Round 1 match thread

• Thread starter Thread starter tugga

The guy is saying that McGaune is in the clear, what are you on about?

I haven't seen the incident closely yet. I heard the commentators say it was a clash of heads. If it was anything else Rance will go for at least 2-3 due to Waite not coming back
He was saying both players would get off, McGuane did nothing wrong, I would have reacted much angrier if someone took a cheap shot like Waite did. Watch the incident, then reply please.

Waite will get weeks for it.

Poomonkey - It does not matter if McGuane 'felt' it. It is a pitiful act. That is fact.

Disagree....you want your foot soldiers out there doing this for the team. His skill level and footy awareness means his position is doing the hard stuff. He must realise this and will need to develop his game plan around it. We just need another couple of foot soldiers like him that can step right in. No big loss really...well worth the hit! Mind you haven't seen it up close yet...hope he didn't snipe him, but just went hard.

Hardwick seemed to treat this game like another 'test' of the squad. Assuming Tuck is 100%, playing 3 draft kids, putting Nahas and Edwards on the ball...at the same time! Wow we got smashed in the clearances. NOt sure on Houli yet...seems to miss targets and those long looping handballs...some positives out there tonight...that guy Jack goes alright eh!!

Rance shirtfronted Waite about 35m from where the ball was. He played well tonight, and it would have been nice to solidify a back 6 for the first couple of rounds.

Well, I am sure we will get to see it up close then during the week. As to 'he played well', there seems to be quite differing opinions in here on that tonight. Sure the ball came in a lot, so the backmen were under the pump, but I still see too often, Rance gets ball, and every Tiger supporter holding their breath. Why do you think that is?

depends on how hard they were hit...
He didnt move...now I know every time I have been hit there I have gone down like a sack of spuds!
So unless he has balls of steel, it probably didnt actually hit him with all that much force...
Attempting to strike or intent to strike is still an offence which can carry a suspension.
Waite's intent was to backheel McGuane in the testicles and with force.
Cowardly act from a perennial cowardly player. Sorry mate, but I despise what he didand I hope he gets 3 to4 weeks. Knowing the system though, he will probably get off.

Our archilles which I feared was the RUCKS...gus hates contact, prefers not tp jump and was only at home during the third when the umpire threw it up...he shoudl be out of the side immdeiately for Derrix or Browne...honestly he was woeful, rarely even making a contest with nightmares of simmonds running through my mind

Definitely agree Bo. Lacked so many clearances, didn't make contests (both Gus and Vicks) which was so disappointing.

Not sure Browne is the answer though but I guess he'll give us more of a contest in the centre than either of those two will. Warnock destroyed usin the first half.

Well, I am sure we will get to see it up close then during the week. As to 'he played well', there seems to be quite differing opinions in here on that tonight. Sure the ball came in a lot, so the backmen were under the pump, but I still see too often, Rance gets ball, and every Tiger supporter holding their breath. Why do you think that is?

This will sound nuts, but the defensive 6 were ok tonight. Our issues stemmed from a pitiful midfield effort for 2 and a half quarters. Rance made one usual Rance mistake (no awarenenss), but he contested hard, and set up a lot more drive from defense than say Delidio. Watch the game if you can and make up your own mind. But he was consistent for 4 quarters tonight, there were a few others that were missing.
Trust me, he's not the only one who makes me hold my breath when he has the ball!!:D

The guy is saying that McGaune is in the clear, what are you on about?

I haven't seen the incident closely yet. I heard the commentators say it was a clash of heads. If it was anything else Rance will go for at least 2-3 due to Waite not coming back

commentators were saying it was a clash of heads...waite came off second best

But BJ it was 35m off the ball. You couldn't even call it a block.

depends on how hard they were hit...
He didnt move...now I know every time I have been hit there I have gone down like a sack of spuds!
So unless he has balls of steel, it probably didnt actually hit him with all that much force...

