Review Round 1

• Thread starter Thread starter Squiba

We didn’t lose because of our gameplan.

It didn’t help. Essendon lined up virtually every centre bounce with 6 forwards and 6 backs, we went 4 and 8. Even worse, our 2 spares lined up near the centre square, so only came into play if our midfield could put enough pressure on the kick to make it a shank. Any kicks with any sort of penetration went to whichever big Essendon player was leading out from full forward in a 1 on 1 contest.

And we still started in a negative formation when Essendon hit the front - which meant that any clearance from us was to a 40:60 contest.

Poor Fogarty showed that in a 50:50 contest he will be a force. As an 18 year old with numbers against him he never stood a chance.

I like fogarty's aggression but he just needs to temper it at the ball otherwise he may spend some time on the sidelines.

Just for the record, I respect your punting. Im just giving an argument for balance. All cool.

Tex is so out of form in terms of no preseason, he will be a liability.
Not sure fans can take us home, otherwise Power would have been a better team.
You may be surprised past two GF rematches have led to the winner winning it again.

Crows are mentally shot from that GF.

Mate you know I don’t mind at all if I disagree with you on anything let alone a bet.

Wonder how much the Crows have prepared specifically for this game? Could Tex have played this week? Were they holding him back for this game? The Captain of our club has been called out and humiliated by media flogs and opposition fans but is worshipped by our club. He is a born and bred Crow who loves this club. How bad do you think he wants this game? How bad do you think the players and coaches want this game?

Mate you know I don’t mind at all if I disagree with you on anything let alone a bet.

Wonder how much the Crows have prepared specifically for this game? Could Tex have played this week? Were they holding him back for this game? The Captain of our club has been called out and humiliated by media flogs and opposition fans but is worshipped by our club. He is a born and bred Crow who loves this club. How bad do you think he wants this game? How bad do you think the players and coaches want this game?

the concern I have is that I agree with you Tex is mentally ready and raring to go. Is his body able to deliver?

Ironically on GF day, his body was fine, but his mind wasnt.

the concern I have is that I agree with you Tex is mentally ready and raring to go. Is his body able to deliver?

Ironically on GF day, his body was fine, but his mind wasnt.

If he steps out onto the park it is.

No. This team desperately needs his aggression and many of his teammates need to learn from him.
Totally agree but the way the game is going i just want that aggression on the field. Just want him to cut the one out where he bumped the player with his hip in the forward line. Will most likely be suspended for that. But agree the soft **** atkins types need to start hardening up or pissoff.

Don Pyke clearly disappointed during his press conference after game.

We were 20 points up at 3 quarter time, in a game we expected to win. And we didn't. So I'm not looking for excuses. We'll understand the reasons and we'll get better. That's our commitment.

Shit internet connection where I am at the moment so can’t upload it but someone just called out Jenkins to Fages on twitter lol. Jenkins may end up pulling the mental health card if this keeps up!

And the media called out Roo for supposedly undermining Jenkins contract negotiations. Roo doesn’t f*** around thankfully and didn’t pay him what those idiots in Brisbane were offering.

Totally agree but the way the game is going i just want that aggression on the field. Just want him to cut the one out where he bumped the player with his hip in the forward line. Will most likely be suspended for that. But agree the soft **** atkins types need to start hardening up or pissoff.

If he gets suspended for that we may as well put netball skirts on the players.

Structure enabled us to be competitive despite missing so many key players.

How can you question structure and gameplan with so many key players out???

Didnt he have a foot issue in 2016 and we carried for the first two months?

Wanted to pop by and say bad luck. It was a cracking game of footy, and the Heppell vs Gibbs head to head was an absolute pleasure to watch live. Didn't think there was much in the Douglas incident but he probably gets a week. Hope you guys bounce back next week with hopefully Tex and Lynch back.

Alot of teams drop after a GF loss. Put that with losing Lever and Cameron and long term injuries to Smith and Brad, with short term injuries we have to first 22 players points towards a hard year.

We faded against Freo, we faded against Port, we faded against Essendon.

I’m no Alan Turing, but I’m detecting a pattern.

Yes, this was the reason we lost: lack of fitness. The rest of the last-quarter observations were due to this source. What is going on with the fitness??? We used to be renowned for it. Game plans, selections, injuries, umpires, player hatreds: nothing to do with it.

The good

M crouch
Gibbs
Laird
Seedsman
Mackay
Sloane (slow start but finished off well)
Doe dee
Forgarty

The bad

Jacobs - better second half but terrible first half.
Jenkins - did some good things but doesnt put his body on the line.
Hampton - terrible decision maker
Ellis yolmen - no skills and not a great decision maker

The ugly

Hartigan - don't rate him at all. Has the size but doesn't use it at all. Has no football brain and panics under pressure. Close my eyes when he goes near the ball.

Talia - good defender but no offensive game what so ever. Panics under pressure.

Betts - totally out of form at the moment

Atkins - totally lazy effort and lacks fitness. His defensive game has to improve.

Douglas - lacked fitness and like Atkins no defensive pressure at all.

Fitness - can't believe we can have so many players out or lacking fitness for round one

Tackling was ordinary.

Lack of run from defence. It's an understatement to say we are going to miss smith this year. No coincidence that we generally played ordinary last year when smith was stopped or didn't play

Shit internet connection where I am at the moment so can’t upload it but someone just called out Jenkins to Fages on twitter lol. Jenkins may end up pulling the mental health card if this keeps up!

And the media called out Roo for supposedly undermining Jenkins contract negotiations. Roo doesn’t f*** around thankfully and didn’t pay him what those idiots in Brisbane were offering.
Jenkins is not a natural footballer unfortunately. He gets by on size and athletic ability which seems to be declining. He doesnt understand that when he is surrounded by players instead of grabbing the ball and routinely getting caught holding it, he needs to tap it to another player or use handball. His thought process is not quick and he doesnt understand team play. Imo he is one of the most overpaid players the crows have ever had.

Think you guys are a bit harsh on Jenkins from tonight's performance. Felt he beat his direct opponent in Brown, but poor kicking cost him.

After just watching the game again, doedee was bloody immense. He's gonna be a gun and hopefully turns out similar to enright. One can dream. Well done mate.