This is where I have the side:
BP: Garland Frawley Dunn
HB: Terlich McDonald Grimes
W: Vince Jones Watts
HF: Howe Dawes Blease
FP: Kennedy-Harris Clark Hogan
R: Jamar/Gawn Viney Trengove

Interchange: Toumpas Cross M Jones (Evans/Clisby/Kent/Mckenzie)

Backs: All players capable of winning 1-1 contests, and all when not under constant pressure are able to rebound quite well, McDonald and Terlich the most likely to cause turnovers but have also shown they can be damaging when rebounding with the footy. Frawley and Grimes the two players who are both quality 1-1 and rebounding when confident (Not under constant pressure). Dunn and Terlich probably fighting for their spots, Dunn probably against a similar player like Tapscott, Terlich against a dasher capable of cutting teams open such as Nicholson. You could definitely add Blease and Toumpas to this if they were capable of defending which I would have a strong query over, both quality users.

Overall- 8/10
I'd give them a 9/10 for work in contests and a 7./10 for rebound and attack, however they are capable of higher if confidence is high and if Blease or Toumpas type is added to group.

Mids: On paper looks a reasonable midfield, and not one which was by far in the worst 2 of last season alongside GWS. Finally have the experience of Jones, Vince and Cross, as well as the height of Tyson, Vince and Watts. We have the contested winning ability through Jones, Cross, Viney and Trengove and if we lack anything it may be a bit of polish, there are appears to be the players there it's just a matter of them winning the footy, that comes with balance along with many things and our balance seems good. If we can get it into the hands of Jones, Vince Watts, Toumpas or Blease then there is certainly going to be an opportunity for our forwards to score

Overall- 6.25
Certainly the potential to become an 8-8.5 midfield with the amount of talent, but this side has been like that for years. Expect to rate it somewhere closer to a 7-8 midway through the season, when the likes of Tyson, Viney, Trengove get more fitness and experience, Vince, Cross and Tyson acclimatize to the other players and game plan (Mind you it's relatively new to all players) as well as Watts, Blease, Toumpas adjust to their potential roles in the midfield. Such a crucial group of players who you would imagine should all improve bar perhaps Daniel Cross. Most required to improve Tyson, Viney, Trengove and Watts. You can certainly expect a little more improvement from Vince and Jones who is only hitting what should historically be his 'best footy'. Essentially, we have the balance it seems, the grit, and the polish, but it just all needs to work together at the same time on the same day, that's how we are going to win more football, and that's how we're going to win more games. (NAB challenge game vs Tigers was impressive in that we we dominated so much of the ball nearly 200+ Disposals, haven't seen this in a long time)

Forwards: Very, Very exciting forward line, if it stays fit of course. Enough has been said about the Big 3, all providing fitness will have a huge impact on 2014 and will only improve as the games go on. Good result would be if we could 8+ games with all 3 of these blokes playing, but I won't be holding my breath. The 4th tall in Howe, who is an X factor, and a potential match winner should also improve dramatically if these other types can also stay on the park. Being a bloke who arrived on the scene a little later, going into his 4th season, a similar role/position each week could well turn him into an Elite Half Forward of the competition. We haven't had a permanent small forward for a while now, and I was really excited when we aimed at one with our 2nd pick in last years draft. JKH looks to be exactly that, is solid enough to play many games this season a goal a game type of player, who will create opportunities. Is also a potential leader for this club, exciting to see if he can hold a spot as a crumbing forward alongside Howe and potentially a Sam Blease type. These 4th, 5th and 6th defenders may have a hard time against these types if they are given genuine opportunity.

Overall 7/10
Certainly shoots through the roof if we keep our talls on the park and get consistency from our smaller types. These two points intertwine as the consistency can only come when you can acclimatize to the players and running patterns around you. Expect this to become an 8.5 in future years pending fitness. One of the most exciting forward lines we've had to offer in quite a long time.

Rucks: Our rucks are quite interesting, Jamar seems to be over the hill, can't keep fit which doesn't do a ruckmen like himself any good, especially with the capped interchange. I'm leaning towards Gawn becoming our first ruck, as he is the most capable of covering ground and probably our best user of the ruckmen (which doesn't say much admittedly) He also fits the next generation we are building, this doesn't say that Spencer or Fitzy or even Jamar isn't capable, but from what I've seen Gawn has the most potential. Fitzy seems likely to become a permanent forward, who can ruck if our numbers are down, or if one of the Big 3 are injured. And well, 'Big Jakey Spencer' is a frustrating one, can hold his own in the air and does show traits of Shane Mumford IMO, however would have to have less confidence than any player at the club. (You can almost see the 1000's of thoughts ticking over in his brain when he has the ball)

Overall- 6.25/10
Has the potential to become a 7 this year, except I'm not expecting too much from these blokes, in saying that, it wouldn't surprise me if Gawn or even Spencer came on a fair way.

