Preview Round 1 2020 Vs Crows

Doesn’t matter though Apparently mate , it’s a tainted year and nothing more than a practice match

Results don’t matter

Results won't matter once the season becomes an absolute shambles as COVID-19 reaches it's peak. They'll get their 17 rounds out alright, but there will be extended halts throughout, teams missing quality players due to isolation, state league players and top-ups running around in potential top four clashes etc. It will be a hot mess and the focus will start to be about simply getting 44 able players to make a match happen at all, the results will become peripheral.

If we miraculously won this year you'd be the first person on here telling others that it's a tainted year.

Results won't matter once the season becomes an absolute shambles as COVID-19 reaches it's peak. They'll get their 17 rounds out alright, but there will be extended halts throughout, teams missing quality players due to isolation, state league players and top-ups running around in potential top four clashes etc. It will be a hot mess and the focus will start to be about simply getting 44 able players to make a match happen at all, the results will become peripheral.

If we miraculously won this year you'd be the first person on here telling others that it's a tainted year.

not having a go, but could we keep the covid stuff in that thread?:?
You may end up 100 percent right, but the games on, so now it is can we enjoy it?

Never said anything about winning flags but to be saying oh it’s a tainted year so round wins don’t matter is complete bull ****ing shit

The players and clubs wanna play so results matter

not having a go, but could we keep the covid stuff in that thread?:?
You may end up 100 percent right, but the games on, so now it is can we enjoy it?

More than fair. My original post was actually about my excitement for this game until old mate came along being negative.

I suppose it is a sign that the season has commenced if Punts and I are disagreeing about something though

More than fair. My original post was actually about my excitement for this game until old mate came along being negative.

I suppose it is a sign that the season has commenced if Punts and I are disagreeing about something though

yeah meant all of us sorry mate

so lets talk some lineups ,

presume both rucks play given injuries

yeah meant all of us sorry mate

so lets talk some lineups ,

presume both rucks play given injuries

Yeah I reckon both rucks will play, which I'm not a fan of as I think it'd be better to go small against Adelaide's half backs. Smith, Seedsman and Milera will give us headaches all day I reckon.

I think the last spot in the 22 will probably be between Stephens and COR.

I would guess the best 22 will probably look like this come Saturday:

B: Callum Mills, Kaiden Brand, Aliir Aliir

HB: Harry Cunningham, Dane Rampe, Jordan Dawson

C: Lewis Taylor, Ollie Florent, James Rowbottom

R: Sam Naismith, Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker

HF: Nick Blakey, Tom McCartin, Isaac Heeney

F: Tom Papley, Callum Sinclair, Will Hayward

I/C: George Hewett, Jake Lloyd, Sam Gray, Dylan Stephens (or COR)

Emergencies: COR (or Stephens), Ronke, McInerney, Gould

Early guess is Crows by 24 but our scoreline will be something like 5.13 or something painful where if we kicked better we would have won.

But geez, I really hope we kick some ass

I think Gould is a lock. A mature player, used to big games on Adelaide Oval (maybe not accustomed to small games on AO).
Really need guys like OFlo, Hayward, TMac, Naismith to improve this year like JD and Pap did last year. Plus we need recruits like Taylor and Gray to keep performing like they did in the Marsh.

But not sure how I'm feeling about the game and this whole weird season-not season. Feels like the Dylan lyric 'everything is a little upside down, as a matter of fact the wheels have stopped'.
Gould absolutely not a lock. Didn't play the last game which seems he's not best 22 yet. The team that played Norf was probably our best we could put on the park at this moment...god help us

With a 17 game season we could potentially get off to a great start with our first four games.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Join the tipping comp

I wonder if it might actually be a better environment for debutants to play in. Empty stadiums is a lot more familiar to them from the U18s, NAB League and state leagues they'd be used to playing pre-debuts. Being able to adapt to senior footy without the added pressure of the crowd might see them perform better than first-year players typically do.
I was thinking along very similar lines.

It's the perfect scenario to give guys a taste but not a full taste...

Dip their toes & see how it goes.

Have a crack without the crowd talking smack.

Get a feel when it's not quite real...

ok ok, I'll stop now.

I would guess the best 22 will probably look like this come Saturday:

B: Callum Mills, Kaiden Brand, Aliir Aliir

HB: Harry Cunningham, Dane Rampe, Jordan Dawson

C: Lewis Taylor, Ollie Florent, James Rowbottom

R: Sam Naismith, Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker

HF: Nick Blakey, Tom McCartin, Isaac Heeney

F: Tom Papley, Callum Sinclair, Will Hayward

I/C: George Hewett, Jake Lloyd, Sam Gray, Dylan Stephens (or COR)

Emergencies: COR (or Stephens), Ronke, McInerney, Gould
Pretty much what I'm expecting too, but I think that 22nd spot is down to Clarke, Stephens or COR with Clarke being the most likely.

The way they have been talking Stephens up, I feel he'll play and considering our first lot of games, we should. Personally I'd play Gould too

Saw this on Twitter, which basically confirms my belief that we were very competitive and actually on top in a number of games last year where the main thing that cost us was the usual lapses in intensity and fitness that come with being a young team.

CA37318D-9C46-4FFE-B897-13A32697CEC0.jpeg

Saw this on Twitter, which basically confirms my belief that we were very competitive and actually on top in a number of games last year where the main thing that cost us was the usual lapses in intensity and fitness that come with being a young team.

View attachment 842602
The comp as a whole is much more even as well. Will be interesting to see how the shortened quarters go