Rookies

theGav56 said:
Which young proven AFL player not mention a Larke medallist was taken after Stribling was picked? I can't seem to find one. The only player who seems to fit that description is Armstrong, but it can't be him because he was taken before Stribling.

You dont think Duffield is a young unproven AFL player?

Originally Posted by theGav56
Get a grip. The club knows just about everything they can about the two players they rookied, and prefered Duffield to Armstrong. Me too.

Duffield - Pick 7, WAFL Player who might never make it who the Club preferred and also you.

Compared to

Armstrong - Pick 15, a young proven AFL player not to mention a Larke Medalist.

inferno66 said:
If Armstrong is such a proven player.. why did Melbourne delist him?

Don't confuse the issue, he has played 40 odd AFL games which is adequate proof that he can play at that level. Why Melbourne de-listed him is irrelevant.

YAKUZA said:
Don't confuse the issue, he has played 40 odd AFL games which is adequate proof that he can play at that level. Why Melbourne de-listed him is irrelevant.

If hes got delisted after 40 games then it is relevant - he hasnt proven he can play at that level, consistently anyway. If he had talent he would have been traded.

Freo Shark said:
If hes got delisted after 40 games then it is relevant - he hasnt proven he can play at that level, consistently anyway. If he had talent he would have been traded.

The bottom line is that he is a better player and prospect than Duffield and once again the Eagles have made a smarter decision than Fremantle.

YAKUZA said:
The bottom line is that he is a better player and prospect than Duffield and once again the Eagles have made a smarter decision than Fremantle.

You are entitled to your opinion.. but us Freo fans are quite happy with Duffield. You arent the be all and end all in player assements. How can you assess how Duffield does in the AFL when hes never played any AFL games. For example Peake wasnt doing that well in WAFL and people were bagging him. When Peake got a run in the AFL he was just doing magnificent

Armstrong is a midefielder/defender. THe Eagles have a abundance of these kind of players. What kind of impact do u expect Armstrong to have at the Eagles?

YAKUZA said:

Are you fair dinkum?

I'm not about to pass judgement on Armstrong, but I would have thought the reasons why such a player with a supposedly great junior record was delisted while coming into the prime of his career is highly relevant.

Proven AFL players generally don't get delisted unless they're pushing 30, or on the wrong side of it.

Duffield should be on our senior list IMO thats how highly I rate him,I think he will make his debut before the season is finished

Dont think on what he has showed so far that Armstrong would have added anything to our list of midget midfielders.Browne is better.Stribling deserved to have another crack,pretty harsh to let him go so soon

YAKUZA said:
Yeah yeah. We should've snapped up Dion Woods too. Maybe even Woewodin.

Reality is Armstrong is very similar to most of what we already have in the midfield, and that the recruiters think Duff has more to offer.

YAKUZA said:
You may as well join Smarty and the other duds he has working for him and you can help them make some more ****** ups like the Stribling blunder.

You still haven't clarified why we blundered taking Stribling instead of Armstrong, or how we even did that??? I'm puzzled? Or did you just *****up?

Or did you simply want to start a troll?

I quite like the way the club cleared Sribling back to the Rookie list to allow him to develop, and give another young player an opportunity.

What I can't figure out is why the hell the Smeagles would want another 3? 4? 5? average ability midfileders on their list, when what they need is KP forwards, and KP backs. But my level of care-ability is so low that I wouldn't go on to their boards and start a troll.

theGav56 said:
Yeah yeah. We should've snapped up Dion Woods too. Maybe even Woewodin.

Reality is Armstrong is very similar to most of what we already have in the midfield, and that the recruiters think Duff has more to offer.

You still haven't clarified why we blundered taking Stribling instead of Armstrong, or how we even did that??? I'm puzzled? Or did you just *****up?

Or did you simply want to start a troll?

I quite like the way the club cleared Sribling back to the Rookie list to allow him to develop, and give another young player an opportunity.