In fact McGuane does have balls of steel, go back and watch the first game we played against Port, McGuane slides into the goal post and hits him square in the plums, wobbles for a bit gets back up and knocks Brad Ebert. :thumbsu:

McGuane, Balls Of Steel!

got this from the afl website

BEST

Carlton: Gibbs, Murphy, Robinson, Grigg, Curnow, Simpson, Judd, Warnock
Richmond: Riewoldt, Nahas, Jackson, Houli, Newman, Cotchin

shows the type of game grigg had when he is named in carltons best

would have prefered to play big Tom D over graham. id like to see browne given more of a go throught the year. a better ruck would help a mids immensley. but i admit they came to the party late. :thumbsu:

hoping no second year blues from martin.

Why wasn't Connors brought on earlier? He's a good decision maker and has good skills. Would of been handy in the first half...Foley injured or something aswell? Didn't seem to have an impact

Gastro. Hardwick has admitted making a mistake in pushing him into playing

Riewoldt:eek: what a bloody champion!!!!

this guy is turning out to be an Ablett snr where opposition supporters will start paying money just to watch this guy play:thumbsu:unbelievable leaping ability and timing and is also starting to add strength to his game but not only a marking forward is handy on the ground too......what a player he's gonna be.

Good call.

Also watch carefully, I doubt there is a better player in the game who can control the ball soccer like when its on the ground. Im not talking about the Didak style of soccer goals, but being able to dribble/manipulate and place the ball in heavy traffic just with his feet. Very impressive.

This will sound nuts, but the defensive 6 were ok tonight. Our issues stemmed from a pitiful midfield effort for 2 and a half quarters.

I agree. The backline was, generally quite good and there's only so much you can do when the ball is being continually pumped into the forward line.

I did think that the problem - and what lost Richmond the game - was that they didn't apply enough pressure to the Carlton on-ballers and their rucks were far too passive; apart from in the third quarter. In the third it was like everything clicked into place, the rucks attacked the ball and the mids put heavy pressure on their Carlton opponents. When that happened, Richmond had the better of things. Unfortunately, in the last quarter they stopped doing all/any of those things and Carlton ran over the top of them. Perhaps Tuck and Delidio would have made a difference, but I don't know. I do think Richmond will be a better team when Lids is on the ball (I dont' think he's as creative and damaging on a back flank as he is on the ball) but that might not be possible right now.

All that said, I think there are a lot of positivies. I really do think that Conca played a good first-up game and showed he belongs at this level. His kicking looked to be very high quality and he did a few things, just in the way he moved, which suggested he's got a lot more 'class' than most players. Reminded me at times of a very, very young Peter Riccardi and if he's half as good as that, he'll be an excellent player. The other positive is Richmond showed that when they apply continuous pressure to their opponents they are able to not only compete but to outplay another team. I also thought Nahas was very good and it looked to me as though he was finally using his pace, not only to run with the ball and be creative but to chase down opponents and apply pressure. I realise others don't agree, but that's what I saw.

Good effort from your mob tonight. Had me thinking you were gunna run away with it :D:D

Even thou he didnt get much of it, thought Nahas was great. Just couldnt lay a finger on him. Big Jack's a gun.
Probably was our experience that got us over the line. good work thou.:thumbsu:

Watched a bit of the replay before, didn't realize how bad carltons forward line was, makes rance's performance even worse. Its all well and good for him when he clears the defense without an opponent in sight, however a bit of pressure and all of a sudden he gets headless chook syndrome.

Dustin Martin- looked flat and possibly not as fit as this time last year!

Alex Rance- thought he played well when off the man, would hate to see him as opponent to a real full forward in man on man he would suffer, better as the extra loose player in defense and this is the first time I'm happy to say bring him back next round!

Brett Deledio- did he play? I think with conners on half back it's time Brett moved into the midfield permanently. We have a good number of mids that it would be pointless for opposition to tag him all game as we have to much quality that ther is no point!

Jack Reiwoldt- Perfect start to the year! Just a perfect piece of perfectness!

Matt White- don't deny it people he played a great game, much better composed!

