HB Grimes McDonald Terlich
C Vince Cross Watts
HF Howe Fitzpatrick Trengove
F Hogan Clark Kennedy-Harris
R Spencer N.Jones Viney
IC Toumpas Tyson Michie
S Clisby/Kent
E McKenzie Gawn/Dawes Evans

My current thoughts are similar to CBDees, although I was tempted to leave JKH out just to avoid picking any first year players for once!!

I have Spencer starting ahead of Gawn though, and also I really struggled to split Clisby and Kent for the sub role, as I think we still lack pace at both ends.

Dawes and Fitz are currently a toss-up for the CHF spot - but we are way too tall with all 4 in there at once, and could possibly even go with only 2 of the 4 and use an extra small - given Howe has such a strong aerial game.

B Dunn Frawley Garland
HB Grimes McDonald Terlich
C Vince Cross Watts
HF Howe Fitzpatrick Trengove
F Hogan Clark Kennedy-Harris
R Spencer N.Jones Viney
IC Toumpas Tyson Michie
S Clisby/Kent
E McKenzie Gawn/Dawes Evans

My current thoughts are similar to CBDees, although I was tempted to leave JKH out just to avoid picking any first year players for once!!

I have Spencer starting ahead of Gawn though, and also I really struggled to split Clisby and Kent for the sub role, as I think we still lack pace at both ends.

Dawes and Fitz are currently a toss-up for the CHF spot - but we are way too tall with all 4 in there at once, and could possibly even go with only 2 of the 4 and use an extra small - given Howe has such a strong aerial game.
Don't mind the Clisby/Kent option.

Dependent on Kent's fitness. He's in my best 22 based on 2013, but needs to get the body right.

I feel like players such as Tapscott, Blease, Strauss and Dunn will be a barometer for our success next year. If they, among other players, start playing to potential, our side will be as good as it can be.

Yeh Id like to fit both of them in as they have a bit of toe, but they havnt really shown enough yet to replace guys like Dunn.

I may have been generous to Fitzpatrick ahead of Dawes as well, but gut feeling is that Fitz may take another step up this year if given the chance - and Dawes is still recovering from injury.

Have to feel that Dawes is the massive elephant in the room at the moment for us.

Can't seem to get his body right and even if he does will be possibly pushed out of the side by emerging youngsters. I know in a way Clark was a massive investment as well but feel if he is fit, will command a spot whereas Dawes would have to improve significantly. If Fitzpatrick improves as a forward do you guys see him being a better alternative? Can certainly ruck aswell something that Dawes cannot

I have more confidence in Dawes' spot in the side than most here, it would seem.

Let's give the bloke a chance to show his stuff in a half decent team. He spent most of this year injured, and when he was fit maybe one kick in 10 would be to his advantage from our 'midfield'. So I'd say it's understandable that he didn't look good very often - there was just nothing going his way.

I think he will play an important link role in a half-decent team and with Clark and/or Hogan around him. He's also a leader, and a much more natural forward than Fitzpatrick, and teams will have to commit a big defender to him - some may remember how badly he monstered Rivers on Queen's Birthday a few years back.

I have more confidence in Dawes' spot in the side than most here, it would seem.

Let's give the bloke a chance to show his stuff in a half decent team. He spent most of this year injured, and when he was fit maybe one kick in 10 would be to his advantage from our 'midfield'. So I'd say it's understandable that he didn't look good very often - there was just nothing going his way.

I think he will play an important link role in a half-decent team and with Clark and/or Hogan around him. He's also a leader, and a much more natural forward than Fitzpatrick, and teams will have to commit a big defender to him - some may remember how badly he monstered Rivers on Queen's Birthday a few years back.

I completely agree with this! I think if he is fit he is going to be a valuable member of our team this year.

I thought he played good in patches last year but as has been mentioned above there wasn't a great deal of decent delivery into our forward line this year.

Even though Fitzy was impressive towards the end of this season I think it is Dawes spot if he can get his body right.

I think they're pretty even - Dawes and Fitzy.

Fitz has that speed as an x-factor and can take an overhead mark (unlike Dawesy) - but a good work rate too.

Dawes has a work rate, smarts and better footskill - and worse skinfolds.