What I can't figure out is why the hell the Smeagles would want another 3? 4? 5? average ability midfileders on their list, when what they need is KP forwards, and KP backs. But my level of care-ability is so low that I wouldn't go on to their boards and start a troll.

I have come to the conclusion that you, unfortunately, are a bit slow ie., mentally deficient.

I never mentioned anything about taking Armstrong instead of Stribling, if you go back and read my original post real slowly so it will sink in it might become obvious to you that I was inferring that they could've and should've taken Armstrong in preference to Duffield.

YAKUZA said:
I have come to the conclusion that you, unfortunately, are a bit slow ie., mentally deficient.

I never mentioned anything about taking Armstrong instead of Stribling, if you go back and read my original post real slowly so it will sink in it might become obvious to you that I was inferring that they could've and should've taken Armstrong in preference to Duffield.

I was afraid that that is what you may have meant, although you talk about the Stribling blunder (but don't say what it is) in that context.

So you seriously think taking Duffield instead of Armstrong is something worth the kind of the strident criticism you come up with? Missing something in your life? I have come to the conclusion that you are personallity deficient.

Question. Who will play the most AFL games over the next 2 years; Duffield or Armstrong?

My answer; they both will play few, but I would tend to think that Duffield would be in front. So why wouldn't the club prefer a local boy who they know all they need to about in terms of his skills and qualities? While Armstrong was from WA he does not seem to want to come home, except for the fact that he has been delisted. And there is nothing to say he actually wants to play for the Dockers. Too many questions to selct him before Duff, though he is an okay player.

Duffield will be good. The Duffields take a little longer to fill out than most but he is from good stock, does all the right things and puts in.

Armstrong hears footsteps and isn't the fastest thing going around. Good kid but not what we require.

Stribling was a rare error from Smart.

Anyone praising Freo's list is praising Smart and plenty praise Freo's list.

Armstrong - Small, not overly fast but smart and agile, hard working midfielder/small forward (Never seen him play in defence) with good skills, tackling and is a known goal kicker at AFL level. AFL experience.

Vs

Duffield - Reasonably tall, not overly fast, strong man on man defender, reasonable skills at WAFL level. No AFL experience.

Added with: Very large competition for HBF/BP - directly competing with Dodd (In Form), Crowley(In Form), Dunn(Highly-rated), maybe Johnson(Versatility), M. Carr (Experience, Versatility) and Webster(Versatility) as hard backmen, whilst indirectly competing with many other medium defenders (Grover, Walker, Mundy, Drum, Thornton, Gilmore, Haines, Ibbotson).

results in: Armstrong winning hands down IMO. The only advantage I can see from us re-taking Duffield is that he has been part of the club for two years.

Armstrong probably won't have an impact at the Eagles because they have young players like Morton, LeCras, Butler already there and ready to play. Doesn't mean he wouldn't have been good for us though.

From the Clubs websites

Duffield
A medium-sized midfielder, he has a reputation for tough, 'inside' football.
Height 187cm
Weight: 87kg

Armstrong
Height 180cm
Weight: 81kg
Goals Kicked (2002 – 2004) 19
Talented midfielder who struggled for a regular senior game in 2004 as others pushed their claims. Managed just six games and spent the majority of the season in Melbourne's VFL affiliate Sandringham. Has spent three seasons on the Demons' list and needs a confidence-building year.

We have a few midfileders who could be described exactly like Armstrong. His forward work looks a little under impressive to me, and there is no way that he would displace our current small forwards. Would prefer him on the list to Schofiled probably, and Striibling.

Just on these comments I am very happy with Duffield, and while some posters on here he may be seens as a back pocket, that is not the way that the club sees him, which is interesting. His dicription from the club pretty much articulates what we would be seeking in the midfiled apart from the word "pace".

theGav56 said:
I was afraid that that is what you may have meant, although you talk about the Stribling blunder (but don't say what it is) in that context.

So you seriously think taking Duffield instead of Armstrong is something worth the kind of the strident criticism you come up with? Missing something in your life? I have come to the conclusion that you are personallity deficient.