Trent Cotchin- you all made me expect better from him but he was where I think he is at and his best is soon to come

Houli- does well and gives his team mates someone to kick too! Accuracy could be better.

Grigg- got booed when he first got the ball and I swear I saw his facial expression show similar to a kid at school have there feelings hurt, after that he was ok and played well! Happy we got him!

Chris Newman- still the guy that's there. Can really play good footy but I wish he was louder and dominant on field! Needs to spark some sort of aggression into his footy! A bit of that with his smarts and skill he is perfect and could win us matches believe it or not.

Foley- diarrhea lol , turns out he shouldn't have played! Watch hardwicks speech to get what I'm on about! I think we will see the awesomeness of foley by round 5 or 6

All in all, this is painful writing from a phone! Sum it up, it was great not to get belted and the tigers look alot better than they did the past two years! Footy is back and that means my world is perfect again!

If te midfield turns up next week expect another close one and a possible upset in the first 4 dreaded rounds of 2011!

Good effort last night, but very disappointing not to get something last night. Carltank was very undermanned and last night was a perfect chance to get an early win. The young players will only learn more from this in how to finish. Couple of things in the last quarter that I believe cost us in the end -

1. Deledio's brainfade which Garlett goaled from
2. Astbury went to full forward
3. Houli went to defence

point one aside, i cant see why dimma made the two positional changes in 2&3. Houli was attacking superbly in the 3rd and he was one of the main reasons we got back into the game, and in the last quarter when hampson took a few marks, Astbury needed to be there, instead he was getting frostbite in our forward 50.

I thought while Gus was rucking, we were a chance as well, gee he is looking alright and his tackling is awesome for a big guy. Definitely becoming and indispensible player for us. Our first gamers all showed something and eventually we were overrun by a more experienced mid field.

a lot of positives from tonight and i havent felt this good after round 1 for a while!

Riewoldt:eek: what a bloody champion!!!!

this guy is turning out to be an Ablett snr where opposition supporters will start paying money just to watch this guy play:thumbsu:unbelievable leaping ability and timing and is also starting to add strength to his game but not only a marking forward is handy on the ground too......what a player he's gonna be.

bloody hell bob, have you been tapping my dreams, keep a lid on it partner:thumbsu:

Good effort last night, but very disappointing not to get something last night. Carltank was very undermanned and last night was a perfect chance to get an early win. The young players will only learn more from this in how to finish. Couple of things in the last quarter that I believe cost us in the end -

1. Deledio's brainfade which Garlett goaled from
2. Astbury went to full forward
3. Houli went to defence

point one aside, i cant see why dimma made the two positional changes in 2&3. Houli was attacking superbly in the 3rd and he was one of the main reasons we got back into the game, and in the last quarter when hampson took a few marks, Astbury needed to be there, instead he was getting frostbite in our forward 50.

I thought while Gus was rucking, we were a chance as well, gee he is looking alright and his tackling is awesome for a big guy. Definitely becoming and indispensible player for us. Our first gamers all showed something and eventually we were overrun by a more experienced mid field.

a lot of positives from tonight and i havent felt this good after round 1 for a while!

Ironically, Rances bump apparently upset our balance as much as Carltons. Dimma said that by Carlton losing Waite and us losing Foley to Gastro, our structure was affected as we had a spare KP on the ground (Astbury) with no match up, and we became short a runner off the bench as we lost Foley. Hope that helps.

yea that was intresting the the vid after the match dimma said he made a blue and that we were 1 running player down. I would have put conners in dids positiion and put dids through the middle bet ya that would have won us the game.

Not me.
We played one quarter of footy and still only fell 20 points short against a supposedly 'top four side' (cough cough - no chance).
Three debutantes all showed why they were chosen.
After the first half we could have been blown away by 80, but we weren't (although we played an ordinary side).
Onwards and upwards I reckon. Bring on the Saints.
You do realise that it was a severely undermanned Carlton, right?

Jamison (FB), Bower (CHB), Henderson (CHF), Kreuzer, Houlihan... and then Waite (FF).