Strategy Round 1, 2014

Clark's shaping up to be one of our worst trades, sadly. Just looking at money vs output.

On pure on field value perhaps, but I reckon despite his limited game time Clark has provided a lot of marketing value to the club, he has been on quite a few marketing campaigns and the fans love him, so perhaps in some way it hasn't been all doom and gloom from a financial point of view.

cuz that Ultratune ad was so Awesome. :p

What do we think of the possibility of getting Georgie elevated for Aiden Riley? With Garland out, Georgie would be a welcome addition, this would allow pedo to slot into the forward line.
I'd assume this is already in motion at the club, he was easily our best performed rookie during the NC.

Clark's shaping up to be one of our worst trades, sadly. Just looking at money vs output.
This is true but it also barely matters - without Clark we wouldn't be paying the required amount of the salary cap, and no one else coming out of contract over the past three off-seasons (it was an extremely front-loaded deal, doubt he's getting paid much more than the average over the next two) really warranted the money instead.

I'd assume this is already in motion at the club, he was easily our best performed rookie during the NC.

I'm thinking that Jetta Georgie max king and harmes(?) are the rookies

Max king is barely ready for Vfl harmes is much the same and Jetta is not even close at the moment, I can't see any reason at all geirgeou won't make his debut apart from maybe using just the 2 talls an Dunn an playing another small

I'm thinking that Jetta Georgie max king and harmes(?) are the rookies

Max king is barely ready for Vfl harmes is much the same and Jetta is not even close at the moment, I can't see any reason at all geirgeou won't make his debut apart from maybe using just the 2 talls an Dunn an playing another small
Correct.

Good point - we had no-one to pay at that point so a massively front loaded contract for a gun player was a great move.

It can still pay off.
Yes, if he plays well for the remaining two years, he could be the best value player on our list!

Hey all.

Had a crack at both teams line ups for next week -

Wright - Delaney - Dempster
Newnes - Fisher - Gwilt
Geary - Dunstan - Webster
Savage - Lee - Curren
Longer - Riewoldt - Schneider
Hickey - Armitage - Jones
Ray - Roberton - Ross
Saunders

Pederson - Frawley - Georgiou
Grimes - McDonald - Terlich
Watts - N.Jones - Cross
Trengove - Hogan - Howe
Blease - Fitzpatrick - Kennedy Harris
Spencer - Vince - Tyson
Dunn - Mitchie - M.Jones
Viney/Toumpas*

*Not sure on Viney's fitness for round 1.

Feel free to tear it apart haha. Just an outsiders look.

Named Pederson down back as I am pretty confident we are going to play 3 talls with Roo + Lee/Maister + Longer/Stanley so I have him replacing Garland as the 3rd tall. Also got feedback from Blackas87 that Blease probably doesn't deserve a gig so things can be moved for him to be replaced with Byrnes, Strauss or Bail. Could even take him out and play BOTH Toumpas and Viney if fit. I just like Blease as a forward who can push up the ground a little more.

I also think both teams will name senior players more than kids where possible as both teams will be looking for a win. Plenty of time to blood young mids through the year but round one could be an absolute war. There are alot of guys who would be desperate for a win to try and hold their places against all the kids coming through for both teams.

Both teams also looking at playing vastly different styles. You guys trying to spread and hold onto the ball to control time in possession while the Saints look to get numbers to the fall of the ball and run in packs from the contest. What's that saying about "Styles making fights"? Well I rekon we are a sneaky chance of playing the match of the round with what each team is looking to build.

Good luck guys :thumbsu:

Not too bad mate, Dunn will play on the 3rd tall I'd say - so Pedo will be up forward or not playing.

Georgiou looks pretty handy, think we'll take another running defender over him though (Strauss/Clisby).

Matt Jones is probably odds on to play, but not by a huge amount.

Where the **** did you get that? nothing on the website and they just did an article on news.com.au 18 mins ago with no mention

Damian ****ing Barrett said so on The Footy Show which has me stumped.

-He was named today
-News.com.au writes an article talking about him playing Round One
-This breaks news.

What is this even

-He was named today
-This breaks news.

What is this even

Forgot the footy show was on , i dont know if i can believe this write now, i didnt hear what he said but your right he was named to play against the hawks and News.com did an article literally 20 mins ago? How could melbourne name him and only find out tonight?

Prove them wrong, Big Jack Fitzy. The club talking about 'our three key talls' in Hogan, Dawes and Clark and neglecting Fitzpatrick has been unfair on what Jack provided last year. Now, he's our only KPF fit, and looks odds to play most games this season. Stick it up them.

Also, thoughts on Watts now? To send him out at CHF would be messing him around and drawing attention to him again, but can we afford not to?

Mate if true what are our options seriously?

Fitzy is now pencilled in and hopefully this is the making of him, then what other options do we have

Pedo if fit is almost a lock for a forward roll now with Howe probably playing deep and Gergiou is a lock for defence

Then the other 3 options are this

Watts to the forward line again
Maxy Gawn if fit goes forward

Lynden Dunn Forward?

Mate if true what are our options seriously?

Fitzy is now pencilled in and hopefully this is the making of him, then what other options do we have

Pedo if fit is almost a lock for a forward roll now with Howe probably playing deep and Gergiou is a lock for defence

Then the other 3 options are this

Watts to the forward line again
Maxy Gawn if fit goes forward

Lynden Dunn Forward?
Ideally for me, I would have liked Gawn at FF and Fitzy at CHF. Gawn isn't fit, I don't think, so that leaves Fitzpatrick, Pedersen and Watts. In my eyes, Pedo remains our spud and I'd like to see Watts have a go a CHF.

I do think his confidence in the midfield is more important than round 1-4. I'm most pissed off at Dawes, made of tissue paper. He actually injured himself running through the banner in rd 23. This can't be bad luck, this is the way his frame is.

Gun to my head - my lineup:

Howe - Fitzpatrick - Trengove
Blease - Pedersen - JKH

-He was named today
-This breaks news.

What is this even
Taking anything Damian Barrett says seriously is the first mistake. The man is nothing more than a footy shock jock, has no journalistic integrity or sense.