• Shiels

Votes: 38 22.1%
  • Other

Votes: 28 16.3%
  • Gunston

Votes: 69 40.1%

A huge thanks to the Big Red! You've made a great contribution to the club and I love you for it. Good timing. Impeccable.

As for your successor, well I just don't know what goes on behind the scenes to judge well enough. My gut feel is either O'mith or Shiels with Gunner as a smokey. Probs Smith as I've seen a harder, competitive edge to him in recent times.

thanks Roughy.. a damned good decision.// Being a captain never goes to the best player in my opinion but the natural leader, like Hodgey for eg. It is a talent that not everyone has.

I have absolutely no idea who t he next captain will be.. except it wont be Sicily!!!!

thanks Roughy.. a damned good decision.// Being a captain never goes to the best player in my opinion but the natural leader, like Hodgey for eg. It is a talent that not everyone has.

I have absolutely no idea who t he next captain will be.. except it wont be Sicily!!!!

Despite those suggesting it in jest - Clarko has actually said that Sicily is a potential future leader at the club.

Serious note. Thanks Rough for the hard work and dedication that you put in cheers for that mate.

I’m in the Gunners camp, think he has a lot to offer, appears to be more authoritative than Sheils and more level headed than Smith. In saying that do believe it will eith be Smith or Sheils, with Gunners being promoted to VC, think Smith has it just.

I reckon it's out of Smith and Gunston. Personally think that Smith is the best candidate. I reckon he'd handle the off filed stuff really well and think the added responsibility would bring the best out of him on the field as well. Still plenty of footy left in him and can bridge the gap til Mitchell, O'meara or even Hardwick are ready

The captaincy should go to our best and most consistent player, Tom Mitchell.
Without knowing him, I also think he would be a good fit personality wise. Would demand excellence.

Two things are in consideration for me:

1/ I'd like a longer term captain (4-5 years) to be the leader of this next generation; and
2/ I'd like for the captaincy to be given to a player who will take their game to a next level.

While I think Tom would be a good captain, I'm wondering what impact the captaincy would have on his game.

Give Mitchell/JOM a couple more years to just focus on his footy before handing them the capitancy.

Thanks for taking on the captaincy over the past two seasons, Roughie. Wouldn't have been easy taking over from Luke Hodge while returning to full fitness after missing 2016 due to cancer
This 100%

Hodge leaving left a massive massive void to fill, and really he was the only one who could even come close to filling.
Despite his illness he still put his hand up and eased the transition.
In fact it was as close to seemless as you could imagine.

Deadset Hawthorn legend

Thanks for everything Rough.

To all those speculating, just remember, the players vote on the captain, it has nothing to do with Clarko or the rest of the club hierarchy (read Sam and Hodge's autobiographies for context). My gut says Smith but my head says Gunner...

Capt: Gunston
Vice Capt: Jaeger

We need leaders on the field who can change a game to win it our way, go to a level that their opposition simply can't stop when it's absolutely needed.
For that reason I didn't love the Roughy selection at the time, or in the years that followed.

I think the above two could drag us across the line in the biggest of moments through word and deed, and sometimes that's what's required to bring home the cup, just a contest here and a a contest there, a goal that drives a shiv into the other sides kidney when the toughest of games demand it. When the Hard Way is the only way.

Lets buckle up and go get ours THIS year.

Thanks Ruff - you’ve done a top job under difficult circumstances and I hope you can now just enjoy playing the game and spending more time focusing only on you.

I think it will be Shiels but would prefer Gunners.

Will it be a player vote or a Clarke decision

Well done roughy excellent job so brave with what you were going thru to guide us thru into our next phase when we lost arguable our greatest leaders.
So many candidates smith,shiels,gunston there all great servants! gunners is my pick out of the 3! More than happy to see gunners cap with jom and sic as he lieutenants.
But its time to release the reins to the young guns, with so many young guys coming thru the older eggs in the side will always be there to guide us.

Cap jager bomb, v.c Sicily, Gunston

Why jom ? He was born for it, he been at the club for 3yrs now he coming up for his 2nd full pre-season in 4yrs, he game will naturally go to another level look out, he glides on the field he a star and is a natural of it he could be our captain for 5+yrs,

Sicily give this guy more reasonability and watch he game elevate even more, he is the leader down back with the defence getting younger and the older guys coming to there twilight its time for this bull to lead them, under birchall,chip,stratts guidance.

I made a team of all our captains since 1955:

B: Ayres, Langford, ?
HB: Vandenberg, Kennedy, Hodge
C: Crawford, Tuck, Crimmins
HF: ? Roughead, Arthur
F: Mathews, Dunstall, Peck
Foll: Scott, Mitchell, Parkin

Gunston would fit nicely on the half forward line.

I'm for Issy.

Shiels might be made captain and then excel with the responsibility and develop into more than an honest role-player, but I think it's a risk that we won't take. Isaac to take it.

Smith is a nice guy and a likable character, just not sure if I want him captain as he certainly does lack that little bit of no nonsense mongrel that I love to see a captain have in his locker.

Thanks Rough - will go down as a Hawk legend.

I voted for Gunners after looking at the many on the list who would be very good captains.

Big Boy has the presence, and sets great on field example.

Stratts and Smith are maybe a little to relaxed.

Shiels would be OK.

I'd raher Tom Mitchel concentrate on what he does best, getting the footy, and not have to worry about others.

Jaeger as Stratts assistant could be a very good move for the future.

Maybe Tim would finally turn that corner if he were captain.:);)

Awesome work Rough.

I’d like to see Big boy or titch as captain. I don’t feel that shiels can provide that lead by example, body on the line, do or die effort that we saw from hodge (not that we will likely see it to that extent any time soon).

As for Smith, again not sure he can inspire in the same way as some of the truly fearless leaders.