Agreed, people are getting way ahead of themselves if they think a bloke who works this hard, has excellent leadership skills and afl standard footy skills is somehow not good enough for our best 22. When fit this year he was often one of our better players. If he is fit then he is currently our best CHF by some margin. Clark is obvously our best FF, Hogan is an unknown as is Fitzpatrick to an extent, he still has a ways to go imo, Dawes demands the footy at afl level, Fitzy does not yet.

Dawes = scapegoat.

I don't think anyone is suggesting Dawes has no role to play next year. My reading on this is just that some punters think the sky is the limit for Fitzy, and if Dawesy is a bit underdone for round 1 then having JF in the side makes sense. Chris Dawes has a massive role to play in 2014. It just remains to be seen whether he'll be right for round 1.

Dawes = scapegoat.
Not even a chance mate.

Nicholson and Jetta are the real scapegoats on our list. Then you have Neeld whenever our culture is brought up and etc

After Dawes did his knee last year, then stupid Buckley played him in a role that he's not used to, he obviously wasn't going to play good which would have shot most of his confidence, thinking that he isn't good enough. He comes to Melbourne and it doesn't help after getting injured again (thankfully not career-threatening) and being in a crap team, and winning two matches for the year.

Dawes this year showed that he is in it for the team, and he's willing to do whatever it takes to do, for us to become a premiership contending team. Now with him being in a good team, with a good midfield, he is going to shine like he used to at the Pies in the position where he's best at, the forward line.

Chuck him in the forward line with Hogan, Clark, Howe, and the young blokes such as JKH (I don't expect much from his first year, looks to be a grouse pick up though), Fitzy, then our mids such as Vince, Trenners, Cross, Watts, etc, all running from the midfield to the forward line kicking goals... Dawes will have more confidence in himself and in the team too, and it's really exciting.

Dawes has a vital spot in our team, and he gets my vote.

Fair call had one of the best 'midfields' in Collingwood kicking to him to advantage and still didn't look comfortable holding his spot in their 22.(cue the out of position excuses)

I get that most people think he is important for us I just don't, didn't think he was all that special before we got him and not gonna change my opinion just because he pulls on the red and blue. I hope he gets a chance to play more than 12 games next year but on the other hand i'd like to hope we develop a better forward who will push him out in the future.

What's the proof of this? That he talks tough?

Not even a chance mate.

Nicholson and Jetta are the real scapegoats on our list. Then you have Neeld whenever our culture is brought up and etc

Yeah those two are definitely fulltime scapegoats (I don't Neeld is so much a scapegoat as genuinely at fault) but people on this board tend to get stuck into Dawes a bit as epitomising our 2013 struggle somehow.

What's the proof of this? That he talks tough?

Watching him in games? Training attitude? Other players look up to him too, it's obvious.

At a good club his attitude would be the norm, not the exception.

And we're not a good club. In the absence of pre-existing players who do behave like this Dawes is worth more than the pick 20 we gave up and the money we paid for him. I agree that that's probably more than his market value and would be a loss for any other club except maybe GWS, but for us I wouldn't undo it.

I reckon pick 20 is spot on for Dawes actually and he's a solid player, I just don't think he's some great leader.

Fair enough. I don't agree, but that being said I hope he does take it to another level and convince you otherwise!

I agree he does give the impression of a leader but I also agree that we have no idea looking in from the outside
Just like passing judgement on assistant coaches

I feel similarly but tbh both you and JackAttack7 are right.

IMO the type of leadership dynamic Dawes exudes will be very short-term simply because the group will make inroads as a whole. In a year or two he may simply stand out more as a good clubman than a "leader" per se. At Collingwood I think this was how he was seen and he'll assume that at Melbourne in due course.

The sort of leadership we'll need in a year or two is the on-ground warrior type ala a Voss, Judd etc rather than a mere "good guy" like Dawes even though he'll still be a good player in his own right.

I feel similarly but tbh both you and JackAttack7 are right.

IMO the type of leadership dynamic Dawes exudes will be very short-term simply because the group will make inroads as a whole. In a year or two he may simply stand out more as a good clubman than a "leader" per se. At Collingwood I think this was how he was seen and he'll assume that at Melbourne in due course.

The sort of leadership we'll need in a year or two is the on-ground warrior type ala a Voss, Judd etc rather than a mere "good guy" like Dawes even though he'll still be a good player in his own right.

I feel like Nathan jones , Colin garland and jack viney in the future are the real standouts onfield