Rookie draft

• Thread starter Thread starter mojo31

Another player trainiing with carlton atm is Chris Cain, very talented footballer been hit with few injuries lately.

Would be a great pick up if we rookied him!! Seen enough of him to comment Mojo?

cfc05 said:
Another player trainiing with carlton atm is Chris Cain, very talented footballer been hit with few injuries lately.

Would be a great pick up if we rookied him!! Seen enough of him to comment Mojo?

If he is training with us, why isnt his name in the paper today?Flint,Jackson,Looby,McLaren,Simpkin,Thomas, are the players named in the heraldsun today.No mention of Cain at all.

Mate go ahead and believe everything the Herald Sun has to say..... you will turn out to be one very mis-informed reader.

Did you believe whitnall and Stevens were the ONLY two to wear jackets when they climbed Mt Stirling last week?? The sun said so - just so you know half wore them.

Anyone who was at training today would of seen Chris Cain training very strongly, so don't believe me if you want Irish_sentana but other members can be assured he is training very well and is an outside chance of been rookie listed.

cfc05 said:
Mate go ahead and believe everything the Herald Sun has to say..... you will turn out to be one very mis-informed reader.

Did you believe whitnall and Stevens were the ONLY two to wear jackets when they climbed Mt Stirling last week?? The sun said so - just so you know half wore them.

Anyone who was at training today would of seen Chris Cain training very strongly, so don't believe me if you want Irish_sentana but other members can be assured he is training very well and is an outside chance of been rookie listed.

ease up mate. I don't think he was calling you a liar ... simply questioning why the reason why his name wasn't listed.

cfc05 said:

What arent you aloud to ask questions anymore?As for who wears jackets and who doesnt, who gives a ********, i only asked a question, so get off your high horse and just answer it ok.

irish_setanta said:
What arent you aloud to ask questions anymore?As for who wears jackets and who doesnt, who gives a ********, i only asked a question, so get off your high horse and just answer it ok.

If you were allowed to be so loud then you could go to Austria and work for Nicki Lauda.

cfc05 said:

Firstly hello to Cain if its you. If not then I am guessing you are a friend or relative of Chris.

Are you a St. Kevins player as well?

Saw Chris play for Vic Metro and has some ability. Not overally tall at 181 but is a bit of a ball magnet.
Saw him really play well for Oakleigh against the Northern Knights later in the season. Laidlaw was also good that day.
Played on the wing and a run on the ball as well.

Pity I did not see him play much as I saw Oakleigh a number of times to watch Dowler and Murphy.

I understand Chris had a back injury which restricted him at the start of the year and then with school football committemnets did not play many games for Oakleigh.

Not sure if he is training with us or not. But some of these kids move around from club to club and train with a few.
Matt Thomas was at Port and now training with us this week. Looby also was training elsewhere and was the hard session on Thursday.

Speaking to someone at Carlton they have noticed Chris and he will be 1 of the considerations for there 2nd rookie pick.

chewy-on-your-boot said:
If you were allowed to be so loud then you could go to Austria and work for Nicki Lauda.

Very intelligent comments.

Just like what you wrote here

Re: Murphy V Deledio

Brett will walk all over Murphy....................if Murphy gets a game.

The spin doctors have done the job for Murphy for this draft. He must be the weakest No 1 draft pick ever. Injuries to other mid fielders for this years Carnival left him in the spotlight, but how Richie Douglas didn't get the accolades for his great carnival and the rest of the season I don't know.

Dougo won the coaches because he was the player that dominated the games that the Cannons won.

Dougo won the B&F at the Cannons with the highest votes yet polled at that sensational club.

Dougo killed them in the carnival yet no-one wrote him up about it.

Murphy hardly got a few kicks and did well but yet he was written up as the star. ??????????????????

Murphy is a great kid, but no where near the standard that everyone 'in the know' talks about.

He is the son of a 'gun' so he went high on the list. When will the recruiters learn that because dad was a footballer.....it has nothing to do with his son's talent or drive............just ask Murph's mum...its not all because of John.

If Dougo's dad had played footy he would have been number one.

No one mentions the mother......who may well be the daughter of a footy great...or the sister of a footy great.............they only mention the spotlight seeking former footballer dad.

Time will tell and good luck to him but...........

