Rookie Draft Discussion Thread

Currently there are about 52 players that need to be replaced on rookie lists, and another 2 rookies added to the lists of many clubs (Brisbane already had 8 on their rookie list, Carlton 6, Fremantle 5, Geelong 5, Hawthorn 5, Kangaroos 5, St. Kilda 7, Sydney 7, WCE 6) will mean a big intake this year... somewhere in the order of 80 players I'm guessing now.

Given my guess in the draft comp is as follows:

Pick 11 - Steele Sidebottom (think a couple of teams before us will go tall and a mid will slide)
Pick 29 - Dan Hannebery (more hoping that he will slide than anything)
Pick 45 - Jayden Post (see Dan Hannebery)
Pick 46 - Jordan Roughhead (with 4 boundary umps he will be big enough to ruck)
Pick 72ish - Brad Mangan

and I am assuming I will win - I'd like to see us loading up on a couple of inside mids, Patrick Hayes and maybe another ruck/forward in the rookie draft. Liam Jurrah might be another option instead of two mids.

Rookie List would then look like:

Dyas - small defender/mid
Keefe - ruck
Ruck/forward
Patrick Hayes
Liam Jurrah
Inside mid - Tom German or Bryn Weadon for example
Scott Reed - NSW Rookie - mid/defender

Given my guess in the draft comp is as follows:

Pick 11 - Steele Sidebottom (think a couple of teams before us will go tall and a mid will slide)
Pick 29 - Dan Hannebery (more hoping that he will slide than anything)
Pick 45 - Jayden Post (see Dan Hannebery)
Pick 46 - Jordan Roughhead (with 4 boundary umps he will be big enough to ruck)
Pick 72ish - Brad Mangan

and I am assuming I will win - I'd like to see us loading up on a couple of inside mids, Patrick Hayes and maybe another ruck/forward in the rookie draft. Liam Jurrah might be another option instead of two mids.

Rookie List would then look like:

Dyas - small defender/mid
Keefe - ruck
Ruck/forward
Patrick Hayes
Liam Jurrah
Inside mid - Tom German or Bryn Weadon for example
Scott Reed - NSW Rookie - mid/defender

IN many ways I love the rookie more than the real deal bc we have a great track record in there.

Re the above I would rapt if Sidebottom got to us. Hanneberry not unlikely to make 29 and they are a nice blend. Hanneberry has shot up charts but it remains to be seen whether he gets top 30. Post is live at 45 for sure. Am doing the PD and he went at 32 but think thats a tad high for an overage player. Roughead went at 26 in PD but he may still be around. I had him in my mock at 46 so hope he does make it. I love the fact you like Mangan - he is a very good 17yo footballer. A years development would be terrific.

Doing the Phantom Draft and have taken Blease and Heyne with first two. Both outside types but a heap of inside mids left of quality ( DeBoer, Broadbent, OKeefe, Shannon, Pearce, Banner, Klemke, Rounds, German) so wondering whether to take 2 and then a tall at the last pick or take the tall in the 3rd round. With Cornelius, JOhnston, Geartner as talls left and outside mids like S.Wright, Zaharkis, Sheahen then there are sure to be some excellent picks for us here.

Be interested in thoughts.

Re rookie the live selections I would like are

Dyas
Keefe
Reed
Outside mid - Anthony (WAFL player)
Inside mid - Banner may still be here or German as you all know
Ruck - Browne / Renton
In and Out - Hayes

If we get another Ruckman in the Rookie Draft how about Joel Smouha.

Video:

[YOUTUBE]jjZX9DhdliA[/YOUTUBE]

Any news on Jurrah.

IN many ways I love the rookie more than the real deal bc we have a great track record in there.

Re the above I would rapt if Sidebottom got to us. Hanneberry not unlikely to make 29 and they are a nice blend. Hanneberry has shot up charts but it remains to be seen whether he gets top 30. Post is live at 45 for sure. Am doing the PD and he went at 32 but think thats a tad high for an overage player. Roughead went at 26 in PD but he may still be around. I had him in my mock at 46 so hope he does make it. I love the fact you like Mangan - he is a very good 17yo footballer. A years development would be terrific.

