Rookie Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter DanA

Hope we get either Hurley or Batsanis.

Batsanis won the Chargers B & F and had a cracker in the TAC GF racking up 38 touches and kicking 3 goals.

Hurley played 16 senior SANFL games , was All Australian and captained Bryce Gibbs in the carnival. Ball magnet.

Both offer more than the tried and tested Yacka and Reynolds. Everyone expects these blokes to change clubs and become superstars. It just doesn't happen very often. Give the kids a go I say.

Batsanis won the Chargers B & F and had a cracker in the TAC GF racking up 38 touches and kicking 3 goals.

Hurley played 16 senior SANFL games , was All Australian and captained Bryce Gibbs in the carnival. Ball magnet.

Both offer more than the tried and tested Yacka and Reynolds. Everyone expects these blokes to change clubs and become superstars. It just doesn't happen very often. Give the kids a go I say.

I dont think so at all Rosso . In fact I doubt if anyone really believes this. Has there been a heap of examples of these type picks becoming stars? I dont think so.

You pick players like Reynolds or yakka because they have already shown they can at least compete at the highest level and they have years of prep already built into their bodies. That maybe , just maybe , that with fresh surrounds they have potential to become a regular AFL players , not stars ,
but solid contributers.
Sanderson, McGrath, Sholl is far more likely than a Greg Williams or a Gary Ablett

I like Batsanis as well. His foot dispossal is top draw.Yes he played a great game in the U18GF but recently I revisited Tom Hawkins first game in U18Champs in which he kicked 6 against SA. On two occasions Batsanis hit Hawkins with ripper passes to set him up for shots at goal , but with the PSD and several picks before us I doubt he will be available for our first Rookie pick.
Hurley might have potential as well , it wouldnt be the first time a kid has slipped thru at his size.

I personally would also be happy with batsanis or hurley and if they arent there then a young untried guy that we can develop. I am not that keen on recycling average players through the rookies as I am not sure where the improvement will come from.

I dont think so at all Rosso . In fact I doubt if anyone really believes this. Has there been a heap of examples of these type picks becoming stars? I dont think so.

You pick players like Reynolds or yakka because they have already shown they can at least compete at the highest level and they have years of prep already built into their bodies. That maybe , just maybe , that with fresh surrounds they have potential to become a regular AFL players , not stars ,
but solid contributers.
Sanderson, McGrath, Sholl is far more likely than a Greg Williams or a Gary Ablett

Yeah fair enough but I'd rather have Lonners and 3 fresh untried youngsters than a couple of guys that have been delisted by their original suitors. Who knows, the next Dean Cox/Aaron Davey might be out there. Be a shame to miss on them for a possible battler.

Reynolds was at Essendon for 4 years, appears to have had enough time to settle, but didn't. On the other hand Yakka was in the system for 2 years only. Surely the kid deserved another year at Collingwood, especially when he won their award for their best Willi player. The trouble was Mick Malthouse, short sighted vision with no strategic long term outlook. Bytheway, this kid does the 20Mt sprint in 2.89 seconds. Came second at Collinwood to Sean Rusling....Played most of his footy for Calder at half back not the middle. He's strong. quick and unafraid...

Both offer more than the tried and tested Yacka and Reynolds. Everyone expects these blokes to change clubs and become superstars. It just doesn't happen very often.

A few names then

Steven Armstrong - won a flag
Tom Harley
Josh Mahoney - flag
I am sure there are plenty more who have changed clubs and done allright.
Although i do tend to agree with you about these 2. But you never know.

I know Im big on rucks but is there any ideas on other indigenious kids we can add to our group.

I rememeber a couple of kids from the Champs that took my eye
Dean D1ck ; another strong looking kid rather than the more usual short,twig shape. I seem to remember him playing across the half back line probably could develop into tallish flanker or a biggish on baller.

Jethro CalmaHolt ; took a huge hanger for NT , kicked quite a few goals and is player that might be that non-standard inventive forward that is hard to judge when drafting but if we are looking for big upside he may be the kid

Mat Virgo ; Not sure of his height he may be smallish but was impressive around goals was again not going to need years in the gym

David Fanning was someone like that. Basketball background who had been in the system a short time. I think his disposal wasnt up to it in the end.
We would of kept Street but what was offered for him was too good to knock back. I bet the doggies were looking at offloading him halfway through the season aswell. But in the end they lost everyone over 6'4" so they had to play him and he played O.K. at times.