Delidio is the real deal mate, he just beats the opposition to the ball and then he kicks it to his team mates..........every time.

Murphy is a furphy and Carlton have been sucked in.

Thanks for the fun. Come back anytime. :thumbsu:

mojo31 said:
Very intelligent comments.

Just like what you wrote here

Re: Murphy V Deledio

Brett will walk all over Murphy....................if Murphy gets a game.

The spin doctors have done the job for Murphy for this draft. He must be the weakest No 1 draft pick ever. Injuries to other mid fielders for this years Carnival left him in the spotlight, but how Richie Douglas didn't get the accolades for his great carnival and the rest of the season I don't know.

Dougo won the coaches because he was the player that dominated the games that the Cannons won.

Dougo won the B&F at the Cannons with the highest votes yet polled at that sensational club.

Dougo killed them in the carnival yet no-one wrote him up about it.

Murphy hardly got a few kicks and did well but yet he was written up as the star. ??????????????????

Murphy is a great kid, but no where near the standard that everyone 'in the know' talks about.

He is the son of a 'gun' so he went high on the list. When will the recruiters learn that because dad was a footballer.....it has nothing to do with his son's talent or drive............just ask Murph's mum...its not all because of John.

If Dougo's dad had played footy he would have been number one.

No one mentions the mother......who may well be the daughter of a footy great...or the sister of a footy great.............they only mention the spotlight seeking former footballer dad.

Time will tell and good luck to him but...........

Delidio is the real deal mate, he just beats the opposition to the ball and then he kicks it to his team mates..........every time.

Murphy is a furphy and Carlton have been sucked in.

Thanks for the fun. Come back anytime. :thumbsu:

Mojo whats your view on this, you have seen Murphy play a few times so who would you compare him to, did he have some standout games and do you think he is up there with the previous number 1 picks?

cypher said:
To get another early pick we just have to convince Laidley Lance was a former Hawk.:p

Alex Lee?

Cheers.

No way Laidley would take Lance. He is to young and might actually still be able to play.

You will get your Alex Lee profile NEXT year. :D

Blue70 said:
Mojo whats your view on this, you have seen Murphy play a few times so who would you compare him to, did he have some standout games and do you think he is up there with the previous number 1 picks?

Seen Murphy play at the games or on tape a number of times (over 10).

From last year I would have Deledio and Griffen in front of him. I would have taken Murphy at 3 behind those 2.

Would have taken Murphy at 2 in 2003 behind Cooney.

Dont worry about Marc he is already up at the very front at training and will play (barring injury) most of the season. Has such clean ball handling and skills. A few training watchers are surprised how good he is and better even than they thought.
The question mark on fitness seems to be completely unfounded and he just took it easy at draft camp with a sore knee.
All he needs is about 5 kgs on his upper body and will get them after 2 pre seasons.

He is not arrogant and is just a very professional player who works hard and will lift the standard at Carlton and start to create that professional attitude we need. All the kids we got this year are terrific young blokes.

Anyone who watched the draft video and saw the pathetic highlights of Marc with 2 helicopter punts dont be worried by that. Would kick those 2 times a season and the AFL in its wisdom decided to show them.
Is a very good kick on both sides of his body.

I would compare him to Ben Cousins in his ability to win the hard ball and also link up and run away from the pack. Does not have the absolute fitness of Cousins yet abd will need a couple of years.
Same size when he builds up and similar style.
Complete midfielder who is the best player at extracting the ball from a stoppage in the draft. Off the pack, ruck contests and he anticipates and keeps his balance better than anyone else in the draft.
Very good footwork and great agility to evade a tackle. Good pace (quicker than people seem to think he is) and very good skills from either foot and by hand.
Clever around goals and has a good leap. Very tough player who will never shirk a contest and loves it hard.

OZBomb said:
A bit of a smokey but what where your thoughts, Mojo, on Darren Crawford as a small defender option for the 2nd pick in the Rookie Draft.

Seems to really have footy smarts and a decent turn of pace. Was invited to play in the Vics vs Allies game meaning there was some interest there. Not sure how he went at state screening in Tassie.

Have not seen Crawford play. Had a screening and looking at his results they were not to good.
Poor in the endurance and leap. Okay in the sprints.

Sorry I cant help you more with him. Saw the game but dont remember him from it. Not in my notes.

irish_setanta said:

Can question it all you like, fact of the matter is he trained with the blues yesterday. Speaking to Marc Murphy last night, he will be down there again today.

Was using the jackets as an example of how the papers will twist stories to get some readers on slow news days. I dont work for the Herald Sun so i cant "just answer" your question, i was just trying to update you on who is down at the club and been looked at.

Mojo, who do you think carlton are likely to pick on Tuesday? (given we are taking Mclaren.)

cfc05 said:
Can question it all you like, fact of the matter is he trained with the blues yesterday. Speaking to Marc Murphy last night, he will be down there again today.

Was using the jackets as an example of how the papers will twist stories to get some readers on slow news days. I dont work for the Herald Sun so i cant "just answer" your question, i was just trying to update you on who is down at the club and been looked at.

Mojo, who do you think carlton are likely to pick on Tuesday? (given we are taking Mclaren.)

The Pre-Season Draft is held before the rookie draft. So depends who is left over for rookie listing. Hardly any quality in the PSD as far as experienced players so a few clubs will be taking kids.
I would guess at least 5 kids will be taken there.

After that it is likely to be pretty even. Simpkin and Thomas would be around the mark. Matt White would not surprise.
I dont think Ryan Jackson will be available and be already gone.

Great stuff Mojo, best insight to young Marc yet.
Do you think he will have ability to turn a game around off his own boot?
Thanks
:)

cfc05 said:

Hard session yesterday. Plenty of circuit work and sprinting. Good luck to Chris.

The Lance stuff was absolute garbage. He is on a modifield program due to a midl case of OP which flared up at the end of last year. Was told to rest and same with Stevens who had a bad groin.
If they dont rest they get get injured and there season is basically shot.

So natural to gain a few kgs but not like the Sun reported.

Anyone who knows Nick will say he likes a beer and a good time and is never in good shape when he comes back. But always does all of the training and by round 1 is in absolute peak condition and hardly ever misses a game and runs the season out well. Very professional player once the pre season starts.

Lance is someone we all worry about but he is in much better shape than in 2001 to 2004. He is never going to be "cut" or be out front in the running but is doing the work and some swimming and bike riding to make sure he does not blow up with a full case of OP.

For the people wondering about the young blokes

Walker has built up a lot. Russell is at least 5 kgs heavier and will be pushing for senior selection in round 1. Very hard trainer and shows leadership out on the track.
Luke Blackwell is still a kid but his body is coming along. Doubt he will play first up in the seniors but expect him to play in the 2nd part of the season.

Edwards is in front of expectations and might push up for selection later on.

Hartlett is starting to shine at pre-season and show his ability after not showing much in 2005. Beautiful hands and a real genuine leap at the ball. Be pushing 100kgs now and is a very solid boy.

The senior group overall looks slimmer and more athletic and quicker.
Murphy is a standout. Bentick is a pocket rocket and will be hurting some blokes in 2006.

bmaurizio said:
Great stuff Mojo, best insight to young Marc yet.
Do you think he will have ability to turn a game around off his own boot?
Thanks
:)

Marc is faster than I thought looking at him in the pre-season. Fitter than I thought and is in the first 5 in most of the running drills (Chambers is usually first).

His kicking is even better than I thought and his ball handling is class. Picks the ball up and has the time and disposes of it like Nick Stevens.
Pretty good for an 18 year old.

Had him clearly as the number 1 pick a few months ago. Absolute class player and class bloke.

Now after seeing him a bit more I would be rating him higher now and say the gap between he and Ellis/Thomas is wider now.

If I was offered Ellis and Thomas for Marc Murphy I would have to think about it.

Josh Kennedy seemed to think he had a while left before his shoulder reached 100% again, any up to date information on where he is at MOJO??
Was interesting to hear him say his main goal for 06 was to get his shoulder right.

mojo31 said:
No way Laidley would take Lance. He is to young and might actually still be able to play.

You will get your Alex Lee profile NEXT year. :D
Thanks and I want Hansen as well.

Has anyone asked about Craig Flint yet? Can't be bothered reading through the whole thread.:o

cfc05 said:
Josh Kennedy seemed to think he had a while left before his shoulder reached 100% again, any up to date information on where he is at MOJO??
Was interesting to hear him say his main goal for 06 was to get his shoulder right.