This is where I have the side:
BP: Garland Frawley Dunn
HB: Terlich McDonald Grimes
W: Vince Jones Watts
HF: Howe Dawes Blease
FP: Kennedy-Harris Clark Hogan
R: Jamar/Gawn Viney Trengove

Interchange: Toumpas Cross M Jones (Evans/Clisby/Kent/Mckenzie)

Backs: All players capable of winning 1-1 contests, and all when not under constant pressure are able to rebound quite well, McDonald and Terlich the most likely to cause turnovers but have also shown they can be damaging when rebounding with the footy. Frawley and Grimes the two players who are both quality 1-1 and rebounding when confident (Not under constant pressure). Dunn and Terlich probably fighting for their spots, Dunn probably against a similar player like Tapscott, Terlich against a dasher capable of cutting teams open such as Nicholson. You could definitely add Blease and Toumpas to this if they were capable of defending which I would have a strong query over, both quality users.

Overall- 8/10
I'd give them a 9/10 for work in contests and a 7./10 for rebound and attack, however they are capable of higher if confidence is high and if Blease or Toumpas type is added to group.

Mids: On paper looks a reasonable midfield, and not one which was by far in the worst 2 of last season alongside GWS. Finally have the experience of Jones, Vince and Cross, as well as the height of Tyson, Vince and Watts. We have the contested winning ability through Jones, Cross, Viney and Trengove and if we lack anything it may be a bit of polish, there are appears to be the players there it's just a matter of them winning the footy, that comes with balance along with many things and our balance seems good. If we can get it into the hands of Jones, Vince Watts, Toumpas or Blease then there is certainly going to be an opportunity for our forwards to score

Overall- 6.25
Certainly the potential to become an 8-8.5 midfield with the amount of talent, but this side has been like that for years. Expect to rate it somewhere closer to a 7-8 midway through the season, when the likes of Tyson, Viney, Trengove get more fitness and experience, Vince, Cross and Tyson acclimatize to the other players and game plan (Mind you it's relatively new to all players) as well as Watts, Blease, Toumpas adjust to their potential roles in the midfield. Such a crucial group of players who you would imagine should all improve bar perhaps Daniel Cross. Most required to improve Tyson, Viney, Trengove and Watts. You can certainly expect a little more improvement from Vince and Jones who is only hitting what should historically be his 'best footy'. Essentially, we have the balance it seems, the grit, and the polish, but it just all needs to work together at the same time on the same day, that's how we are going to win more football, and that's how we're going to win more games. (NAB challenge game vs Tigers was impressive in that we we dominated so much of the ball nearly 200+ Disposals, haven't seen this in a long time)

Forwards: Very, Very exciting forward line, if it stays fit of course. Enough has been said about the Big 3, all providing fitness will have a huge impact on 2014 and will only improve as the games go on. Good result would be if we could 8+ games with all 3 of these blokes playing, but I won't be holding my breath. The 4th tall in Howe, who is an X factor, and a potential match winner should also improve dramatically if these other types can also stay on the park. Being a bloke who arrived on the scene a little later, going into his 4th season, a similar role/position each week could well turn him into an Elite Half Forward of the competition. We haven't had a permanent small forward for a while now, and I was really excited when we aimed at one with our 2nd pick in last years draft. JKH looks to be exactly that, is solid enough to play many games this season a goal a game type of player, who will create opportunities. Is also a potential leader for this club, exciting to see if he can hold a spot as a crumbing forward alongside Howe and potentially a Sam Blease type. These 4th, 5th and 6th defenders may have a hard time against these types if they are given genuine opportunity.

Overall 7/10
Certainly shoots through the roof if we keep our talls on the park and get consistency from our smaller types. These two points intertwine as the consistency can only come when you can acclimatize to the players and running patterns around you. Expect this to become an 8.5 in future years pending fitness. One of the most exciting forward lines we've had to offer in quite a long time.

