Round 1 match thread

• Thread starter Thread starter tugga

So Deledio had a poor game... that will be his only one for 2011 & it is out of the way now.

Conca & Batchelor + Connors at half-back sooner rather than later on tonights showing... get Lids back around the midfield spearing balls into Jack and we are a far better team.

gee Rance cops a raw deal from supporters. He was bloody good tonight. Was strong at the contest and his disposal was by and large controlled and decent. A couple of clangers that came from being put under the pump by teammates and a run down by Betts but thats no disgrace slippery betts runs down players all the time.

Rance was one of the positives tonight along with conca & batchelor.

Jack and jackson our best. Cotch worked his way into the game well and so did graham

facepalm.gif

Stop trolling and **** off back to your own board.:thumbsd:

Regarding the sub, after watching the game tonight I feel that you should put a player like Nason/King in, someone that will get into the packs and find that ball.

I feel we missed Connors tonight while he was off the ground. Connors is a tough guy that can easily run out a game, he was misused.

Why the hell do we constantly handpass it from a mark to a player standing still right next to the mark? That and the kick ins were what frustrated me most today.

Still, a much more positive game than the last two years. Doesn't stop me from being disappointed.

lol are you serious? McGuane and Rance were Horrid, Nahas for a 23yo small is just not up to it.
Troll.

McGuane didn't have his best game but take it as it was I thought Rance probably did. Nahas did everything he needed to.

Waite deserved it and more.
What are your thoughts on hero Waite's kick to McGuane's testicles?

It was cheap...but it did not effect McGuane and his impact on the rest of the game...just like his retaliation of a punch in the kidneys.

Both players will get off for that...

I just feel, to take a player out 40 meters off the ball and remove him from the game as a result will note bode well for Rance...my thoughts only..

lol are you serious? McGuane and Rance were Horrid, Nahas for a 23yo small is just not up to it.

Dead serious. Never seen you before on the board, and you've made two deliberate provocative posts. So i'll say it again. **** off troll back to your own board.:)

It was cheap...but it did not effect McGuane and his impact on the rest of the game...just like his retaliation of a punch in the kidneys.

I just feel, to take a player out 40 meters off the ball and remove him from the game as a result will note bode well for Rance...my thoughts only..

I reckon Rance will get four. Plead guilty, get three. The fact that there was a concussion out of it (they will establish head high contact), will seal his fate. Gornski.

McGuane was within his rights to smack that coward in the head for what he did.
Just my thoughts.

Spewing the rain didn't set in. We looked a far better side when rain took Carlton's pace out of the game. Carlto are proving to be as soft as last year with their reluctance to put their head over it in the third and play wet weather footy like we did.

McGuane was within his rights to smack that coward in the head for what he did.
Just my thoughts.

No doubt Tugg it was a square up for Vin's boy doing some dirty work behind the play. And as much as i reckon it great we could have an enforcer out there, it's gonna penalise the team for a few weeks now. Lets hope Moore can come up quick from his injury.

You cant win games with the likes of Nahas and Edwards rotating through the midfield at centre bounces !
Nahas was responsible in part for us staying in touch early and turning it around in the 3rd. He was the one bloke who took the game on whenever he got the ball and ran at the Blues, something a few of our other 'stars' could try.

As for those getting into Deledio, you guys are aware that he is coming off an achillies complaint and has only played about 6 quarter of footy prior to tonight. Only natural that he is going to be a little off in terms of fitness and touch.

As for the game itself again same old story jumped early fought back and then ran out of petrol in the last. Still I liked the look of Batchelor Conca and Helbig all showed that they can play at this level. Cotchin is ready to take his game to a new level, just willed himself to contest after contest will only get better as the season progresses.

No, If Waite gets off it will be against EVERYTHING to do with not being a w***er in a sports match. YOU DON'T KICK SOMEONE IN THE BALLS. Who the **** does that?

Mate I agree...it was a dog act...but i doubt he will go for it...
Just like i doubt MaGuane will go for the punch to the kidneys in retaliation...

Mate I agree...it was a dog act...but i doubt he will go for it...
Just like i doubt MaGuane will go for the punch to the kidneys in retaliation...
What would you do if you got kicked in the balls while trying to play a physical sport?

strange night, looking at the stats on face value and you could be fooled to thinking we lost by 10 goals+...for 30 minutes or more we were all at sea coming out of defence...that improved immnsely midway through 2nd where we were much quicker to play on and switch play...

strangely a couple of the whipping boys in nahas and Rance played very good games....Nahas in particular was very good, early on he was only player that actually ran with the aggot in his hands...Rance was clean with his hands good attack on footy and man and disposal good...who was the tool that said he didnt play well:o

cotch worked into the game nicely and was really cracking the whip in the second half, as was newy and Jacko. Lids had a game he'd prefer to forget...that balls up opened the floodgates for the Blues

Our archilles which I feared was the RUCKS...gus hates contact, prefers not tp jump and was only at home during the third when the umpire threw it up...he shoudl be out of the side immdeiately for Derrix or Browne...honestly he was woeful, rarely even making a contest with nightmares of simmonds running through my mind

I think we punched above our weight according to most of the pundits pre game predictions , we made a fist of it, our youngsters looked as good as Ive seen from tiger debutants...i look forward to us continuing to find the right mix particularly the Big man department

it's gonna penalise the team for a few weeks now .

Disagree....you want your foot soldiers out there doing this for the team. His skill level and footy awareness means his position is doing the hard stuff. He must realise this and will need to develop his game plan around it. We just need another couple of foot soldiers like him that can step right in. No big loss really...well worth the hit! Mind you haven't seen it up close yet...hope he didn't snipe him, but just went hard.

Hardwick seemed to treat this game like another 'test' of the squad. Assuming Tuck is 100%, playing 3 draft kids, putting Nahas and Edwards on the ball...at the same time! Wow we got smashed in the clearances. NOt sure on Houli yet...seems to miss targets and those long looping handballs...some positives out there tonight...that guy Jack goes alright eh!!

depends on how hard they were hit...
He didnt move...now I know every time I have been hit there I have gone down like a sack of spuds!
So unless he has balls of steel, it probably didnt actually hit him with all that much force...

What would you do if you got kicked in the balls while trying to play a physical sport?

The guy is saying that McGaune is in the clear, what are you on about?

I haven't seen the incident closely yet. I heard the commentators say it was a clash of heads. If it was anything else Rance will go for at least 2-3 due to Waite not coming back

Anyone lamenting our defenders need to watch the game again. They were great tonight when you consider the ease at which the ball was entered inside 50 and the amount of entires.