I wouldnt give up on Blake just yet. I want to watch him in the preseason cup and see what the preseason training has done for him.
But im not sure if Bazza is the best ruck coach we could have.
Why Sammy is not down there is beyond me. He seems to be at every other club but ours. It would also give him an insight into what goes on down there and stop him shooting his mouth off about things he doesnt have all the facts about.

I know Im big on rucks but is there any ideas on other indigenious kids we can add to our group.

I rememeber a couple of kids from the Champs that took my eye
Dean D1ck ; another strong looking kid rather than the more usual short,twig shape. I seem to remember him playing across the half back line probably could develop into tallish flanker or a biggish on baller.

Jethro CalmaHolt ; took a huge hanger for NT , kicked quite a few goals and is player that might be that non-standard inventive forward that is hard to judge when drafting but if we are looking for big upside he may be the kid

Mat Virgo ; Not sure of his height he may be smallish but was impressive around goals was again not going to need years in the gym

Story on CC is that the club has told D1ck it will pick him up and has even decked him out in the Cats gear already. However, only one source and not verified.

Other possibilities might include:
- Daniel Hayes, who is apparently a super quick yet super skinny winger type
- Sharrod Wellingham, same
- Jarrod Harbrow, same again
- Trevor Oliver, stronger bodied, clean hands

Virgo is short and built like an absolute brick sh1thouse. Not sure there is too much upside there. I think the highly skilled, quick, but skinny blokes like Hayes, Harbrow and Wellingham could be the best value. Would prefer over 6 feet given we already have Byrnes, Stokes and Djerrkura, so I think Wellingham at 185cm could be the one for mine.

OK, so given the rookie draft is tomorrow, what are people's predictions?

For me:
1. Sheringham/Wellingham/Harbrow/Vasilevski
2. Davenport
3. D1ck/Adam Cockshell
4. Lonergan

From what I have read, he is an 18yo indigenous wingman from WA who is a good size - 186cm, 86kg - and super quick.

That's all I know, but sounds good so far.

Reynolds worries me, but I like the sound of Bedford and I thin Davenport is a very good pickup.

That sounds pretty good. I'm pretty disappointed we picked Davenport. I think Iacobucci would have been a much better pick.

Surely we could have picked Reynolds a little further down the list?

Someone please tell me why we picked up Reynolds? Iacobucci would have been a much better option. We've already got Gardiner, we don't need Reynolds. I'm happy with Davenport though and i'll give this Bedford guy a shot. Lonergan was as to be expected.

Someone please tell me why we picked up Reynolds? Iacobucci would have been a much better option. We've already got Gardiner, we don't need Reynolds. I'm happy with Davenport though and i'll give this Bedford guy a shot. Lonergan was as to be expected. But didn't we need to pick up another one? We had five rookies this year with one veteran (Ricco) and now we have four rookies with one veteran (Milburn).

Grima is still on the rookie list.

Someone please tell me why we picked up Reynolds? Iacobucci would have been a much better option. We've already got Gardiner, we don't need Reynolds. I'm happy with Davenport though and i'll give this Bedford guy a shot. Lonergan was as to be expected.

Gardiner won't be there in 12 months so Reynolds may get his spot on the main list. Bomber has been quoted many times in the last few months suggesting that the cats would draft for run and carry and with the exception of Hawkins and Selwood (both to good to refuse) they have done this with Hogan, Djerrkura, Davenport and Bedford. Reynolds is a risk but I think he does have some improvement in him.

I havent seen alot of reynolds is he able to be played in a similar role to milburn? (just looks a similar build)

1/2 back maybe to free milburn to go farther up the ground and get into dangerous positions.

Gardiner won't be there in 12 months so Reynolds may get his spot on the main list. Bomber has been quoted many times in the last few months suggesting that the cats would draft for run and carry and with the exception of Hawkins and Selwood (both to good to refuse) they have done this with Hogan, Djerrkura, Davenport and Bedford. Reynolds is a risk but I think he does have some improvement in him.

Concur there Jack.

They will have something fairly specific in mind for Reynolds. At Essendon I feel he was often played out of position. There should be some upside with him.

Reading up on Bedford you have to give the club some credit for realising they needed to go after these types of players and thats a ditto for Davenport also. So quite pleased with those two.

Lonners was in the bag and glad we have retained him.

I see nobody picked up Sheringham or Vasilevski. We might look at them as VFL affiliates for next season. Looks like the Bombers beat us to the punch on Dean D1ck also.

Reading up on Bedford you have to give the club some credit for realising they needed to go after these types of players

what did you find on bedford all i know about him is height weight and some mention on some sites that he is "exciting". no mention on his pace endurance skills or type of player so any extra info would be appreciated

edit: too slow it seems checking above link now. (damn broken hand)