INT: Garland Scully Jones Spencer

B: Warnock Rivers MacDonald
HB: Bennel Frawley Strauss
C: Trengove Grimes Davey
HF: Bruce Miller Green
FF: Petterd Bate Maric
R: Jamar Moloney McDonald

INT: Garland Scully Jones Spencer

I like Spencer. He seems to take pride in his football. Its just said he must have such bad self esteem.

Not sure about the rest of the side, but I think our forward line for round 1 should be this:

Tapscott - Watts - Morton
Sylvia - Jurrah - Wonaeamirri
mate sylvia just broke his jaw! but looks good apart from that, cant wait to see jurrah and wona together, gonna be epic

Not sure about the rest of the side, but I think our forward line for round 1 should be this:

Tapscott - Watts - Morton
Sylvia - Jurrah - Wonaeamirri

Wow. That's a forward line that most posters would've been happy to roll out a few months ago.

Back to makeshifts or duds.

New team after latest injury issues.

B: McDonald Warnock Rivers

HB: Macdonald Frawley Strauss

C: Trengove Bruce Davey

HF: Dunn Miller Green

FF: Petterd Bate Maric

R: Jamar Moloney Grimes

INT: Martin Bennell Jones Scully

FB: MacDonald Warnock Rivers
HB: Benell Frawley Strauss
C: Trengove Bruce Jones
HF: Green Miller Dunn
FF: Pettard Bate Wonaemirri/Maric

FOL: Jamar Moloney Grimes

INT: Martin Scully Davey McDonald

Emg: Bartram McKenzie Cheney

Some inaccurate info on the Hawks;

Franklin & Bateman (Suspended)

Young, Sewell & Taylor (Injured - Will not play)

Rioli & Burgoyne (Injured - Unlikely, but could be named)

So potentially we could be missing up to 7 of our best 22. They are big outs but Hawthorn have better depth than seasons gone and will be putting up a strong side nonetheless.

Our team could look something like this:

B: Guerra - Gilham - Brown
HB: Ladson - Schoenmakers - Gibson
C: Lewis - Ellis - Birchall
HF: Hodge - Roughead - Moss
F: Peterson - Morton - Osborne
R/R: Renouf - Mitchell - Shiels
INT: Stratton, Kaylor Thomson, Skipper, Suckling

Muston, Murphy and Hooper could all grab a spot.

Great now Colin is out.. and for 8 weeks

In the span of about 2 weeks, its gone from.

MAN can't wait for the season to start !!! :D:D:D

To..

:(

Cant wait to see Scullgove rip it up on tele though.

Hopefully might snare a win against a depleted Hawks line up.

B: Guerra - Gilham - Brown
C: Lewis - Ellis - Birchall
HF: Hodge - Roughead - Moss
F: Peterson - Morton - Osborne
R/R: Renouf - Mitchell - Shiels

Muston, Murphy and Hooper could all grab a spot.

That is a very weak Hawks lineup but then you put it up against MFC's healthy best 22 and it's still good enough bc of 3 names. Hodge, Mitchell, Roughead.

WE need everything going right for us and nothing is.

Our only chance to win if Hawks treat rd 1 as a bye or those three fall over. The game is for them to lose.

I see some variations in where Bate and Miller should start in some of these posts. Personally I would put Miller at FF and leave him there. Even when Jurrah comes back I'd put Jurrah in the pocket. Bate is more important at CHF and not as predictable as Miller in that area of the ground.

Despite not being in the same league and being 10kg lighter, Miller is actually the same height as Barry Hall - it may seem like a silly comparison but it puts things into perspective. Surely we can make some semblance of a target out of him and at least play some conventional footy as we go into attack. By playing Miller forward it will also open up half forward where Bate and co can improve their creativity and back themselves when required.

B: DAVEY, WARNOCK, RIVERS
HB: STRAUSS, FRAWLEY, MACDONALD
C: SCULLY, GRIMES, TRENGOVE
HF: GREEN, BATE, BRUCE
F: PETTERD, MILLER, MARIC
FOLL: JAMAR, MOLONEY, JONES
IC: MCDONALD, BENNELL, DUNN, MARTIN
EMERG: MCKENZIE, CHENEY, SPENCER

Hawthorn even with their injuries would have to play pretty bad to lose this one. I read on Demonland that Frawley is carrying a calf injury to add insult to injury.

It makes me sick to see Miller lining up in a key forward position.

He's going to kick 8 in round 1.

