Round 1 preview: Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter Alex99

Given up on the Pfeiffer debate?
Well seeing as though he's out for a month he might find it tough to be in the side. One thing is for certain though, X Factor will not play Round 1.

Extremely disappointed one of Knights, Douglas, or Porplyzia will miss out though.

Well seeing as though he's out for a month he might find it tough to be in the side. One thing is for certain though, X Factor will not play Round 1.

Extremely disappointed one of Knights, Douglas, or Porplyzia will miss out though.

Injury nothing, i want to see some of your logic which suggests that Pfeiffer is ahead of the X-Factor himself, despite all evidence to the contrary.

Who should be FF then Drummond? And obviously you don't want Perrie in the team so who should replace him?
Anyone but Perrie. Give Matthew Smith a call, see if he's busy.

Injury nothing, i want to see some of your logic which suggests that Pfeiffer is ahead of the X-Factor himself, despite all evidence to the contrary.
We've been through this. Why is Vince rated so highly? Everyone says he can do the unthinkable. Well I sure haven't seen this magic. Pfeiffer is far more versatile as he can play as a rebounding defender, or on the wing, or up forward as a goal sneek. What does Vince bring to the table? A slow midfielder or an opportunist forward, sorry but he doesn’t live up to the hype.

You've said it before yes, but yet noone else is convinced.

Im sure Pfeiffer COULD play any of those positions, but whether he could play any of them well is another matter, under AFL competition. The fact that he hasnt even broken the emergencies yet would have to be worrying to you, when players who you think have nothing like Vince have actually played AFL.

I think you're fighting a losing battle here ST.

Drummond is probably the most biased Crow fan here (biased towards Norwood obviously) He needs to take off his rose-coloured glasses and accept that Pfeiffer isn't up to AFL standard as yet... unfortunately, that obviously wont happen.

Jericho has played AFL.

We all make stupid decisions from time to time. Pfeiffer missed the first 3 months of the season, and then spent another few weeks in the reserves. It was a tough year for him.

Official Side Vs Bombers

B: Graham Johncock, Ben Rutten, Nathan Bassett

HB: Jason Torney, Scott Stevens, Michael Doughty

C: Martin Mattner, Simon Goodwin, Scott Thompson

HF: Andrew McLeod, Nathan Bock, Brent Reilly

F: Scott Welsh, Ian Perrie, Brett Burton

R: Ben Hudson, Tyson Edwards, Nathan van Berlo

Int (from): Jonathon Griffin, Matthew Bode, Robert Shirley, Chris Knights, Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince, Jason Porplyzia

Judging on the players pre season form, both Chris Knights and Richard Douglas would be extremely unlucky to miss out.

The four on the interchange bench IMO should be: Griffin, Shirley, Douglas and Knights.

Bode, Vince and Porplyzia to miss out

Drummond is probably the most biased Crow fan here (biased towards Norwood obviously) He needs to take off his rose-coloured glasses and accept that Pfeiffer isn't up to AFL standard as yet... unfortunately, that obviously wont happen.
Mate, I call it as I see it. On the weekend I was called biased for saying Pfeiffer was great and Vince was nothing special. And then sure enough Pfeiffer was named second best by the NFC, and Vince wasn't even in the best. Just because I support Norwood doesn't mean my all of my opinions are based on my loyalties.

Oh and crows98, you have got to be kidding. Leaving Bode out?

IMO Bernie Vince is in front and has to be considered the better player but in 12 months or twenty four months time Darren Pfeiffer will have over taken him and be the more dominate player between the two.

And going by the NAB cup game against Port Adelaide – Darren Pfeiffer is ready to play AFL and up to the standard from round 1. After recovering from his injury he needs to show some solid form and just wait for his opportunity.

Come on, you think im expecting a serious logical debate? I just like to laugh at his irrational statements from time to time.

Jericho has played AFL.

We all make stupid decisions from time to time. Pfeiffer missed the first 3 months of the season, and then spent another few weeks in the reserves. It was a tough year for him.

I agree. Jericho > Pfeiffer.

Mate, I call it as I see it. On the weekend I was called biased for saying Pfeiffer was great and Vince was nothing special. And then sure enough Pfeiffer was named second best by the NFC, and Vince wasn't even in the best. Just because I support Norwood doesn't mean my all of my opinions are based on my loyalties.

Oh and crows98, you have got to be kidding. Leaving Bode out?

IMO Chris Knights and Richard Douglas have had better pre season form in the trial games and should be reward for it.

I don’t think last years form should come into it as now we need to concentrate on the 2007 campaign, 2006 is long gone.

So I guess I wasn’t kidding :cool:

The X Factor played extremely well in the SANFL last year, had a beautiful 6 goal second half haul on one occasion and frequently gathered well over 30 possessions. He's kicked game-breaking goals in pressure moments for the Eagles, his preliminary final performance against Port Magpies was impressive, and with that he's played multiple AFL games where he's had limited game time, but when on the ground, he's found the footy and on occasion produced something special. There is talent there, and he's shown it. Pfeiffer has only shown things at SANFL level, and even then he hasn't had the awesome performances that Vince has managed more than once in his SANFL career.

How about this, Drummond: stop telling us we're overrating Vince, and consider that maybe it's you who has been overrating Pfeiffer at his current stage of development.

IMO Chris Knights and Richard Douglas have had better pre season form in the trial games and should be reward for it.

