Preview Round 1 V Melbourne: The Meek Shall Inherit The Gawn

Will Fremantle get injuries during this game?

• Yes

Votes: 9 15.5%
  • Our whole team will be off by half-time

Votes: 20 34.5%
  • If Fyfe gets injured I will cry!

Votes: 6 10.3%
  • Please no more pain :(

Votes: 23 39.7%

And I've said it heaps of times, THE WAY that JL was appointed was the problem. I don't believe he got the job on merit because it wasn't a merit-based selection process. That doesn't mean he isn't the greatest coach in the world but it does mean it's a fluke if he is. and if that's how we choose a SENIOR COACH how lackadaisically do we appoint other members of staff?

The results will determine it anyway. Not us.
How do you know that?

Melbourne are trash !
I hate to say it but If we lose to them we are in the back alley right alongside them !

Definitely looking forward to seeing all this guys who missed most of last year back on the paddock particularly Young and Switta
Very exciting players
Was looking forward to seeing what Treacy has got , big bummer for all that suspension .
Agree with others who say give Chapman a go in the forward line , from what I saw of his highlights he looks capable. Probably get more creativity out of a young guy trying to find his position and impress than you would putt of moving a back into a forward position IMHO

Melbourne are trash !
I hate to say it but If we lose to them we are in the back alley right alongside them !

Definitely looking forward to seeing all this guys who missed most of last year back on the paddock particularly Young and Switta
Very exciting players
Was looking forward to seeing what Treacy has got , big bummer for all that suspension .
Agree with others who say give Chapman a go in the forward line , from what I saw of his highlights he looks capable. Probably get more creativity out of a young guy trying to find his position and impress than you would putt of moving a back into a forward position IMHO
6 of our best 22 are out. How about you have some realistic expectations of where we are at atm.

Nah, I think we should be good enough to beat Melbourne anyway, their pre-season has been awful and I don’t see any growth coming in that list from last year. We should win

Logue , Walters and Lobb are the only 3 I would say are best 22 . the rest are depth or fringe

Logue barely played last year
Lobb and Walters didn't have great years
If we truly have reinvented ourselves then the team that goes out there should be able to win

It's hard to have faith though
I look back at our last game of 2020 , we had momentum from 3 previous decent games , a full team , a Hogan back in who should have been firing and finals to play for and look what we dished up - dogturd .
Their lack of consistency leaves most of us mere mortals baffled .
If our midfielders penetrate and create a few goals then we win by 12 points .
If they don't , we win most of the play but lose by the same margin of 12 .
They will be the difference if they can rove off Gawn.

Logue , Walters and Lobb are the only 3 I would say are best 22 . the rest are depth or fringe
I think most are assuming Darcy won't play.

Hard to argue Tucker and Frederick aren't B22 based on last year. And Sturt may have only played 3 games but I can guarantee the coaches see him as a lock for the B22 when available.

Not sure how someone else got to 9 though unless they included Cerra and Crowden. Including Hill as missing B22 is a stretch way too far.

It's a lot out but Melbourne aren't full strength either.

Assuming Cerra gets up and Logue and Darcy dont

Clear best 25 (think best 22 is too subjective and irrelevant anyway) missing IMO
Darcy
Logue
Sturt
Freddy
Lobb
Walters
Tucker
Crowden

That's no small loss and arguably 4 of our first choice forwards in Crowden, Walters, Lobb and Sturt (I'll stick with Freddy being a wing for now).

Still think we have enough talent on the park, and better coaching, to get the win and will be disappointed with anything other than a win

I think most are assuming Darcy won't play.

Hard to argue Tucker and Frederick aren't B22 based on last year. And Sturt may have only played 3 games but I can guarantee the coaches see him as a lock for the B22 when available.

Not sure how someone else got to 9 though unless they included Cerra and Crowden. Including Hill as missing B22 is a stretch way too far.

