Preview Rookie Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Deanos

I like the use of the rookie draft for mature picks. I think it was obvious when we used our 2nd and 3rd pick in the ND on mature players that we would go down the same path with the rookie draft that we did last year.

I reckon the Saints have done very well throughout the draft & rookie draft. Templeton & Weller on top of Billings, Dunstan & Acres could be the foundations of their next midfield.​

We only drafted one player from this years crop. We must have thought it was utter shit.
LoL,I think in part due to where our list is at,After years of culling,Part to do with this years talent for sure and also in part with what next year being the 1st year in 5yrs that the draft is uncompromised(Mini draft,Gws/Gc conc etc).

Acres didn't fall to pick 50,so we took the next best thing in Miles.

Not sure where that comparison comes from, Acres was 190ish and Miles is around the 180 mark
He was in the All Australian side in 2010 at U18 level so must have some ability

So two fringe players who couldn't get a game at other clubs we've added, Miles seems okay though on paper.
Would've liked some kids.

We clearly weren't the only ones that didn't rate the junior talent on offer. At least we have filled up our list and not passed on any selections like we have done a few years back

Not sure where that comparison comes from, Acres was 190ish and Miles is around the 180 mark
He was in the All Australian side in 2010 at U18 level so must have some ability
Sorry mate should have put a :D at the end of it.:D

Happy to back Miles in...
GWS have quite a few "of his type" - Bugg, Green, Coniglio etc...

This guy is still young and might replace Axel IMO.

Heard he has quit Westies and signed with an Ametuer club in Adelaide for next season...
Maybe realise his dream has past and just going to enjoy his footy
That's a surprise,Maybe to play with his brother Shane perhaps.

So we picked up four half forward flankers/forward pockets this year. Seems like alot?

Now we have King, S Edwards, A Edwards, B O'Hanlon, M McDounough plys these 4. That's almost a quarter of the list.Hopefully it means McDonough, O'Hanlon, Ellis and S Edwards play more midfield time this year.

Outside our best 22, our midfield depth is pretty ordinary with Tuck and White leaving. Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Jackson, Conca, Foley and Grigg are all best 22 mids. S Edwards, Ellis and Newman can rotate through. The quality outside the best 22 drops dramatically in Arnott, Thomas, Helbig, Williams and Miles.

We clearly weren't the only ones that didn't rate the junior talent on offer. At least we have filled up our list and not passed on any selections like we have done a few years back
The junior talent has hope though, Thomas and Banfield are average players at best.