ROT IN HELL CHANNEL 7- ROT IN HELL

Arch

Jan 24, 2000
The Pub.
well shock horror- Essendon (and North) fans in Perth get the big shaft up the butt again.
No live coverage, no delayed, not even a replay !!!!!
channel 7 you pack of total f*cking b*stards. rot in hell.
I know I ,along with many other essendon and north fans in Perth have been waiting for this game since we first saw the bloody schedule for 2000. The fact that 7 is showing evry game BUT this one, is even more galling.
The attitude of complete and utter disregard for non-eagles/dockers fans over here by 7 is f*cking apalling. I mean, they still cant pull their stinky finger out and even release optus vison over here.

ive really had it with channel 7. bring on the tv rights negotiations and take 'em away from these arrogant arseh*les.

you make me puke.

Angry as all hell.
A.

PS- Any bombers or north fans in perth (or anywhere else for that matter)- email your disgust to http://sport.seven.com.au/email/email_p.html

They are showing 2 hours of highlights at 11.20pm. I emailed them to say it is ridiculous that they can't manage another
hour at that time of night to play the whole game, I suggest everyone else email them & ask for the whole game be played, not just the 2 hours, who knows if they get enough they might just do it.

------------------
Mantis

Hey Arch

its cold comfort I know but this is the kind of bullsh*T that NSW and Qld residents have to put up with all the time from Channel Seven.

Quite simply the Channel 7 people up here actually personally dislike Australian Rules Football and will do anything to ensure it is not broadcast in this part of Australia.

Waiting up untill midnight to watch footy is a way of life for footy fans up here - and those rugby fans at Channel 7 think its hilarious.

Rubbing our noses in it
i think.

ooo- highlights ???
didnt know about that.
some comfort i spose. ive still got about 4 emails to send to 7 though.

angel- i know- i was back in sydney in 98- and was astonished to find there was no 8.30 pm friday night footy. was also astonished at how impossible it is to get a taxi out of the SCG after a game, but thats another story.
maybe an email campaign for that wouldnt go astray also- we at essendon like to take credit for the dissappearance of john russo this year- after a huge email campaign initiated at bombertalk in 99, telling 7 to ditch the loser- whether it was our emails or not no one knows- but 7 got rid of him, so the power of email shouldnt be underestimated.

A.

Must be frustrating, I've lived in either NSW or QLD forever so I can relate.

You learn to live with it. Up here we've got to wait till 12:10am on Friday night to watch the game. Actually works out OK because you can go out and get drunk and be home in time to watch it.

Lack of coverage of the game of the season must Sh*t you to tears though

Yeah here in Adelaide we know exactly what you mean.

We have to put up with live Power games from all interstate venues, live crows games from all interstate venues, delayed telkecatsts of all Footy Park games.

Then we have to put up with almost all other games being televised live every week. Occassionally when two games clash we have to put up with a half game live and the rest delayed.

Whats more if we miss any we have to put up with highlights of all games again at 12.30am on Wednesday mornings.

But seriously, if we couldnt have this sort of access we would be up in arms about it. I do sympathise with you and may even send an email in support.

Suggest you keep the foul language away though. They wont even read the email if you don't.

Well, why do you think NSW and QLD people do not get enough coverage of AFL games? Quite simply, there is hardly anyone there that is interested in AFL and instead prefer that poor excuse for a sport, Rugby.

last couple of years Lions get bigger crowds than the Broncos.....doesn't help still up at midnight waiting, waiting I hate 7

At least you get a replay, we get nothing.

Instead we have to watch Fremantle V StKilda and Sydney V Hawthorn. Not even a late night replay.

Thank god I'll be at Colonial watchingg Cats V Dogs. One thing for certain, I won't see it agian that night.

Guess you won't be watching the Dockers replay Arch?
wink.gif

Can you believe that the Ess v North game is the only one we're not getting this weekend? Probably one of the best of the round too. But isn't it all due to the game being moved to the 'G from Colonial? which I thought Essendon wanted..... can't win either way really, and can you imagine the backlash if the Dockers weren't telecast? It's the first game in about a month they've actually got a chance in....

Good luck tracking down coverage..... EF.

Channel 7 Brisbane,doesn't even show live Lions matches. So next week Lions vs Roos on a Friday night, we get a rerun movie.
The Lions matches at the Gabba have had more people to than any of the broncos or Reds matches this year. So they are popular with the people of Queensland.
When you ring to ask Channel 7, they say they won't rate. When you remind them that when they played them live last year, they were in the top 5 rating for the year, they cough and splutter, and say well we don't want to play them. We Lions in brisbane have not got a chance with that attitude.