It's a lot out but Melbourne aren't full strength either.
👍
I'd love to say Sturt best 22 ( which I think he could and should be ) but he seems so bloody fragile I can't see him putting multiple seasons together.
I like Crowden but Switta or Schultz can play his role so don't see him as a game changer .
I seriously hope we beat these clowns this weekend. They've undeservedly stolen a couple off us last few years, need to pay that back .

I can see us grinding out a win or losing. I've completely lost faith to be totally honest. We were told 2020 was going to be a flag assault and I'm not even confident we make finals this year.

And even if we do make finals, our list is so full of holes we will only be making up the numbers. Not to mention that there's no glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Our forward line is just woeful.

Matera, Hogan, McCarthy, Lobb, how much have we wasted trying to fix our forwardline? Only to get rid of them for nothing because our rookie coach can't pull them into line. Yet again we will have players like Banfield in the forwardline and he shouldn't even be playing anymore.

We are looking at guys like Sturt and Treacy like they are the great white hope, because we need one. Fyfe's 30 this year.

I don't really care what anyone says, now all the dust has settled and we sacked another senior member of staff that got us to a GF in 13 (and what a surprise it didn't magically fix any of the problems) there is no doubt in my mind that sacking Ross prematurely was a mistake. There is no way there wasn't some fallout from it from some of the best 22 players and it also brings into focus the fact that the club is not actually focussed on winning a premiership.

Do you reckon the guys that Lyon traded in from other clubs who failed at Freo were much chop anyway? Kersten, McCarthy, Danyle Pearce, Matera, Colyer, Sylvia and to a lesser extent Hogan, Bennell and Lobb didn't really achieved that much at other clubs so am thinking the problem might lie in the player rather than the coach.
You can not overlook that Lyon got us to a grand final, but he was still playing guys like Dawson and Danyle Pearce in Round 1 2017 - delaying our injection of youth and rebuild. (And don't get me started on picking Shane bloody Kersten instead of getting games into Taberner.....)
In hindsight his mind was too focused on the present than the future, and that set us back.
He also didn't seem like a coach that had evolved. For example, sports psychology is now recognized as one of most important components of a footy department, yet Lyon completely dismissed it. In his own words: "there is no such thing as a confidence shop"
I'm glad we decided on Longmuir - just don't think we did it quickly enough.

I can see us grinding out a win or losing. I've completely lost faith to be totally honest. We were told 2020 was going to be a flag assault and I'm not even confident we make finals this year.

And even if we do make finals, our list is so full of holes we will only be making up the numbers. Not to mention that there's no glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Our forward line is just woeful.

Matera, Hogan, McCarthy, Lobb, how much have we wasted trying to fix our forwardline? Only to get rid of them for nothing because our rookie coach can't pull them into line. Yet again we will have players like Banfield in the forwardline and he shouldn't even be playing anymore.

We are looking at guys like Sturt and Treacy like they are the great white hope, because we need one. Fyfe's 30 this year.

I don't really care what anyone says, now all the dust has settled and we sacked another senior member of staff that got us to a GF in 13 (and what a surprise it didn't magically fix any of the problems) there is no doubt in my mind that sacking Ross prematurely was a mistake. There is no way there wasn't some fallout from it from some of the best 22 players and it also brings into focus the fact that the club is not actually focussed on winning a premiership.

Who exactly do you recall from the club saying we were a chance to win the flag in 2020?

2013 was a great, but ultimately unsuccessful, ride but to me the future looks far better than the past.

Who exactly do you recall from the club saying we were a chance to win the flag in 2020?

2013 was a great, but ultimately unsuccessful, ride but to me the future looks far better than the past.
Well tbf, the future is a blank canvass... mind you, both the future and the past have v. high potential for emotional filters to colour our view of them. We're often high on feels and low on detail when going forward or back.

This game is going to be a shitshow...

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin confirms Michael Hibberd, Jake Melksham and Jack Viney won’t face Fremantle

This game is going to be a shitshow...

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin confirms Michael Hibberd, Jake Melksham and Jack Viney won’t face Fremantle
First to 10 points wins?