Question. Who will play the most AFL games over the next 2 years; Duffield or Armstrong?

The Stribling blunder is that he should never have been drafted and to delist him at the end of year 1 and bring him back as a Rookie is a disgrace and a soft option.
If you weren't so bloody thick I wouldn't have been so critical.
Armstrong by a street,if Duffield ever gets the chance and I doubt he will , is already 40+ games in arrears.

Bigger said:
Armstrong hears footsteps .

That idiotic statement serves to highlight your absolute lack of knowledge of the boy. Courage is and always has been one of his strongest qualities, ask around simpleton and you'll soon find out.

inferno66 said:
You are entitled to your opinion.. but us Freo fans are quite happy with Duffield. You arent the be all and end all in player assements. How can you assess how Duffield does in the AFL when hes never played any AFL games. For example Peake wasnt doing that well in WAFL and people were bagging him. When Peake got a run in the AFL he was just doing magnificent

Armstrong is a midefielder/defender. THe Eagles have a abundance of these kind of players. What kind of impact do u expect Armstrong to have at the Eagles?

Probaly wont get a game at the eagles but woosha loves getting players that put pressure on the best 22 to keep their spot.

YAKUZA said:
The Stribling blunder is that he should never have been drafted and to delist him at the end of year 1 and bring him back as a Rookie is a disgrace and a soft option.
If you weren't so bloody thick I wouldn't have been so critical.
Armstrong by a street,if Duffield ever gets the chance and I doubt he will , is already 40+ games in arrears.

Do you froth at the mouth while you write? Must be hell for your keyboard.

Like a fair few players, Armstrong has been delisted and overlooked by every club after a couple of seasons. Every club has decided that he is not worth a spot on their mainlist.

Incredible calling a late pick of almost any player a blunder or a disgrace. The disgrace is bagging any plater before they have had an opportunity.

You really need to get that personality disorder seen to.

theGav56 said:
We have a few midfielders who could be described exactly like Armstrong. His forward work looks a little under impressive to me, and there is no way that he would displace our current small forwards. Would prefer him on the list to Schofiled probably, and Striibling.

In purely football terms, add:

(1) McManus (Better skills, decision-making, faster)
(2) Haines (Better allround player)
(3) Browne (Better skills/decisions, more suited and experienced to the HFF)
(4) Gilmore (Better decision-making, More accountable)
(5) one of the other HBFs (Can really play the harder positions like HFF)

This argument is mute until afew years have passed. However, after hearing about Armstrong's strong VFL form, he should cut it up in the WAFL. I expect him to have a better year in the WAFL than Duffield who still falls in and out of the play at times (and dont get me wrong, I am a pretty strong Duffield fan).

Also, I dont think Duffield will ever be a midfielder like some here are protesting. He plays off a flank in the WAFL, if he was going to make an AFL midfielder, he should be playing strong footy in that position by 20. Duff is probly competing for HBF along with Gilmore, Dunn, Walker, Webster, Haines et al.

theorangeapple said:
This argument is mute until afew years have passed. However, after hearing about Armstrong's strong VFL form, he should cut it up in the WAFL. I expect him to have a better year in the WAFL than Duffield who still falls in and out of the play at times (and dont get me wrong, I am a pretty strong Duffield fan).

Also, I dont think Duffield will ever be a midfielder like some here are protesting. He plays off a flank in the WAFL, if he was going to make an AFL midfielder, he should be playing strong footy in that position by 20. Duff is probly competing for HBF along with Gilmore, Dunn, Walker, Webster, Haines et al.

I agree with you..Duffield wont be a midfielder. I dont think you can fairly compare midfielders and defenders. A defenders performance on the day cant only be measured by possesions. Im postive that Armstron will outperform Duffield in the stats department in the WAFL next year. But Duffield brings tougness and grunt and defensive atributes to the table

On a side note i reckon that Haines is more of a midfielder then a HBF.