Doing the Phantom Draft and have taken Blease and Heyne with first two. Both outside types but a heap of inside mids left of quality ( DeBoer, Broadbent, OKeefe, Shannon, Pearce, Banner, Klemke, Rounds, German) so wondering whether to take 2 and then a tall at the last pick or take the tall in the 3rd round. With Cornelius, JOhnston, Geartner as talls left and outside mids like S.Wright, Zaharkis, Sheahen then there are sure to be some excellent picks for us here.

Dyas
Keefe
Reed
Ruck - Browne / Renton
In and Out - Hayes

Robinson is overage and went in the top 30, maybe even 20. I would of thought a 19 year old midfielder going that high would be more strange than a KPP

If you talk about Mitch Robinson he hasnt gone yet obviously. I am a big wrap for that kid but I do liken him to Collier and he fell a little lower than was predicted. Obviously you will get the odd overage kid (19) who goes early but they are mainly younger and it would be extremely 'un Hine like' which I guess may mean it is obvious.......does that make sense?

Re Post - dont get me wrong I am a big fan and have been one of the ones 'floating his boat' but I just think inside 30 is bold for him. Got to think kids like Brown, Hill, Still etc all have a year or two on him in terms of development.

Dyas
Keefe
Reed
Ruck - Browne / Renton
In and Out - Hayes

To be fair Snoop I don't see any junior footy so all I see is videos and I take notice of what some people say on this forum such as yourself, TRS, Vic Crow etc.

With reference to Mangan, he just seems to be a good young player with the right build and attack on the ball for AFL IMO. Dave put up a video from the GF and there was one bit of play where the ball came out of the centre and he took it one touch and moved it on to a player going forward in a blink of an eye. That sort of stuff stands out to me. I think he has played most of the year at half-forward but given Murray's midfield that is understandable in my mind and I reckon he could play mid. Add that to the fact that he is Victorian and bottom-aged and he seems to fit our criteria.

I've been following the Phantom draft and like the selections of Blease and Heyne. I think they were probably best available at your selection and I agree that there seems to be a heap of inside mids this year that will be available later on.

I like Mangan in terms of his profile, but I'll be the first to admit I've seen bugger-all of his play. If he has the potential to spend more time in the midfield, so much the better. Both he and Luke Rounds, who is bottom aged and BOG in his last game of the season, and I believe ran a 2.82 20m at the state screening, are players whom I'd be keen on us looking at with #77 if we use it in the ND.

Well, yeah we can "Pass" after pick #46 (or even earlier if we're stupid enough) and then use the pick in the PSD... or we could even elevate Kevin Dyas. That's profoundly unlikely though.

Pick #77 in ND or pick #11 (or earlier if other teams' lists are full) PSD are the genuine options.

Like this guy for a Rookie Draft Chris Bock 205cm ruckman who seems to have great tap work and can take a good contested mark. Skinny as hell but put him on the Rookie List for a 2-3 season to put on the Muscle and he could be a Ripper

Video of C Bock:

[YOUTUBE]aZmSPpQ8tNU[/YOUTUBE]

DTM you've suprised me here that is actually as class a highlight vid of a young ruck as i've seen. Taps went all around the clock & to a clean take way, pack marks, quick hands, seemed to have awareness in positioning around ground.
Too good to be true does anyone have some first hand info on him?

Rookie Draft Next Week Picks?

We Know we are getting Keefe and Reed but who else could we get?

Re: Rookie Draft Next Week Picks?

Given we need a key defender, Casey Sibasado appeals although he'll probably be snapped up before our first pick.

Re: Rookie Draft Next Week Picks?

There's plenty of names out there that could've realistically gone today.

Tom Allwright
Bryce Carroll
Adam Cockie
Matt De Boer
Taylor Gilchrist
Michael Gugliotta
Kade Klemke
Zach Ledin
Matt Martin
Sam McGarry
Riley Milne
Clancee Pearce
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Zach Sengstock
Charlie Sharples
Jamie Sheahan
Casey Sibosado
Tom Simpkin
Luke Stanton
Adam Varcoe

Some of the more highly profiled names that missed out.