seasons:

Home and Away
The Finals
Grand Final

I believe the H&A has been won by four clubs as they all have the double chance and the rest of the H&A means F -All

Lets see how the second season goes;)

IMO he's playing the blame game to deflect attention from the team's inept performances over the last couple of weeks.
100% spot on. If you saw Cooney's fall it could have happened to anyone on any ground- it was unfortunate, but **** happens. Eade has taken too many angry pills over the last few weeks, and his team is falling away at the wrong time of the year. There's times when I like listening to Rocket, and there's times like this...Shut up with the complaints/deflections about Cooney's injury and get a grip.

Yeah you can't blame the ground, I think Eade was just frustrated, we just lost out best player for the year....give him a break.

But on the SCG....it is really a pretend footy ground and the sooner we stop playing professional AFL footy there the better. You guys toddle off to the the big white elephant at Homebush or better still...why don't you play your share of home games in Canberra instead of sponging off us.

Lethal is like Sheedy, couldn't change with the times, they still think its the
90's.

What a crock of shit.
Spot on with Sheedy but Matthews?
No way, he delivered 3 flags and 1 GF in the 00's.
His time was just up at the Lions, he hadn't made stupid recruiting errors like Sheedy had, he was building a pretty nice list again until Vossy took control and made quite a few Sheedy type recruits.

What a crock of shit.
Spot on with Sheedy but Matthews?
No way, he delivered 3 flags and 1 GF in the 00's.
His time was just up at the Lions, he hadn't made stupid recruiting errors like Sheedy had, he was building a pretty nice list again until Vossy took control and made quite a few Sheedy type recruits.

Still think his time was up, very old fashion type of coach.

If any man could it'd be Lethal....but your suggestion is based on what, Matthews taking the reins for Round 22? Yeah, that's gonna happen!
I'm lost with what point you are trying to make.

In your post (in between talk about the importance of visiting old grandmothers) you said that Leigh Matthews could win a flag with the current WB squad.

Unless Leigh has the supernatural ability to prevent injuries to his squad then he would heading into a finals series without Cooney, Johnson, Higgins and Morris. Possibly four of their most key players. You will judge Rocket on how he goes this September I'd imagine and compare him to how Lethal would go. My question is how do you think Lethal would go with this side given their current injury woes?

I'm lost with what point you are trying to make.

That only Lethal can win a flag at the Dogs with the current crop of players (as in taking control in 2011). The window is closing and next year is probably their last chance before a rebuild....Lethal wouldn't want to do a five year stint that included a rebuild...but if he was given the opportunity to coach for 1 year, he'd be the man to grab that elusive flag.

Unless Leigh has the supernatural ability to prevent injuries to his squad then he would heading into a finals series without Cooney, Johnson, Higgins and Morris. Possibly four of their most key players. You will judge Rocket on how he goes this September I'd imagine and compare him to how Lethal would go. My question is how do you think Lethal would go with this side given their current injury woes?

I did give a brief answer. Something along the lines of "If anyone can, it'd be Lethal".

To elaborate; He would add a bit more mongrel, and that is what the Dogs lack. They are great when the game is played on their terms, fast, flashy, free flowing footy......but they can't win dirty. Lethal can add that 10% that the Doggies lack, that little bit of Hawthorn mongrel.

Maybe we crossed wires when I said Lethal and "THIS squad". What I meant was that if given the reins in 2011 with the current talent...ie: this squad (minus the obvious...Johnno, maybe Harbrow) he could add that necessary 10% and win them a flag.

Rodney needed a flag this year, he knew that, he wouldn't have recruited Barry otherwise.

Can't help but be a little cynical and think these injuries will be a great smokescreen that he will use to save his behind.

Probably almost a little relieved is Rodney.

Yeah you can't blame the ground, I think Eade was just frustrated, we just lost out best player for the year....give him a break.