My thoughts on how i'd like to see the line ups:

B: Guerra - Gilham – Brown
FF: Maric - Jamar - Petterd

HF: Green - Miller - Bate

C: Lewis - Ellis – Birchall

C: Trengove - Grimes - Davey

HF: Hodge - Roughead – Moss

HB: MacDonald - Frawley – Bruce

F: Peterson - Morton – Osborne

B: Bennell–Rivers – Strauss

R: Renouf - Mitchell – Shiels

R: Spencer - Moloney – McDonald

INT: Martin, Jones, Dunn, Scully

EMG: Bartram, Warnock, Cheney, Garland

Some reasons:

1) Jamar to FF. He has proven he is able to crash packs and hold a mark. Whilst ordinarily he is our No. 1 ruckman Renouf is an epic spud and is being backed up by skipper. IMO Spencer and Martin should equip themselves well enough and if not Jamar has to go hand Renouf his ass on a plate.

2) Dunn starts on the bench but is straight to Mitchell at the first sign of trouble.

3) Warnock is dropped. Unlucky but the Hawks have a small mobile forward line and and out of him Riv and Chip I know who I’d rather have.

4) Garland misses because of match fitness and Hawks lack of height. If he does play I want him up forward out of the square, Jamar to the ruck Spencer to the bench and Martin to Casey.

5) Strauss to spend time on Hodge. He must learn and model his game on this man!

As a general statement even with our injuries that Hawks side is beatable. Especially in the ruck… If Jamar does ruck he should destroy Renouf/Skipper.

It's gonna be tough, but ya right. They are beatable. If we can dominate the ruck and get first hands on the ball, we could make something happen.

If Spencer plays, doubt Martin will.

I reckon Garland will play round one judging from the way the Dee's have pushed his pre-season. Will play his 3rd game for Casey this week.

Big worry is Warnock

B:Rivers Warnock Bennell
HB:Joel MacDonald Frawley Grimes
C:Bruce Moloney Scully
HF:Green Miller Petterd
F:Dunn Bate Davey
Foll:Jamar James McDonald Trengove
Int:Martin Jones Strauss Garland

Few points with my side

Spencer should not play,don't think he's ready yet
Willing to take a punt on Garland though he will lack match fitness
Would use Lynden Dunn along with Matthew Bate deep forward though the chances of this happening are fairly minimal
Can't consider Maric after his display against the Eagles & Jetta did'nt play so can't see him forcing his way into the side.
Would use Davey more as our crumbing forward with some brief stints further up the ground

It's gonna be tough, but ya right. They are beatable. If we can dominate the ruck and get first hands on the ball, we could make something happen.

What? Handball it 10 times making no ground, and then kick it to a forward line that's out-numbered 8 to 4.

It hasn't mattered who we've put on the park over the past 2 and a bit seasons. Whether it was the experienced players of 2007 or the kids of today, Bailey's gameplan is an abomination, and the results been the same.

I can just see the Bailey apologists wanting to give him an extension till 2015, because we've been hit by injuries, and it's unfair to make a call on his coaching abilities.

What? Handball it 10 times making no ground, and then kick it to a forward line that's out-numbered 8 to 4.

It hasn't mattered who we've put on the park over the past 2 and a bit seasons. Whether it was the experienced players of 2007 or the kids of today, Bailey's gameplan is an abomination, and the results been the same.

I can just see the Bailey apologists wanting to give him an extension till 2015, because we've been hit by injuries, and it's unfair to make a call on his coaching abilities.
Sad but true. Unless we play a more direct attacking game, we'll always be down the bottom. I am surprised that Bailey hasn't simplified things.

Not even sure Port Adelaide play that style of footy any more.

The quicker you move the ball into the forward line, the better chance you have of scoring.

Handballing in circles irritates anyone watching the game and simply just hands the ball back to the opposition.

I wonder if the boards grilling of Bailey asked about his game plan and how he expects it would work. Surely Connolly and Stynes who have play enough would be able to assess it more than the board.

There was also a lot of criticism of hawthorns gameplan in about 05-06 and st.kildas in 07 under ross lyon and they turned out alright. Fact is we'd probably get smashed if we opened the game up too much, although seeing some sort of plan B would be nice.

Atm we just don't have the quality, these young blokes come in with huge wraps but it takes at least 3 full pre-seasons to build up your muscle and engine these days.

I expect us to struggle and prob only win 2-3 games in first half of the year (due to injuries and some quality opposition) and come home with a rush at the end as the group becomes more accustomed to each other (and hopefully with close to a full team out there)

A bit late into this conversation, but I'll have a crack at my best 22. Injuries have put a big dampener on this year for me. Just hope Newton realises his last opportunity.

Here Goes...

B. Frawley, Warnock, Bennel
HB. Macdonald, Rivers, Bruce
C. Davey, Moloney, Trengrove
HF. Bate, Miller, Dunn
F. Green, Newton, Petterd

R. Jamar, Scully, Grimes

Int from: Junior, Martin, Strauss, Jones, Cheney, Garland?, Bartram, Jetta, Maric.

I think the rest are injured or need more time, correct me if I'm wrong. Would really like to see Trengrove in the middle, but I think we need the Moloney toughness. I like the idea of Green and Dunn up forward.

Thoughts????:thumbsu: