rookie draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter kinggaz29

Very happy with all of our picks. Wells has done a marvelous job again.

Moles is a highly athletic midfielder. Win a lot of his own footy and uses the ball pretty well.

Laidler is a fantastic pick up. Really good small forward who is dangerous around goal. Fantastic work rate and a good team player. Won calders B&F

Kangas i was so pumped to see him get picked up. When i saw him missing from the first round i thought he went in the preseason draft. Now i no we have him im pumped. Tall and athletic a real proptype player. As i said in my draft thing he runs 400m faster than Kathy Freeman.

Mumford is a great selection. REally big bodied and ready made. Can't beleive the negative feedback he is getting here. Real tireless worker who is big. Really big. Really happy to have him on our list instead of grima.

Budda, Remeber Tom hawkins?? he ha puppy fat to. Same with the Mummy. Once he gets fit and bulks up he is going to be a man child. Good replacement if Ablett doesn't come up.

Happy not to see Grima on our list. He had 2 years to show the club something and he didn't make a massive impression. Was to far behind other players at our club.

He didn't get picked up by another club which shows we are the other ones who don't rate him

Kangas!! sweet!!

I liked the look of this kid. comes from my junior club, i played with his brother this year (who isnt too bad himself.)
The Kangas boys certainly have pace. I know his brother is one of the fastest in Victoria for his age.

I'm so pumped!!

Very happy with all of our picks. Wells has done a marvelous job again.

Moles is a highly athletic midfielder. Win a lot of his own footy and uses the ball pretty well.

Laidler is a fantastic pick up. Really good small forward who is dangerous around goal. Fantastic work rate and a good team player. Won calders B&F

Kangas i was so pumped to see him get picked up. When i saw him missing from the first round i thought he went in the preseason draft. Now i no we have him im pumped. Tall and athletic a real proptype player. As i said in my draft thing he runs 400m faster than Kathy Freeman.

Mumford is a great selection. REally big bodied and ready made. Can't beleive the negative feedback he is getting here. Real tireless worker who is big. Really big. Really happy to have him on our list instead of grima.

Budda, Remeber Tom hawkins?? he ha puppy fat to. Same with the Mummy. Once he gets fit and bulks up he is going to be a man child. Good replacement if Ablett doesn't come up.

Happy not to see Grima on our list. He had 2 years to show the club something and he didn't make a massive impression. Was to far behind other players at our club.

He didn't get picked up by another club which shows we are the other ones who don't rate him

In the Ellinbank & district league he is a gun. His team mates look for him so much he doesn't have to work hard to get a kick. Very good at using his body.

He isn't a tireless worker though. Has a terrible endurance. 2 years ago his weight ballooned to 130kg. Has done well to get that back to about 110kg. He is 21 or 22 and hasn't got much if any development left in him. Couldn't get a touch in the VFL during the year as he can't keep up.

I'm happy with the other selections though. Love to know more info on Moles though.

Mumfords profile is already up on the senior list on the GFC site. Must've been given a guarantee.

In the Ellinbank & district league he is a gun. His team mates look for him so much he doesn't have to work hard to get a kick. Very good at using his body.

He isn't a tireless worker though. Has a terrible endurance. 2 years ago his weight ballooned to 130kg. Has done well to get that back to about 110kg. He is 21 or 22 and hasn't got much if any development left in him. Couldn't get a touch in the VFL during the year as he can't keep up.

I'm happy with the other selections though. Love to know more info on Moles though.

From my understanding he had a limited pre season with the VFL as well as his local club. There is no doubt his fitness wil improve in the next two years. He will also develop well with Otto showing him the ropes.

Watched a lot of VFL footy this year and the games i saw mummy he looked like he worked hard when he played. Never had enough time to really put a mark at the club.

I think with a proper AFL preseason or two mumford will really trim down and become a pretty good player for us.

And even if he doesn't work out we have really lost nothing. He is a roookie pick so no harm done

Mumfords profile is already up on the senior list on the GFC site. Must've been given a guarantee.

Pretty sure they just moved it across from the VFL part :thumbsu:

Most annoying thing is that everyone in Warragul will have to put up with his arrogance on Saturday night at the pub.:D It was bad enough when he became a "VFL player".

Chris Urie deserved a spot more.

one more annoying bloke in warragul isn't going to hurt, the joint is riddled with w*nkers.

Apparently Chris Kangars is an exceptional athlete who can't kick. So we've picked an athlete over footballer, which I dont ordinarily like, but I guess thats what the rookie draft is for

Also forgot to add that Moles is a 22 year old

Apparently Chris Kangars is an exceptional athlete who can't kick. So we've picked an athlete over footballer, which I dont ordinarily like, but I guess thats what the rookie draft is for

Yeah. I reckon we have been too conservative with our rookie picks in the past. We've picked a lot of small smalls - Byrnes, Allen, Sheringham etc. and a lot of fillers S. Hunt, Reynolds, the second coming of Slade. The last truly successful rookie pick we have had was Rooke in 2000 with a watch on Davenport in '08.

well it is all done and dusted now.....so welcome to Geelong to all our new rookies. Hope you have a great time down at the Cattery and hope you can make the most of the opportunity given.

Yeah. I reckon we have been too conservative with our rookie picks in the past. We've picked a lot of small smalls - Byrnes, Allen, Sheringham etc. and a lot of fillers S. Hunt, Reynolds, the second coming of Slade. The last truly successful rookie pick we have had was Rooke in 2000 with a watch on Davenport in '08.

Matty Egan isn't successful???

Thats right, it is for a bit of risk taking on kids that are being picked late because they have some sort of deficency in their game, with the hope it can be overcome.

In the case of Kangars its footskills.

From what I know, some of you weren't the only ones that didnt think Shane Mumford was fit enough. Apparently even Leigh Tudor didnt want him back until he fronted up and showed him how much work he had doen and how fit he now is. You may be presently suprised. I wrote a bit about him in the "Shane Mumford" thread.

OMFG! Not happy getting Mumford! Dominates country footy at Bunyip because he big and fat. Can't believe we picked this dud before Grima.:thumbsd:
****ing hell. Not happy. I really wanted us to get Toddy back!
Anyone get Bellchambers?

Bhudda you haven't seen mumford in twleve months and this guy is about a hundred kilos and super ripped. he had a run in a 3km time trial with the geelong seniors a fortnight ago and came twelfth. thats out of the whole vfl team. you watch all your words blow up in your face.

From what I know, some of you weren't the only ones that didnt think Shane Mumford was fit enough. Apparently even Leigh Tudor didnt want him back until he fronted up and showed him how much work he had doen and how fit he now is. You may be presently suprised. I wrote a bit about him in the "Shane Mumford" thread.

Thanks for that mate...I read that and it was useful...:thumbsu:

Goodness...a helpful hawk supporter on Big Footy...whats the world coming to!