I don’t think last years form should come into it as now we need to concentrate on the 2007 campaign, 2006 is long gone.

So I guess I wasn’t kidding :cool:

Of course last years form is going to come into it.

Would you also drop Tyson Edwards for an indifferent pre season?

Of course last years form is going to come into it.

Would you also drop Tyson Edwards for an indifferent pre season?

Of course it is going to come into it FFS but when it becomes a 50/50 decision between two players who offer equal service, you go with the one who has shown to have better form. Chris Knights and Richard Douglas have shown better form this pre season and should be given the nod.

You will always go with a player like Tyson Edwards or Andrew McLeod over a Chris Knights or Richard Douglas but Mathew Bode IS NOT comparable to a Tyson Edwards. So he has to always continue to prove his worth to the side.

The X Factor played extremely well in the SANFL last year, had a beautiful 6 goal second half haul on one occasion and frequently gathered well over 30 possessions. He's kicked game-breaking goals in pressure moments for the Eagles, his preliminary final performance against Port Magpies was impressive, and with that he's played multiple AFL games where he's had limited game time, but when on the ground, he's found the footy and on occasion produced something special. There is talent there, and he's shown it. Pfeiffer has only shown things at SANFL level, and even then he hasn't had the awesome performances that Vince has managed more than once in his SANFL career.

How about this, Drummond: stop telling us we're overrating Vince, and consider that maybe it's you who has been overrating Pfeiffer at his current stage of development.
Don't need to remind me about that game as it was against Norwood.

Anyway Pfeiffer averaged 19 possessions per game in his 5 senior appearances for the Legs last year, and he kicked 6 goals. He played a game or two in defence too and still managed to kick over a goal per game. And let's not forget he had only just turned 19 years of age. In his comeback match he also had 25 possessions and 2 goals.

X Factor kicked 10 goals in 8 games last year. So for a 21 year old who spent plenty of time up forward his numbers aren’t really a great deal more impressive than Pfeiffer, and yet judging by everyone's thoughts you would think he completely outplayed him. And if you say that Vince made his AFL debut you should keep in mind that Pfeiffer was currently injured at the time.

Of course it is going to come into it FFS but when it becomes a 50/50 decision between two players who offer equal service, you go with the one who has shown to have better form. Chris Knights and Richard Douglas have shown better form this pre season and should be given the nod.

You will always go with a player like Tyson Edwards or Andrew McLeod over a Chris Knights or Richard Douglas but Mathew Bode IS NOT comparable to a Tyson Edwards. So he has to always continue to prove his worth to the side.

Im glad you've changed your mind in such a short time.

Its not a 50/50 call, thats only your perspective. Bodes spot in the team isnt really in doubt given his great season last year, and really, to replace a crumbing forward with either of two young inexperienced midfielders would be foolish, especially given we need proven goal kickers at the moment.

Don't need to remind me about that game as it was against Norwood.

Anyway Pfeiffer averaged 19 possessions per game in his 5 senior appearances for the Legs last year, and he kicked 6 goals. He played a game or two in defence too and still managed to kick over a goal per game. And let's not forget he had only just turned 19 years of age. In his comeback match he also had 25 possessions and 2 goals.

X Factor kicked 10 goals in 8 games last year. So for a 21 year old who spent plenty of time up forward his numbers aren’t really a great deal more impressive than Pfeiffer, and yet judging by everyone's thoughts you would think he completely outplayed him. And if you say that Vince made his AFL debut you should keep in mind that Pfeiffer was currently injured at the time.

Why didnt you include X Factor's average possie count?

Im glad you've changed your mind in such a short time.

Its not a 50/50 call, thats only your perspective. Bodes spot in the team isnt really in doubt given his great season last year, and really, to replace a crumbing forward with either of two young inexperienced midfielders would be foolish, especially given we need proven goal kickers at the moment.

If you start giving players like Mathew Bode a free ride into the side for round one; that is when the club is starting to accept mediocrity.

What incentive is it for player like Richard Douglas and Chris Knights to produce good form in the pre season when they know a player will get selected for only having one or two good quarters?

I am not saying Mathew Bode has had a bad pre season but Richard Douglas and Chris Knights have had far superior ones.

:D Classic Craigy!

We're continuing to accept mediocrity then? Because we've included a guy who can barely get a kick with North Adelaide, and he’s out FF! Man, we are stuffed!

So one of either Knights, Douglas, or Porplyzia will miss out. X Factor is no chance.
maccas_no1 board :rolleyes:

Why didnt you include X Factor's average possie count?
Because I wouldn't have a clue what it is. But it's probably about 20 I would say.

If you start giving players like Mathew Bode a free ride into the side for round one; that is when the club is starting to accept mediocrity.
Hello? Ian Perrie anyone?

Ahh so we have now found the source of this underlying hatred of the B-Man.
:p I assure you, that is not the reason behind my thoughts on him.

Ah but see they are not 2 players that offer equal service. Just because you and others assume that, it doesn't make it true ;)

EDIT: And if Matthew Bode does miss out, it won't be for Knights or Douglas, it will be for Porplyzia because they are the 2 players that do have a similar role in the side.

Ahh so we have now found the source of this underlying hatred of the B-Man.

hahahahaha rofl

I'm glad we have both B-Man and Pfeiffer on our list because they've both got things to offer the side. Whoever goes on to become the better player, good for them. Right now though, X Factor gets the nod from me.

*continues replaying the X Factor Half-Dozen against Norwood on VHS*