Rucks: Our rucks are quite interesting, Jamar seems to be over the hill, can't keep fit which doesn't do a ruckmen like himself any good, especially with the capped interchange. I'm leaning towards Gawn becoming our first ruck, as he is the most capable of covering ground and probably our best user of the ruckmen (which doesn't say much admittedly) He also fits the next generation we are building, this doesn't say that Spencer or Fitzy or even Jamar isn't capable, but from what I've seen Gawn has the most potential. Fitzy seems likely to become a permanent forward, who can ruck if our numbers are down, or if one of the Big 3 are injured. And well, 'Big Jakey Spencer' is a frustrating one, can hold his own in the air and does show traits of Shane Mumford IMO, however would have to have less confidence than any player at the club. (You can almost see the 1000's of thoughts ticking over in his brain when he has the ball)

Overall- 6.25/10
Has the potential to become a 7 this year, except I'm not expecting too much from these blokes, in saying that, it wouldn't surprise me if Gawn or even Spencer came on a fair way.
Quality review mate, spot on.

I am unsure whether howe has the same kind of crumbing effectiveness as someone like JKH may have just purely based on his size.

Sure Howe might be good below his knees and has great football nous but at 190cm with his aerial ability he has to almost be perfect third man up in most of the marking contests that he gets to

I am unsure whether howe has the same kind of crumbing effectiveness as someone like JKH may have just purely based on his size.

Sure Howe might be good below his knees and has great football nous but at 190cm with his aerial ability he has to almost be perfect third man up in most of the marking contests that he gets to

You could ask tasmanlvr but I would bet Howe has had the cleanest hands of anyone this season with the ball on the deck

Howe has amazing hands down low. I don't think I've seen him fumble one that's hit the deck at training. If anything the only issue I have with him is that he can drop the easy marks.

Just on Jakey Spencer.

Do we really expect Gawn to be ahead of Jake? Seems like Spencer has now moved past gawn (which happens when you sit out for so long), and Spencer does look more comfy around the ground.

Loved seeing him drill that Goal against Richmond, hopefully it gives him more confidence and he can run with it.

Just on Jakey Spencer.

Do we really expect Gawn to be ahead of Jake? Seems like Spencer has now moved past gawn (which happens when you sit out for so long), and Spencer does look more comfy around the ground.

Loved seeing him drill that Goal against Richmond, hopefully it gives him more confidence and he can run with it.
Spencer would be well ahead in terms of fitness I'd reckon but if/once Gawn gets into shape he'll be in the no. 1 spot I reckon. I agree that confidence is probably what's really lacking for Spencer. Works his guts out, but just doesn't know what to do with the ball in his hands when he isn't in range for a goal.

Spencer's an average tap ruck, with terrible skills, but huge effort.

Gawn/Jamar will be ahead of him if they're fit enough I think.

I'm eating me breakfast as I type so I might be a little off but these are based on if a game was played tomorow

Tap work

Jamar 8
Spencer 6
Gawn 4.5

Rest Forward

Jamar 6 (was an 8 in his AA)
Gawn 6
Spencer 3

Around the ground

Gawn 6
Jamar 6
Spencer 3

Effort

Spencer 10
Gawn 8
Jamar 7

Size/build

Spencer 8.5
Jamar 8
Gawn 5

So I still have jamar as No 1 with pressure from Gawn , spencer needs to be clearly a better tap ruck than Gawn to get a game

I'm eating me breakfast as I type so I might be a little off but these are based on if a game was played tomorow

Tap work

Jamar 8
Spencer 6
Gawn 4.5

Rest Forward

Gawn 6
Spencer 3

Around the ground

Gawn 6
Jamar 6
Spencer 3

Effort

Spencer 10
Gawn 8
Jamar 7

Size/build

Spencer 8.5
Jamar 8
Gawn 5

So I still have jamar as No 1 with pressure from Gawn , spencer needs to be clearly a better tap ruck than Gawn to get a game
Most of this is fair enough however Gawn has put on a fair bit of muscle in his extended off season and his frame is filling out now.
Size/build for him would be closer to 7 or 7.5, he does still have a lot to learn about how to best use his size and strength but I'm sure the new ruck coach will be helping him work on this.
Given a clear run at it I expect Gawn to have assumed no. 1 duties sometime during this season and be clear no. 1 2015.

Most of this is fair enough however Gawn has put on a fair bit of muscle in his extended off season and his frame is filling out now.
Size/build for him would be closer to 7 or 7.5, he does still have a lot to learn about how to best use his size and strength but I'm sure the new ruck coach will be helping him work on this.
Given a clear run at it I expect Gawn to have assumed no. 1 duties sometime during this season and be clear no. 1 2015.

