is2SWaNz

Jarrad McVeigh
Back to defensive basics for Swans

"Defensively we've obviously let ourselves down the last couple of weeks, and the defenders will admit that and have been pretty disappointed.
"Generally we're pretty hard to score against. Our defenders just need to get back to basics footy and get the ball to ground, spoiling really aggressively.

Hmm...:confused:

"There's a lot more going on at the footy club than Hally...from our point of view it's a reasonably significant issue but with seven rounds to go there's bigger issues at the moment that we need to deal with," he said.

This is new to me.

Me either. Which is why I'm a bit puzzled. Why is he praising the forwards?

Yes it is puzzling, the defence was under the pump because our midfield was beaten. He is right when he says our forward line was efficient by converting 44 inside 50s into scoring shots. However, 44 I50s is a very poor statistic.

My remedy would be for the midfield to lift significantly. McVeigh has to resume his earlier season form and perhaps introduce a fresh face e.g. Schmitty.

Yes it is puzzling, the defence was under the pump because our midfield was beaten. He is right when he says our forward line was efficient by converting 44 inside 50s into scoring shots. However, 44 I50s is a very poor statistic.

My remedy would be for the midfield to lift significantly. McVeigh has to resume his earlier season form and perhaps introduce a fresh face e.g. Schmitty.
McHack will but only against poorer teams,he hasnt got the confidence against better teams.

Has he got more hair than you ?

Or is he more skilled and with a bigger tank ?

Just wonder why you bag him so much ?

i can answer that
the bloke's a No 5 draft pick so he came with so much expectation, and he showed promise, and (as i've said before) i was one of his biggest fans coming into 2006 ... and all we got in 06-07 was disappointment, potential not delivered
okay, let's not fall into that hackneyed rubbish of "well, he's playing AFL so he's better than you", because that goes WITHOUT saying
are we wrong, as fans, to expect more, or at least HOPE for more?

he's fast, he's got the skills, he can even kick goals ... but there's always been something just ... missing
mcveigh's never seemed to fond of pressure, the real hard stuff ... he goes missing

maybe his being a NSW boy too, we wanted him to step up for Sydney

and he still might, it certainly looked like he'd made a major breakthrough in the first half of this season
and i'm prepared to keep cheering him on
but i do understand why the frustration might have returned in others

by the way, i'm being kind here, dudley
bedford would probably have used far less words ... and far more anger

i can answer that
the bloke's a No 5 draft pick so he came with so much expectation, and he showed promise, and (as i've said before) i was one of his biggest fans coming into 2006 ... and all we got in 06-07 was disappointment, potential not delivered
okay, let's not fall into that hackneyed rubbish of "well, he's playing AFL so he's better than you", because that goes WITHOUT saying
are we wrong, as fans, to expect more, or at least HOPE for more?

he's fast, he's got the skills, he can even kick goals ... but there's always been something just ... missing
mcveigh's never seemed to fond of pressure, the real hard stuff ... he goes missing

maybe his being a NSW boy too, we wanted him to step up for Sydney

and he still might, it certainly looked like he'd made a major breakthrough in the first half of this season
and i'm prepared to keep cheering him on
but i do understand why the frustration might have returned in others

by the way, i'm being kind here, dudley
bedford would probably have used far less words ... and far more anger

I do agree with this to a point. Everybody knows I am one of McVeigh's biggest critics. He has had a good season this year, and is improving in all areas.

Lets hope he continues to do so. What he has done in 2008 is take over Fosdikes role.

I reckon he's getting a lot more attention now than he was at the start of the season. Hence he has tailed off. I haven't noticed him popping up in forward 50 unopposed since the Richmond game.

His decision making is still ponderous and his hands weren't clean against the hawks or magpies.

McHack is a gun. He's had a great year. Last two games he's been tagged heavily. Against hawks he was ok, there were many worse.

agree with roosy maybe we need to get back to a solid defensive effort for the next two weeks and get back on track with two wins by shutting down the opposition hunt them like we used to, tag the shit out of judd this week and make sure fevola is double teamed make their lesser lights beat us. once we regain confidence then we can open up again. prediction carlton will kick less then ten goals agaist us this week end

You are the ultimate chameleon !

2 days ago we needed to kick it long and more often, then, in the same thread we needed pinpoint passes to leading forwards.

NOW

It is defensive skills.

Make your mind up champ

You are the ultimate chameleon !

2 days ago we needed to kick it long and more often, then, in the same thread we needed pinpoint passes to leading forwards.

NOW

It is defensive skills.

Make your mind up champ

mate i tried to explain myself last time won't bore you again but u can play shut down footy on the opposition and still kick the ball long to players who are clear or have a favourable match up it's just amatter of making the right choice there are times when a quick h/ball is the go and sometimes a longer clearing kick is best i thought agaist the hawks we only tried to clear our back half by running it out and even when options were there for a long clearance they were ignored CHAMP

because he has had 70 odd bad games and kept getting games over players in the magoos who were going well even for the ACT comp.
having said that he has had a good year but the last three games he has gone back to 06-07 form.
and dudders i have more hair but bigger tank? Skills no

because he has had 70 odd bad games and kept getting games over players in the magoos who were going well even for the ACT comp.
having said that he has had a good year but the last three games he has gone back to 06-07 form.
and dudders i have more hair but bigger tank? Skills no

That is fair enough assesment actually, but his talent kept him in the side early on.

Usual story, a player with obvious skill, who is an elite athelte, will always be picked over less skilled and athletic player. Even if that less skilled player is playing better in the magoos, you would know that as much as anyone.

He was an investment for the future, and he is paying off. Agree, he is down last few weeks but he is far from alone, ablett has beeen shocking.