But on the SCG....it is really a pretend footy ground and the sooner we stop playing professional AFL footy there the better. You guys toddle off to the the big white elephant at Homebush or better still...why don't you play your share of home games in Canberra instead of sponging off us.
The SCG has been a very good ground for the Bulldogs for a number of years, and you lose one game there then all of a sudden it's a "pretend ground":rolleyes:

As for Homebush, I'm no fan of it either, and oh yes playing Manuka as our home ground would make excellent sense? As for sponging off your club???

I have stated elsewhere and will say it again: it was sad to see Cooney go down, as I have a lot of respect for him as a player, and really love watching him play. Eade's comments about the ground were ridiculous, given that you play most of your home games on the worst white elephant/sandbox in the AFL.

Rodney needed a flag this year, he knew that, he wouldn't have recruited Barry otherwise.

Can't help but be a little cynical and think these injuries will be a great smokescreen that he will use to save his behind.

Probably almost a little relieved is Rodney.

This is crap. He'd be absolutely livid with the current situation, I mean really, can you imagine him thinking "jeeeez, I'm really glad Cooney, Morris, Higgo, Lake and Johnson are all injured or ill on the eve of the finals, it's going to take so much pressure off me when we inevitably fail"?

There season isnt over yet.

I bring attention to Collingwood in 2002 when they lost the last 4 games of the season and snuck into 4th. Flew up to Adelaide without inspirational captain Nathan Buckley and knocked off the minor premiers in a thriller.

Went on to play in a grand final and lose by 9 points. Finals is a totally different ball game.

After the Aker saga, Im hoping the Doggies get smashed in the first
final, I have no sympathy for any of them.

Lethal is like Sheedy, couldn't change with the times, they still think its the
90's.

But Lethal coached the first 3 premierships of the naughties?

As for Eade, I reckon he's ok. Talk of the Dogs falling down the ladder is a bit premature, their window is closing, but it will re-open pretty soon with the young talent currently on the list and what is to come.

They have some very good players in the 18-25 bracket, they also have Ayce Cordy already and will get Wallis and Libba as F/S. They will do very well in the draft considering they will have been Top 4 in 4 consecutive seasons but still managed to pick up Top 10 talent in several of those drafts due to F/S

If I look at the top 4, Eade is probably the only one of the coaches that does not have a "signature".

If you say,

Malthouse inititated the 10 man high rotation midfield

Thompson the play on at all costs

Lyon the frontal pressure game

Clarkson the rolling zone

Can't say the same about Eade, he seems to follow trends rather than set them.

Eade initiated the play on at all costs gamestyle which was then adopted by Geelong. Also was doing the high rotation midfield thing long before Malthouse, who has changed his spots dramatically in the last couple of years. (to his credit)

That is an interesting spin.

Greg Baum in todays Age -

"Eade's Bulldogs were trailblazers. They were playing Geelong-style football before Geelong, and were loved for it. But the Cats perfected it."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-forever-be-the-underdogs-20100823-13ij4.html

Eades main fault imo this year is he is super conservative at the selection
table. Plays the same old favorites, Eagle, Hahn, Aker, Johnson.

When all these guys were injured, (or sacked), we introduced Grant, Wood, Jones, Everitt, Roughy etc, we looked heaps faster and revitalized, we went on a big winning streak, and looked fantastic. Now Hahn and Eagle are available again and guess what, straight back in the team!, and we look slow and predictable again.:(

Mick Malthouse has had heaps more balls at the selection table this year and it's really paying off.

In Eades defense, we have had a massive run of bad luck with the bronchial thing which has prevented us from loading up on training, (or training at all) , Easton Wood , (first year player but super impressive)hammy, then Higgins thyroid illness this year, Cooney gone, Ward (OP) cant run, Morris out and Lake playing injured now, and Harbrow going down . That is a big chunk of our top tier players missing in action. Take the equivalent players out of the pies team and they would be struggling too.