Its exactly the same in Sydney Rafter

You ring Channel 7 to complain and they just say 'No - we are not playing it' - no reason, no nothing.

Once last season i rang to complain about the terrible coverage and some guy on the other end said quite straight out

"Can't stand the bloody aerial ping-pong and we are not playing it"

Can you believe this attitude ?

And when the Swans are winning the self same people at Channel 7 then switch over to 'Home of the Swans' mode, as if they have something to take pride in for chrissake.

On another occasion I rang to complain about not being able to watch a Friday night game in Melbourne and was told that I was 'a bit of a loser' for wanting to watch two Melbourne football teams on Sydney TV. I was then advised 'to go and watch some real football'

As the title of this thread says

ROT IN HELL CHANNEL 7

eagle fan-
i get the distinct impression that the Dockers are being "nursed" here by the AFL (or 7 or whoever calls the shots on this).
The Dockers play live at about the same time as the roos v dons game. They want to protect the piss poor crowds that dockers manage to get, from being distracted by an eastern states blockbuster on tv. They feel that if we have the dons v roos game on tv- no one is going to rock up for the dockers game. Its a joke. No one is going to go to the dockers game anyway except die hard dockers fans!!!!!!!!
Do the powers that be honestly think "hey if we deprive them of the blockbuster, they'll just go down to subi and watch the dockers play !!!!!!!".I wouldnt watch the dockers if you paid me (unless the bombers play here). It sounds stupid, but I reckon its not far off the mark.
The local teams get spoon fed, while the rest of us AFL fans (ie not eags/dockers fans) get the rats arse.
Although I admit, we have it good compared the northern states.
I feel bad particularly for BSAngel. To put up with that bollocks must take some real will power.

A.

Bloodstained Angel - I sympathise with you deeply about those pricks at 7, I lived in sydney for 3 years from 94 to 96 and to see 7 go from complete ignorance to the most unbelievable suck up coverage in 96 was so galling I couldnt wait to get home. Lets hope 7 loses the tv rights completely, although I unfortunately think they'll get em back. But it aint just 7 which is incredibly biased against football, just check out those alleged national sports programs, Eg. "sports tonight, world sports" and pay tv is even worse!

7 sucks and we'll probably get screwed over again here in perth with the essendon V Carlton match just like the ess v Hawks match last week, what was worse was, After the Bloodyslow Cup was played they showed a repeat movie screening of Nick of Time a B grade johnny Depp flick that nobody watched except so they could see the AFL at 11PM

dons r tops

The game is on at either 7.30 or 8.30pm friday, I can't remember which, but if you go to the AFL site it gives you the times for all states.

------------------
Mantis

I just sent this to Ch7
You had this to say about the site: I am An essendon Supporter living in Perth. I was dissapointed and shocked that after the rugby match between Aust and NZ that channel 7 showed a repeat movie Nick of Time, the only reason I endured that drivel was to see my team essendon clean up the hawks, as i already knew the result. Why can australias premier sports channel not show more consideration for the fans of our national game. Fair enough to show the rugby first in a neutral state to the AFL teams playing, but really Nick OF Time is a B Grade movie that should have been shown at 3am sunday. Hope seven will get their act together regarding AFL or lose the rights to a network that will show live or recently completed matches in preference to a repeat of a movie no-one wanted to see. I know it's all about ratings but you never know if you don't even try.

P.S. Show the Blues V Bombers game live in Sydney and Brisbane (at least Brisbane) the people up there will watch it! The lions get more people to their games than the Broncos DO!!!!!

R-tops-
we wont get the shaft because its a friday nighter- so worst case scenario is that its delayed until 8.30.
anyway- get yourself down to Hyde Park Hotel (cnr Bulwer & Fitzgerald St's)where the Perth Bombers have their usual "do" with a big screen and all, so you can cheer along with other bomber fans-
cya there.

A.

Yeah Arch Hyde Park, let's hope more than 4 people turn up.
Dons r tops go to the Greenwood Hotel, more Bomber supporters go there to watch the game & it's got a better atmosphere than the Hyde Park

------------------
Mantis

bad turn outs huh ????
Ive never actually been to Hyde Park yet, but had gone a couple times when it was in Claremont, which was ok.
greenwood is alot closer to my neighbourhood anyway so might check that out,but I reckon for this game you'll get a fair crowd no matter where you watch it.

A.

Arch, my bomber mate & myself have gone
there three times to watch the games, one time there were 6 people including us, the other times we were the only ones.
Greenwood is a much better venue, as a lot of Bomber fans live in the vicinity.
Mind you I'm not going this week as I am moving saturday, so I will have to watch it at home.
Damn it.

------------------
Mantis

ROT IN HELL CHANNEL 7- ROT IN HELL