10k Posts
Aug 15, 2004
Bentleigh-esque
Richard Tambling
This is what I beleive will be Wallaces selected 22 against the Cats. This is not what I beleive is our best side but what I reckon Plough will put out on the feild. Feel free to state what changes to my line up you beleive we will go in against Geelong. :)

FB: Chris Newman, Darren Gaspar, Andrew Kellaway
HB: Kane Johnson, Ray Hall, Greg Tivendale
C: Joel Bowden, Mark Coughlan, Mark Chaffey
HF: Nathen Brown, Mathew Richardson, Breet Deledio
FF: Wayne Campbell, Troy Simmonds, Andrew Krakouer
OB: Trent Knobel, Shane Tuck, Chris Hyde
I: Greg Stafford, Richard Tambling, Brent Hartigan, Mark Graham.

Some problems I see with the above:

- Lack of Jackson. I relise Daniel Jackson was injuryed thus didnt play against the Lions but who can you see making way for him? I relise there is a beleive its better to blood him in Coburg untill he is in form to make the step up to the firsts. However I would be inclined to gets the kids; 1st/2nd/3rd players up to 50 games asap.

- Weak Backline. When we were talking about a in form Gaspar at full back, Schultz being developed as the future CHB and Bowden playing the Corns CHB/rebounding flanking role I thought we were going to be fairly solid this season. Add the likes of Haritgan, Jackson, Newman and some of the older types; Kellaway & Graham we have a young, promsing defence.

A week out from the season it now appears Terry is keen to move Tivendale to the 1/4 back, Aussie Jones role. As much as id love this to work I dont beleive the lad is acocampaignerable or hard enough for a backline role. More so when we are trying to develop younger types. As good as Ray Hall was against the Lions he is not an AFL class CHB and combined with Tiv makes the backline look over all weaker.

- Joel Bowden. Wallace has stated our leader was brillant at CHB but "every game he played there we lost". I dont beleive this really makes sence. It looks like Joel is destined to play a James Hird, utlity role playing wing/onball/back/forward. IMO; Bowden is best in the backline rebounding role, hence winning the clubs B&F. He should be played there for a good portion of the games this year.

- Cogs. As good as the lad has been thus far im sure im not alone scaryed shtyless he will re-injury him self. Im sure the medical staff know what they are doing but with OP, such a on going injury id be worried he was playing too much/too early. Saying that im sure they will handle his injury well.

- Big fellers. If we are too play all 4; Hall, Knobel, Stafford, Simmonds and its a 'bad day' we will get killed at ground level. I doubt in poor conditions all 4 would play. However you would think Hall will get the nod at CHB while Simmonds has to make the 22. Knobel has actully been good thus far and he seems in Ploughs good books. However I rate Stafford higher and would rather him over Knobel.

- Where is the young guys? After so much talk of blooding kids this season It seems to me we are going in with somewhat a old side. It only looks like Deledio, Tambling & Hartigan will be the kids that will get a game. You'd hope Jackson will be in that group. However; with so many b grade players which are not going to get alot better in; Kellaway, Chaffy, Tivendale, Graham, Campbell etc. it seems the likes of Roach, Raines, Polo etc. seem to lack chances to get a game for Richmond. However, you'd expect them to get a bash as the season draws on.

cheers :)

Bentleigh said:
This is what I beleive will be Wallaces selected 22 against the Cats. This is not what I beleive is our best side but what I reckon Plough will put out on the feild. Feel free to state what changes to my line up you beleive we will go in against Geelong. :)

FB: Chris Newman, Darren Gaspar, Duncan Kellaway
FF: Wayne Krakouer, Troy Simmonds, Andrew Krakouer

I'm no expert but I would be surprised to see Duncan Kellaway playing in the BP against the Cats. :eek:

Krakustar said:
I'm no expert but I would be surprised to see Duncan Kellaway playing in the BP against the Cats. :eek:

He would play in the backline taking the 3rd tall I would think.

Call it what you will.

Krakustar said:

Have the AFL introduced a "Retired Relatives" category in the list? How much of their wage is counted in the salary cap?

If so, maybe we could put in Geoff Raines, Michael Roach, Michael Bowden and Bull Richardson. Michael Tuck and Jimmy Krakouer even. For that matter - Gary Ablett and Phil Krakouer? :D

Bentleigh said:

FF: Wayne Krakouer, Troy Simmonds, Andrew Krakouer

Also who is Wayne Krakouer? Was he a product of the Spud!

Hello Newman! said:
Also who is Wayne Krakouer? Was he a product of the Spud!

Dont get smart :mad: :p

-

Bentleigh said:

Must admit Bentleigh, that is a bloody good side! The only change that I would even contemplate is getting rid of Hall! He looks like an uncoordinated mule running round on the footy field. Maybe Wallace has given him a new dimension to his game. Here's hoping!

Hello Newman! said:
Must admit Bentleigh, that is a bloody good side! The only change that I would even contemplate is getting rid of Hall! He looks like an uncoordinated mule running round on the footy field. Maybe Wallace has given him a new dimension to his game. Here's hoping!

Ray Hall is VFL standard at best.

Hello Newman! said:

but mate what is the alternative?

blaisee said:
but mate what is the alternative?

For mine, it would be a rotation of Andy K. and K Moore. Wallace can also use one of our rucks as a loose/floating player in defense until Schulzy comes back into the fray. I've got a real good feeling about Kelvin. TW stated that when he drafted Graham that it would be specifically to mentor him, and others, and it appears Kelvin's also put a bit of bulk on over the summer. Give the kids a go!

Truetiger said:
Thats not very nice now is it :eek: lol He was such a legend of the club but he wont be missed. Next Andrew Kellaway your time is just about up as well mate!

Like I said, good riddance. Heart of gold but kicking skills of a crab with a broken leg.

Bentleigh said:

could have sworn there is already a thread about next weeks team :rolleyes:

Bentleigh said:

I much favour Tivendale on a wing delivering the ball into the forward line and having Bowden playing across the half back line setting up play. Bowden - like Aussie Jones - is a smart player and can think out what to do. Tivendale is more limited in this manner - he has good pace and can kick extremely well but won't be able to manage the creative part so well.

I much prefer to see Newman up on the ball - good speed, good smarts and built like a little tank - and Hartigan into the back pocket. I would expect Deledio to be rotating off the bench.

Hall is maligned by many. I would suggest that he is a good thing to line up on the big donut who's forward line work is overated. Gaspar is a better bet on someone like Kingsley who is more his own size.

I would not be surprised if Jackson did get a game ahead of Graham. It depends on how we go for balance. Nonetheless, I would expect most of the kids to be rotated through the senior team, so he will get plenty of chances this year.

I think having 3 ruckmen is going in overbalanced. Knobel is a good workhorse around the ground whereas Stafford can tend to be a little lazy. Stafford is a strong mark up forward though. I wouldn't be surprised if Stafford struggled for senior games this year.

madtiger2005 said:
i say ******** graham the reject off and put jackson in the side ;)
id put jackson in insted of graham. graham will be starting on the bench if he plays.
as said above we need to develop our young players the likes of Moore Jackson Roach etc

Round 1: Issues.