Autopsy Round 1 v Richmond - Blues go down by 43

hd, there are lots of players who failed at carlton over the past 20 years - do we know if it was because they were thrown in too soon though? plenty here might suggest a hack is a hack regardless of when he first plays
I'll give you that for a lot of players but I just never saw his confidence return.

What sides have come from being low down and flogged every week "thrown to the wolves"and have won flags from it.
doesnt happen as frequently.

I recall he was starting to show a bit - he had those praying mantis arms but never could take a one-grab mark - then he got rubbed out for 2 weeks for clothes-lining that richmond bloke (howlett?) and never really came back from it.

Rowe is underrated. Everyone praises Kreuzer for his one percenters and then overlook all of Rowe's.

Certainly agree with this!!! Jack Reiwoldt held to one goal despite Richmond's dominance! Only real criticism is when he went for a big spoil and should (could easily) have just taken the mark as the better option; Martin kicked a torp and he then had a goal "kicked on him" running back into the goal-square - not easy to defend for a tall such as Rowe - he's forgiven for that one. I can't believe a few on here even wanted him dropped.

With Marchbank looking excellent apart from a couple of brain fades/lazy kicks, and Plowman really starting to look like a lock down back, then Rowe may even have some real potential as a forward like Weitering (just not both at the same time for now!). Not too worried about the defence at the moment - they just got overwhelmed by a superior Richmond midfield/running-brigade on the night. Also, the defence has real potential in the wings with Byrne, Sheehan, Macreadie, JGM (where is he at?), Williamson and Alex Silvagni (may be a steadying option in the short-term). Weitering and/or Rowe must ultimately stay forward.

I recall he was starting to show a bit - he had those praying mantis arms but never could take a one-grab mark - then he got rubbed out for 2 weeks for clothes-lining that richmond bloke (howlett?) and never really came back from it.
scratch that - it was hartlett v howett 2008...........you idiot........de luca left to be an accountant......

I have never advocated him dropped. Sheer tom foolery. Is he limited .. yes ... does he do a job ... yes ... is he pretty to watch ... no..... required for at least the next 2-3 ..... absolutely.

If you wind the clock back to round 1 last year although the result was different/better I think our side this year would of beaten ours last year quite easily. Richmond scored from about 5-6 mistakes in the first half directly from either youth attempting to hit the target or by a skill error by an experienced player attempting to move the ball quickly. It's going to be a building season where we practise this and get better. Notice Richmond last year made a lot of errors that let us into the game whereas this time I rarely noticed a mistake but if they did we found it hard to punish them with quick ball movement.

The glaringly obvious issue I have is how different our backline looks without weits costing us much more scores against but apart from the first half we held our own defensively. Weits forward helps our scores though so it's going to be s balance. If marchbank, plowman and macreadie can be our defensive unit and weits, sos and cas our forward one we will see growth at both ends by mid season. Our midfield crop will also improve with Cripps getting back up to his match best and SPS building a tank to run out quarters. There is definitely more to like about Carlton than Richmond. That's probably as good as they will get allyear. Martin is proving his value which is smart but won't be there next year. And they will get themselves a first round compo pick. There kids are not even getting afl games apart from castagna, Rioli and butler. All forwards where there running pressure can help but when your youth is in every position (most importantly backline) you know the mistakes can't be hidden and are very damaging. Nearly every mistake we made resulted in a goal. Remove that and stop Martin with kerridge/smedts instead of white and we win.

Rowe. He is needed for structure.

Him playing releases the like of Bot up forward ... which allows marchbank to do his thing ... which allows The plow to step up ... which allows McCreadie (SP?) to step into the 18 ...etc ... etc

is there any fair dinkum proof that kids thrown to the wolves early on who suffer big losses are actually permanently damaged as players? probably hard to gauge - I reckon a young player's development might be set back - not entirely sure - thoughts?

Didnt we call this beng "Luke Livingstoned" for a reason

Not sure about AFL examples. I'm sure there's a bit of gut feel about it but there's a library of books written about learned helplessness and it's effects on performance and development.

For me too many kids too early means greater floggings and less hope and poorer development.

There's not just on-field development at stake, you also get the threat of players not buying in and seeking opportunities elsewhere . This can mean you lose them or have to pay more to keep them. It can cripple your list management strategy.

Nobody wants to admit it but clubs are also a commercial enterprise. Hopelessness affects memberships, sponsorship, revenue and coverage. It cost us Friday night footy.

So, on balance, i'm comfortable with the club approaching the re-bulid in a measured and responsible manner.

We'll still see every kid worth a cracker this season.

The bolded section of your post is the crux of an argument made against the excessive negative, unwarranted media criticism of the blues.

There are many here who want to believe that there is no impact on the club if the public perception is constantly being skewed towards hopelessness

Luke is remembered for a few reasons - pick 4, number 4, really bad back injuries, apparently played out of position etc.......

It either breaks them or makes them ... either way we are better off. Cause when a kid finally decides he has a gutfull of being smashed each week finally returns fire ... THAT is fortitude, THAT is resilience, THAT is why 8 yo kids buy jumpers.

That is why I screamed at the TV when weiterbot took that mark on rance. Wasn't because we were winning (70-20 something at that stage I think) ....

It was because Weiters said **** it who are you rance and towelled him.

That is the player calibre we need.

In turn Weiters will set a MINIMUM accepted standard at CFC. By chance did anyone see his terminator eye roll you did ok with that pass look???? AWESOME.

I had heard that Sheahan went off early - but I haven't heard whether it was due to injury or just player management.

I thought he played well (looks like Des English on steroids) and didn't notice any obvious injury - just assumed he was being carefully managed after so long out of the game. I'm hopeful in 3-4 weeks time he could see himself in the senior side down back. Hoping it might then potentially release Docherty to help around the midfield more. Possible that both Byrne and Sheehan could be down back together late in the season? Just hope Sheehan is free of any more chronic injuries!

It either breaks them or makes them ... either way we are better off. Cause when a kid finally decides he has a gutfull of being smashed each week finally returns fire ... THAT is fortitude, THAT is resilience, THAT is why 8 yo kids buy jumpers.

That is why I screamed at the TV when weiterbot took that mark on rance. Wasn't because we were winning (70-20 something at that stage I think) ....

It was because Weiters said **** it who are you rance and towelled him.

That is the player calibre we need.

Same reason I'm buoyant when I see 18 year old kids like Macreadie push Cotchin around in defence of a teammate and Cuningham throwing heads into the turf.

Been to india ... get this india ya! Love it. We have been pretty, entitled boys for too long ... need to find a psyc profile borderline sociopathic ..... come on SOS not so hard .... must kick left and right ... situational awareness ... ability to put yourself in the gun at times .... SaCk SOS lol

Seriously love to see some mongrel in our team!

The bolded section of your post is the crux of an argument made against the excessive negative, unwarranted media criticism of the blues.

There are many here who want to believe that there is no impact on the club if the public perception is constantly being skewed towards hopelessness
I'd rather be hopeless playing a few more kids than hopeless with so much obvious junk running around as a pathetic excuse for a midfield. While excessive, the media has a point. A fairly reasonable estimate has us eight or nine younger running players short of a premiership threat even if our tall stocks might be shaping up well.