Agree.

Can't fault Spencer on effort and size, (ruck is slightly above average) but the basic skills that an AFL player needs isn't always there. When you kick to your big man, i have no confidence he can take a mark let alone a contested mark. Back up ruck.

Gawn is filling out but not a monster yet. Should be a better ruck at 208 but wouldn't say Spencer is better. Skills are there and has nice hands and touch. Tank is the issue but IMO clearly our number one choice.

Jamar just needs to prove he is fit.

Am I the only person who thinks Hogan/Clark/Dawes/Howe is too tall? Howe is excellent below his knees and pretty quick over the ground, but he naturally plays tall. None of Clark/Dawes/Hogan are particularly quick (Though Dawes does provide good defensive work albeit limited) and unless they are clunking everything the ball will come flying out faster than we send it in.

Yep, I'd prefer we stick to two talls in the forward line.

If the midfield can be in any way competitive, I think we'll see a real improvement in the back half. No more midfielders streaming towards the 50 with 10 minutes to pick a pass, and Frawley, Dunn, Garland, McDonald and co will keep a lot of good forward lines quiet or at least honest. Hopefully the days of conceding 100+ every week are about to end.

I dunno i guess it really depends how they set up, i think you will find that Clark/Dawes/Hogan/Howe will be in the 50 together at one time, I reckon though you can keep 2 at a time deep in the 50 and have the others around CHF or the Wing as a bail out option if we get desperate coming out of defence

You can worry all you like about the ball rebounding but if we have 3 tall forwards they have to have 3 tall defenders or they will get murdered in the air in which case its really about whos midfield works hardest to get there when the ball hits the deck

Yeah, they're all pretty mobile.

One (Clark) will be the relief ruck/forward too; worked alright for the Hawks last year with Franklin, Roughead, Hale and Gunston - I think our group is pretty similar.

Clark and Hogan are mobile like Franklin and Roughy.

Dawes and Hale both have limited mobility.

Howe and Gunston are the 4th tall with great mobility.

It's not too tall when you throw in guys like JKH, Kent, or even Byrnes in the pockets as small forwards. It's all relative. We have Heaps of Depth up forward, so we can arrange our Forward line depending on who we're playing.

What I do see as a too tall forward line is Hogan, Clarke, Dawes, Gawn, Fitzy, Howe and Watts. I threw Gawn in because he is Huge, but by all means substitute him with The little big man Maxy King for the NAB series.

I dunno i guess it really depends how they set up, i think you will find that Clark/Dawes/Hogan/Howe will be in the 50 together at one time, I reckon though you can keep 2 at a time deep in the 50 and have the others around CHF or the Wing as a bail out option if we get desperate coming out of defence

Yep. One of those three will always be pushing up. Dawes and Hogan have massive engines and Clark will do some lightweight rucking.

I doubt you'll see Dawes, Clark and Hogan together ever inside fwd 50 for "extended periods" but 3 keys will cause more damage then hurt us.

Tap work

Jamar 8
Spencer 6
Gawn 4.5

Rest Forward

Gawn 6
Spencer 3

Around the ground

Gawn 6
Jamar 6
Spencer 3

Effort

Spencer 10
Gawn 8
Jamar 7

Size/build

Spencer 8.5
Jamar 8
Gawn 5

I like the post overall, just think it's harsh on Gawn & generous to the others.

Tap work - Jamar is effective but predictable, Spencer is - sorry - awful here, and Gawn is just behind Jamar.

Forward - Jamar would struggle to score any points here! In 2012 he got smashed (2 disposals) by Markovic, whom the Dogs delisted last year. His "8 in his AA year" reputation is built solely on 1 game against Carlton where he got "gimme" 5 goals from 6 disposals, most of which came from breakaways.

Around the ground - Jamar 6! That's his maximum disposal count ... including clangers!

The only thing stopping Gawn from being #1 is his fitness and therefore his capacity to see out a game. Spencer is big & strong & fit and always tries his guts out so won't get swamped, but the best we can ever hope for is that he breaks even.

Sorry to intrude, but is the prevailing thought here that Mitch Clark will be ready to go for Round 1?
My opinion is it is possible but more likely round 3-5. Cautious approach and gives him plenty of time to get match fit. Like I said others may see it different.