Rookie Draft

Obviously i'm exaggerating slightly but the trend is heading towards bigger players. Someone around 191cm-192cm is not going to be able to man-handle a defender then leap above the loose defender ala Tom Hawkins. I'm glad we went for the 200cm fellas.

That's not necessarily height based. Consider Roughy at 193cm for example (was listed at 192cm for his 08 flag at least). It's physical strength and athletic capacity that define how they might handle the contest. A bit of height just makes it easier.

Just adding to what i said earlier about Hurley, I believe we shouldn't sign him tomorrow. He arrived in Australia less than two weeks ago and his trial finishes on Friday. Let him go back to Ireland (if he wants) and let him take his time deciding his future. It's a big decision for him not only leaving home like our other draftees but moving to another country and giving up the sport he has loved his entire life. It's just too rushed if we do sign him tomorrow IMO and now the rules allow us extra time to decide I don't see any reason not to take our time.

Hey all, first time poster to big footy.

Just thinking surely Pauly Bower is worth a crack is he not? Has always been an attacking backmen type who is tall enough to fill that 3rd tall role (for which we could use more backmen). Been watching him at Peel Thunder and he is very precise with his kicking and is tall enough to be a KPD, surely he's worth a crack at only 25 years of age in the rookie draft?

Welcome aboard!

Many have said watching Peel this year that he was a better prospect than Faulks.

Wouldn't be against him being 1 of the 3 Rookies at his age.

Welcome aboard!

Many have said watching Peel this year that he was a better prospect than Faulks.

Wouldn't be against him being 1 of the 3 Rookies at his age.

Thanks mate!
Have been following the threads for a couple of years now and only just managed to find the motivation to create an account lol :thumbsu:

Definitely worth a rookie spot, experienced head and would thrive at Subi. With Luke not likely to provide as much rebound as he has in the past it couldn't hurt to pick him up.

Definite afl quality IMO. Reckon we'd be able to get him with our last pick as well.

A few names that we should consider and 1 or 2 have been previously mentioned
The hidden gems are hard to find but these have just stood out to me and I think all will be drafted
So here goes
1. Steve Edwards Claremont 182 cm 73 kgs mid forward
this kid as the best side step , evasion skills and pure speed . Great vision and kicks goals .

2 .Jake Greiser Western Jets 180cm 88 kgs inside mid
Gets the ball dishes off or breaks through packs and is so hard at it .terrific at getting the hands free and an elite running machine

3. Max Hayes Sandringham Dragons 192 cm 86 kgs forward mid
Think of Jack Darling and weight for age he is a fierce competitor likes to hit the pack and take competitive marks . has good tank and a kick like a mule 55 metres no worries .

4. Darcy Houigan South Adelaide 192 cm 92 kgs HF,CHF
All Australian u\18
could be another Pav . good speed on the lead and big hands great contested mark and terrific below the knees , keeps his feet in a contest and very reliable kick for goal.

5. Liam Jacka North Adelaide 180cm 73 kgs Midfielder
MVP winner ,missed out on U\18 champs but wanted to show the selectors they made a big mistake
He will need time to develop but as a big heart and wants is so badly you can taste it.

6. Jake Owen Calder Cannons 191 cm 84 kgs Inside mid
Known as the Crazy Man because his commitment to the contest is all or nothing ,fearless in the fray of battle and will risk everything to get the ball for the team a real smokee

7 . Willi Rioli South Fremantle 175cm 88 kgs Forward Flank or Forward pocket
15 games 40 goals 13 games 36 goals says it all .
Yes he is small and he is carrying some extra weight but a full preseason and you will see all that go .
Look to family history and we can't go past that.

8. Josh Scott Vic country 190 cm 87 kgs Forward
56 goals in 19 games .
This kid is perfect development material for our midfield as he has the size weneed and again 2 good preseasons to develop the tank and we have a ready made goal kicking inside midfielder

Another with an honourable mention I hate to say it is Tippett ,brother of he has a very good write up I just don't know if he has learnt from the Gold Coast experience enough .

So bring it on and lets talk ;)

Welcome aboard and please have a say .
Its nice to have you join us and can't wait for more posts by you .
I agree that Paul is not bad and may get a go playing in purple

The hidden gems are hard to find but these have just stood out to me and I think all will be drafted
So here goes
this kid as the best side step , evasion skills and pure speed . Great vision and kicks goals .

