Strategy Round 1, 2014

Yeah that usually happens when no-one provides an option. :rolleyes:

Dunn haters :mad:
If no one provides an option he needs to be smarter, take a look at Frawley and Garland, they don't just throw it on the boot and belt it to no one.

If we can fix up our midfield structure it'll go a long way towards giving our defenders a boost.

So it's dunns fault that the rest of the team can't provide an option, so instead of running it out of the backline (which is normally copping a belting) he kicks it to a 50/50 contest? What is he meant to do? That's the best option. Kick it to a contest or towards the boundary to hopefully gain SOMETHING rather than just giving it to the opposition in their forward line for them to kick a goal.

Mate I reckon terlich frawley and grimes all kicked just as badly out of the back half as Dunn but people forgive them quicker

Yes, because they don't have the footy smarts of a six year old.

So it's dunns fault that the rest of the team can't provide an option, so instead of running it out of the backline (which is normally copping a belting) he kicks it to a 50/50 contest? What is he meant to do? That's the best option. Kick it to a contest or towards the boundary to hopefully gain SOMETHING rather than just giving it to the opposition in their forward line for them to kick a goal.
No it's not his fault the team can't provide an option. But Dunn rushes his decisions, he needs to take time instead of blazing away every time, a lot of the time he isn't kicking to a 50/50 it's kicking long down the oppositions throat when they are uncontested ( yes there should be melbourne players near to contest it which there isn't. He should take note of Frawley and Garland that manage to take time and find better options than just throwing it on the boot and seeing how far it goes.

I disagree with that, yes I could say every player has kicked it strait to the opposition out of the backline, but Dunn is by far the worst, he needs to take time instead of rushing his kicks, he seems to hate having the ball on his hands and has to get rid of it quicker, he could be a much better player if just took some time once in a while

I also wonder if we'll rotate Jamar/Gawn/Spenc through the team to manage workloads if they need to do 90% rucking when in the team.

I have thought of that. Running Jamar and Gawn 90% and rotating for 3-4 week spurts but that will prob fail as they will have some massive last quarter fade outs.

I want a Clark, Hogan, Dawes forward line but it isn't balanced if Clark can't ruck.

As much as I want Clark saved for forward line, he will have to do some rucking around the ground.

I disagree with that, yes I could say every player has kicked it strait to the opposition out of the backline, but Dunn is by far the worst, he needs to take time instead of rushing his kicks, he seems to hate having the ball on his hands and has to get rid of it quicker, he could be a much better player if just took some time once in a while

Now I feel like I'm arguing for the sake of it
Dunns not perfect but I still think he is somewhere Inbetween out 16th and 26th picked player and is very very harshly viewed

You can't cut off the part where I said in the midfield , grimes decision making in the midfield is horrible

I don't think position comes into it, you're either a smart footballer or you aren't.

That's crap , grimes is a brilliant reader of play from the back half an makes good choices , but further up in the midfield when the play isn't all in front of him he struggles alot more IMO

I don't agree with this, and I think it's a fairly weak statement. Even though some players might be 'less smart' than others they're still often going to play certain positions to a better degree if that's what they were trained to do.

That's crap , grimes is a brilliant reader of play from the back half an makes good choices , but further up in the midfield when the play isn't all in front of him he struggles alot more IMO

I don't agree with this, and I think it's a fairly weak statement. Even though some players might be 'less smart' than others they're still often going to play certain positions to a better degree if that's what they were trained to do.

Yeah, I didn't mean it that way - position (IMO) doesn't come into your natural football smarts, I'm not talking about trained things like clearances, etc.

Just general football smarts; Dunn does a lot of incredibly stupid things on the football field - no matter where he plays.

Grimes may turn the ball over due to skill errors, he may be more suited to the backline - but at the bottem line, he's a smart footballer.

Now I feel like I'm arguing for the sake of it
Dunns not perfect but I still think he is somewhere Inbetween out 16th and 26th picked player and is very very harshly viewed
I don't like ranking players from 1-22 really, I rather compare against their position. My back 6 has Frawley, McDonald, Garland, Grimes, Terlich and Toumpas in it. I have Dunn competing and the number 1 back up to Garland an Grimes. There may be a spot on the bench for him as he can play a number of positions but I'd prefer to go with more genuine midfielders for rotations.

I think Dunn can be a much better player if he just takes his time and learns to use his kick much more effectively.

I don't like ranking players from 1-22 really, I rather compare against their position. My back 6 has Frawley, McDonald, Garland, Grimes, Terlich and Toumpas in it. I have Dunn competing and the number 1 back up to Garland an Grimes. There may be a spot on the bench for him as he can play a number of positions but I'd prefer to go with more genuine midfielders for rotations.

I think Dunn can be a much better player if he just takes his time and learns to use his kick much more effectively.

I agree with what your saying , I also like the idea of toumpas off a back flank
And my back 6 would be garlo chip macca frank terlo and the toump

But Dunn would be first picked if they want someone who locks down better than toump

In the midfield where he grew up playing I might add
Dunn is a smarter player than grimes

That is such a pointless fact though... 8/10 blokes on AFL lists would have played in the midfield as kids just because they were the best player in the team. The other 2 would have played at CHF because they were the tallest and the best.

Nah I meant grimes played alot of footy on the hbf in the tac an early at Melbourne

Dunn was thrown down there half way through his 8th? Season , of course his decision making isn't elite there yet

No it's not his fault the team can't provide an option. But Dunn rushes his decisions, he needs to take time instead of blazing away every time, a lot of the time he isn't kicking to a 50/50 it's kicking long down the oppositions throat when they are uncontested ( yes there should be melbourne players near to contest it which there isn't. He should take note of Frawley and Garland that manage to take time and find better options than just throwing it on the boot and seeing how far it goes.
THE WHOLE TEAM rushed decisions Garland and Frawey included.

Round 1 - 2014
FB: Garland - Frawley - Terlich
HB: Grimes - McDonald - Toumpas
MID: Trengove - N.Jones - Vince
HF: Watts - Dawes - Viney
FF: Hogan - Clark - Howe
Ruck: Jamar - Tyson - Cross
INT: Dunn - Clisby - Michie
Sub: Blease
Emergencies: Gawn - McKenzie - Strauss

Round 1 - 2014
FB: Garland - Frawley - Terlich
HB: Grimes - McDonald - Toumpas
MID: Trengove - N.Jones - Vince
HF: Watts - Dawes - Viney
FF: Hogan - Clark - Howe
Ruck: Jamar - Tyson - Cross
INT: Dunn - Clisby - Michie
Sub: Blease
Emergencies: Gawn - McKenzie - Strauss
Strong first post. Welcome.

Thanks CJ - long time reader 1st time poster. 2014 is the first time I have not had at least 2-3 rookies in my Round 1 team (although there are potentially 4 Dees debuts). Positive signs regarding competitions for round 1 spots.