Josh did not have a full reconstruction on his shoulder. He has no tendon damage (the part that attaches the muscle to the bone) but had ligament damage (they join bones to other bones). That was what was repaired.

He does not have the Nick Holland shoulder problem.

Will have the sling off by January (at the latest) and be running full time.

Knew it at draft camp when he was examined that he had shoulder problems and had a pretty big effect on his testing there.
So some of his slowish sprint times and overall avaerage testing I am going to take with a grain of salt.
Did not look slow in his games and is a very hard worker.

Good luck to the defenders filling in the hole in front of him in 2007 to 2017. Hope you will enjoy the 100 plus kilos that will hit you at full force any chance he gets.

Good bloke but geez does he like the body contact and rough stuff.

Bower and Kennedy have white line fever. :thumbsu:

mojo31 said:
Have not seen Crawford play. Had a screening and looking at his results they were not to good.
Poor in the endurance and leap. Okay in the sprints.

Sorry I cant help you more with him. Saw the game but dont remember him from it. Not in my notes.

I figured the results wouldn't be too good as his name hasn't been floated since... much like Todd's brother Nathan who plays CHB for the Devils in the VFL.

cfc05 said:

Witnessed a young Chris Cain rip through the APS for a weak St Kevins first XVIII in Yr 10 before his back problems. Excellent footballer, if he was picked up and given a chance to get back to full fitness he would be an absolute steal.

Mojo, what are your thoughts on skills for Bower and Edwards.
Do these kids look to have solid basic skills kicking, marking.
Got a feeling they may well turn out to be big plus for us.
What’s your gut feel?
Appreciate the effort you making in updating us.
:thumbsu:

cypher said:
Thanks and I want Hansen as well.

Has anyone asked about Craig Flint yet? Can't be bothered reading through the whole thread.:o

Flint is here

Craig Flint from Gippsland Power. Played mostly full back for the TAC champions. Is pretty top aged and turned 18 in August.

Is listed at 189cms and is reasonable well built without being big. Is about Marcus Drum size without having the extra long arms that Drum has.

I would have liked to see him play some other positions more often. Occasingly moved out to the HBF but with Xavier Ellis playing there when not playing school football and future gun in Lachlan Hansen absolutely dominating at CHB his job was made pretty easy.

He is however like Drum a very good organiser of the backline. Is constantly yelling out and telling defenders where to move to.
Nothing particularly special about his skills or athleticism. Just a very good orgainser and reader of the play. Would struggle to play HBF in the AFL and to have the size and strength to play full back.
Is a team player who can get out and make some play and will back himself in with a bounce and run. Some chance there to develop as a third tall defender. Doubt he would have the motor to be able to be a run with player.
Another in between size and it would seem with selecting Edwards that he would have that spot taken.

I see that you Cypher have been baiting "Sammy Sheldons best friend" in Jonhson_26.
You should be ashamed of yourself. Picking on a kid who can hardly hold a crayon let alone form words and whole sentences. :D

Keep up the good work. :thumbsu:
He deserves it. An absolute goose is that kid.

bmaurizio said:
Mojo, what are your thoughts on skills for Bower and Edwards.
Do these kids look to have solid basic skills kicking, marking.
Got a feeling they may well turn out to be big plus for us.
What’s your gut feel?
Appreciate the effort you making in updating us.
:thumbsu:

Edwards is more advanced than I thought. Bigger and has filled out quite a bit and is not an "Anthony Raso" type.
Is very fast in his first few steps which is a huge advantage for a player. Needs to improve his kicking and his endurnace but they are both better than I thought they would be.
Is very good above his head and going with his speed he is a pretty exciting package. Got that bit about him to with the way he handles himself.

Bower looks taller than 192. Big already in hus body. Square jaw and Maori blood in him. Might end up as a "power" player. Looks different than he did at Championships when he was leaner and shorter.
Might be a legititmate CHB who will be able to play body on body on the J Brown/Tredrea types. Since he is still 17 and growing he will be a very big unit when finished.
He is a good mark and his kicking is okay. Has good footwork and pretty agile.

He will need close to the whole season in the VFL and slowly develop. Might push up for games in the last bit of the season.