Gets the ball dishes off or breaks through packs and is so hard at it .terrific at getting the hands free and an elite running machine

Think of Jack Darling and weight for age he is a fierce competitor likes to hit the pack and take competitive marks . has good tank and a kick like a mule 55 metres no worries .

All Australian u\18
could be another Pav . good speed on the lead and big hands great contested mark and terrific below the knees , keeps his feet in a contest and very reliable kick for goal.

MVP winner ,missed out on U\18 champs but wanted to show the selectors they made a big mistake
He will need time to develop but as a big heart and wants is so badly you can taste it.

Known as the Crazy Man because his commitment to the contest is all or nothing ,fearless in the fray of battle and will risk everything to get the ball for the team a real smokee

Yes he is small and he is carrying some extra weight but a full preseason and you will see all that go .

56 goals in 19 games .
This kid is perfect development material for our midfield as he has the size weneed and again 2 good preseasons to develop the tank and we have a ready made goal kicking inside midfielder

Another with an honourable mention I hate to say it is Tippett ,brother of he has a very good write up I just don't know if he has learnt from the Gold Coast experience enough .

Impressive Coulda impressive.

I look forward to your Phantom Draft next year.

So here goes

All Australian u\18

56 goals in 19 games .

I am not sure Willi Rioli is a great fit for us, since we have so many forward pockets but I think a club like West Coast Eagles who needs another forward pocket could do worse than pick him up. Give him 1 year, if he works hard you could get something very special.

Can you tell me which of the above players has good to elite skills, as I do not think we should draft anyone who has worse skills than Barlow.

I am not sure Willi Rioli is a great fit for us, since we have so many forward pockets but I think a club like West Coast Eagles who needs another forward pocket could do worse than pick him up. Give him 1 year, if he works hard you could get something very special.

Can you tell me which of the above players has good to elite skills, as I do not think we should draft anyone who has worse skills than Barlow.

Is that meant to be anyone whose skills are not as good as Mick's ?

Steven Edwards. And that's it. The others are undersized key forwards with no midfield game, or vanilla midfielders who offer less than Schloithe did.

I'd almost use the rookie draft as a way of making Peel more competitive. Get some guys in who might never play for us, but will aid the development of our kids. I think that was a big reason for the Lester-Smith rookie nomination. Someone like Chris Cain would offer the same, probably win the Peel B&F in 2014 and take the pressure off our younger midfielders. That's probably the main reason you'd be picking either Tippett or Thorp too.

Otherwise, a tall defender to develop along with Steven Edwards would be enough for me.

Steven Edwards. And that's it. The others are undersized key forwards with no midfield game, or vanilla midfielders who offer less than Schloithe did.

Chris ,how do you think Charlie Cameron measures up.I've watched him in the WAFL and think he is really hard at it with a good skills set.Would appreciate your opinion

He's one of the better small forward options. Has that extra bit of size that other's don't, what with being over 180cm. He'd be a handy rookie to develop. Has nice skills and a strong defensive game. Crazy that the Eagles would upgrade someone like Jamie Bennell, when Cameron could be had as a rookie.

So here goes

He's been playing on the half back flank. He's been in that role since about 2010. It works well for him because, as others have said, he has that ability to carry the ball up the ground. He'll never win a contest and mark it (but how many defenders do?), but he'll make it spill to the ground where he's capable of two options: scoop it up quickly and drill it as soon as to an option, or use his speed or side-step to get out of the pack and find a target.

The negative is that this is mostly attack-minded. Which is always good in a half back flanker, a bit of a Duffield-mentality. But in a true defensive setting, if he's sucked back into a pocket or towards the square, he doesn't have the instinct to really defend. Doesn't read the play by knowing what loose forwards to pick up, that kind of stuff. He used to get sucked up the ground and try and involve himself in offensive runs and leave his forward alone. He's fast, but not fast enough to run back to the blue 50 from the red one.

I have heard picking him is elementary and I think he might've just been nominated by the least amount of clubs necessary (five) to do the combine. The swarming, high intensity, tackle-loving Freo won't let him go the Seedsman route and have him a half-back only on the magnetic board. He could be a nice little defender if the staff really pound that defensive element into him.

Mark Macgugan:
Some news just in: Delisted Fremantle player Josh Mellington has withdrawn his nomination for today's PSD and rookie drafts.

He has reached a settlement with Fremantle and will remain in his home state of Victoria next year. He is intending to play in the VFL.

That is as per a statement just sent out by Mellington's management, via the AFLPA.

Rookie Draft