ChrisL#12

Feb 27, 2006
Ballarat
Arsenal, Mavs, Mets, Packers
For all the flak Ross copped early on, he has completely turned the club around on field. He would now be in the top echelon of coaches in the AFL and has shown everyone why the club selected him in front of many other favoured candidates. This superstar of a man has us playing the best footy in the comp at the minute, a combination of fortress like defence and an unparalleled will to use the corridor and attack the forward fifty with pure ferocity. We all wondered in the beginning whether he was the right man for the job as we were playing fairly ugly Sydney-like footy, now I think, and hope, that everyone is in unity in believing he is the man.

Well done Ross Lyon and well done Saints.:thumbsu:

We're one of the highest scoring sides...as well as the lowest scored against!

It's amazing really, he's managed to not only make our defense even greater than it was last year. But managed to make our attack look somewhat how it did in 04-05 where we averaged like 18 goals a game or something.

Credit need to go to the assistant coaches as well. SOS is defs paying off.

Blues can keep Harvey as long as we got SOS I reckon. :p

For all the flak Ross copped early on, he has completely turned the club around on field.

If you think he is doing well now just wait and see the results in 18 months - 2 years. He will set a great foundation for the younger players coming through, who will only know one way to play ........hard and tough (winning!!) football.

He may come across as bland but there is much much more behind the exterior.

St Kilda made a wise investment when they gave him the job. :thumbsu:

Couldn't be happier with Lyon and with the style of footy he has us playing at the moment.

I thought he was a good choice initially but, like a lot of people, started to have some doubts after the first season and a half. Wasn't enjoying watching our overly defensive game style and we weren't winning much either. However the second half of last season and start of this year we have become a lot more attacking and the wins have started flowing.

One of the things I really like about Lyon is he is just a real no nonsense type, he doesn't go spruiking in the media and getting carried away with the hype. He is doing a great job of keeping our players focused each week and working hard as a team.

Have to give credit to our assistant coaches as well, particularly SOS and his work with our defence. Young players like Gilbert and Dawson are obviously benefitting from his tutelage.

While what we've done is pleasing im patting no backs until i see us reach the Granny. He's already steered us to a prelim, needs to take us one step further.

:)

While what we've done is pleasing im patting no backs until i see us reach the Granny. He's already steered us to a prelim, needs to take us one step further.

Youre a bit difficult to be pleased, aren't you ?

Even Grant Thomas has acknowledged that Lyon is the better coach and, as Roy Fitzlion correctly points out, he is building a young team that may keep our 'window' open for a few more years to come.

I also thought that he was relaxed and good to watch on before the game last night. Being 5:0 helps, I guess, but he handled the mostly childish questions and 'jokes' quite well, I thought.

Ross proving there is no such thing as a set window if you manage your list nicely, along with having a good quality coach. Adelaide and Sydney have found this out.

Finally St.kilda migth have a long term coach (i.e 8-10 years). Still a very long way to go. The current signs are looking very good.

No. I am pleased. :)

5-0 is fantastic start. Rapt.
But it counts for jackshit if we don't improve on last year.

Im saving the praise. That's all.

No. I am pleased. :)

5-0 is fantastic start. Rapt.
But it counts for jackshit if we don't improve on last year.

Im saving the praise. That's all.

agree with your comments. i'm still waiting!!!!

Tough but fair. as long as we have a good injury run. Horrendous injury runs are a fair excuse for mine.

We're talking about the same guy who brought John Barker to the club? Not pleasing.

The club overall should take some credit, allowing so many more rookies and beefing up the football department. Would have been hard to attract Leigh Tudor away from a club like Geelong who remain the benchmark. Pleasing.

The club has also had discussions over summer regarding the club's relationship with the media and the way the side was playing (being very unattractive to watch even if relatively successful). The change in game plan should have been 12 months ago for mine. Sort of pleasing now.

Gardi, Gilbo, Geary, CJ, and Eddy (big improvers this year) were already at the club. Very pleasing.

He's doing the job no doubt, but I always like a bit of balance on discussions. He's not the messiah, but he's not a naughty boy either (his name isn't even Brian)!

We're talking about the same guy who brought John Barker to the club? Not pleasing.

The club overall should take some credit, allowing so many more rookies and beefing up the football department. Would have been hard to attract Leigh Tudor away from a club like Geelong who remain the benchmark. Pleasing.

The club has also had discussions over summer regarding the club's relationship with the media and the way the side was playing (being very unattractive to watch even if relatively successful). The change in game plan should have been 12 months ago for mine. Sort of pleasing now.

Gardi, Gilbo, Geary, CJ, and Eddy (big improvers this year) were already at the club. Very pleasing.

He's doing the job no doubt, but I always like a bit of balance on discussions. He's not the messiah, but he's not a naughty boy either (his name isn't even Brian)!

I was saving the original version of that line for a discussion regarding Richmond / Ben Cousins.

Gardiner came at the same time as Ross Lyon. I'm pretty sure that it was Lyon's decision to do the trade.

Pretty happy with the way he's going. I thought the original calling for his head was premature. I always expected it to take a couple of years to get the bow pointing in the right direction. I don't think he's 'made it' just yet, but he's heading in the right direction, has the boys behind him & as others have correctly pointed out he seems to have a good support staff around him.

Gardiner came at the same time as Ross Lyon. I'm pretty sure that it was Lyon's decision to do the trade.

Possibly (maybe already in train with Lyon having right of veto). He definitely sought Doc Clarke for 2007 which didn't work out.

Just on young Johnathon, isn't it a bit of a coincidence that as soon as he leaves, our forward line has had a complete turnaround, and is now at the top end of the spectrum. While on the flipside, Hawthorn who on paper have arguably the best forward line in the comp have turned to shit.

Just an observation. :)

Possibly (maybe already in train with Lyon having right of veto). He definitely sought Doc Clarke for 2007 which didn't work out.

My recollection is that it was all Lyon's idea. Yep, also got Clarke which didn't work but he got them both because we didn't have any actual ruckman. We were in probably the worst position of any team in the comp re: ruckman. Well, except for Carlton who picked up our pretend ruckman, Cain Ackland. I count that as another Lyon masterstroke because we got to see big Cain running around Carlton's ressies team on a big fat contract for two years. Beautiful.

It's a long season, 22 weeks. If we get struck by the St Kilda injury curse we'll be in a bit of strife but not as bad as it's been in the past with good players and also hungry players waiting in the ranks. But still, look at what's happened to Hawthorn. Pat on the back for a great season so far but last time we met Geelong and Hawthorn the difference was -10 goals, let's see what it is this time around.

Ross Lyon