Denver, Colorado
GB Packers, STL Cards, PHI Flyers
3. Lloyd
2. Fletcher
1. Hird

Terrible game, terrible umpiring, terrible luck. Oh well, sh-t happens. We'll be back.

Watch everyone write us off on the main forum.

Not sure that I can find 3 good players........we were absolutely terrible!!! Totally agree with you Stealth, terrible game, terrible umpiring and especially terrible luck! Couldn't take a trick. Ball was bouncing the wrong way consistently! Anyway, by process of picking random numbers, I have come up with this:

3. Lloyd
2. Misiti
1. Wally

But seriously.....did anyone other than Lloyd stand up tonight (And Lloyd wasn't that good either)

AAaah what a sore loser. The umpiring descions went both ones..so its not like the good ole bombers were the only ones with umpiring woes..and despite being a ardent Lions fan..with a soft spot for the Bombers..I thought it was a great game..the first half was one of the most physical yet this yr...dunstall was getting way into it.
Anyway, I think the Bombers, despite injury probs..every team has them though, we just beaten fair and square by a more commited and hard to the ball team...the lions were great with second attmepts at the footy ect.
The bombers played only as good as they were allowed to...
a comprehensive victory..but no worries for the bombers...they'll be back.

wHOOOO LIONS!

No..no band wagon. I used to post on the Brisbane Lions web page for two yrs straight......went to a hell- of a lot of Lions games.. ..I'm pretty regular with the reading of posts...i was a big footy member...but my old nickname wouldnt allow me to log in...so its a new long in name.
By the way danni..if yr reading..its scarlett :) Back from my backpackin o/s....livin in Richmond..a street away from the m.c.g..whoo!

Go away if you don't have anything 'constructive' to say. Coming here to stir trouble isn't going to get you far. Yes your boys played well and good luck to them. Have your day in the sun. Our boys aren't done with yet, they will have plenty more to say. Have your day in the sun, but we Essendon supporters have so much to look forward to.

We will be back...

Same Old's it is an unfortunate occurance - but there will be dribs and drabs of 'new' lions supporters appearing on this site over the next few weeks - since the Lions saw fit to close down their official forum. 250 registered posters are now struggling to find a new home. NO time for spamming - it was closed with out notice.

Scarlett!! you are back!! wooohooo!! living in Melb by what you said?

click on my link in my signature or on my profile here - email me young lady!!!! Can't wait to catch up with you!

and for anyone wondering - scarlett suits her to a T! ebony black glossy hair, porcelain white skin and amazing green eyes! HAHA scarlett - you won't escape - we still remember what you look like!

loosen up

stirring trouble? Geez....I thought I was fair for both teams...yes, theyre were umpire descisions which were dodgy..but didnt I say Bombers would be back?
Anyway, I'm a fan of the AFL..I thought this site was exactly for this sorta thing...loosen up.
The Lions won...being a lion fan I'm real rapt...but isn't that fact that its a *big deal* and no ordinary win...a compliment for the bombers and their fans? in...that teams don't count them as being..any ordinary team........

Yea Danny..i live in richmond..since jan...between bridge rd and swan street..very nice..very cold! So wish i was up at the gabba tonite..looked a lovely sight...haha and i have blue eyes!
I'll email you for a goss session :)

Re: loosen up

i apologise pedrothelioness. just a little uptight tonight for some reason ;) i guess we really couldn't expect too much out of the side we have had for the past 2 weeks. they have done us proud and they tried hard i thought. just weren't good enough in the end. our 'senior' players couldn't be expected to 'carry' the side as they have. we've just lost the same 'type' of players which has hurt us, and that's where you beat us tonight...the midfield.

i obviously remain confident of our chances this year. our players know that they have a fight on their hands, which can only be a good this for our side.

losing doesn't leave a good taste in your mouth :)

Re: Re: loosen up

Originally posted by topdon
i apologise pedrothelioness. just a little uptight tonight for some reason ;) i guess we really couldn't expect too much out of the side we have had for the past 2 weeks. they have done us proud and they tried hard i thought. just weren't good enough in the end. our 'senior' players couldn't be expected to 'carry' the side as they have. we've just lost the same 'type' of players which has hurt us, and that's where you beat us tonight...the midfield.

i obviously remain confident of our chances this year. our players know that they have a fight on their hands, which can only be a good this for our side.

losing doesn't leave a good taste in your mouth :)

If that's how you feel after 1 loss, be bloody grateful you weren't born a Saints supporter.

Ummmmmm.....yeah whatever.....

Hmmmmm.....anyway.....sorry for interrupting....but...getting back to the votes.
Pretty difficult finding a winner last night, but i've gone:

3 J.Johnson
2 D.Hardwick
1 D.Peverill

To steal a line from Arnie: "we'll be back!"
:p

where's wally?

3. Lloyd
2. Hille
1. J Johnson

1. I also found the decision to remove Hille perplexing. He had the better of Keating. Most impressive.

2. Corey McGrath, although only on the field for a short time, imressed me again. Impressive skills.

Re: 3,2,1

Originally posted by James2
3. Lloyd
2. Hille
1. J Johnson

1. I also found the decision to remove Hille perplexing. He had the better of Keating. Most impressive.

2. Corey McGrath, although only on the field for a short time, imressed me again. Impressive skills.

I'm sorry, but you must have been watching a different game. Hille was useless. Hardly attacked the ball and was just standing around waiting for others to gget it. He was playing VFL footy, and we did better when Robran went into the ruck. Hille showed 'nothing' around the ground. and was rightfully dragged.

I was disappointed not to see Corey get more of a run. Did some good things when he came on.

My votes (hard as they may be):
3. M. Lloyd
2. D, Hardwick
1. J. Johnson

Yes...'we'll be back'!

Well the only good thing I saw come out of the game was the $500 donation for every goal Brisbane kicked. As for the votes:

3: Hird
2: Peverill
1: J Johnson

Can anyone explain why Rioli was moved to the back line and Solomon to the foward line?
Also was it just me or did Lynch just Glen Manton every opponent he had all night?
Fletcher will probably get 1 week for that trip, although I guess his defence will say he was going for the ball. But, I reckon he will be rubbed out for it.

3. Hird
2. Fletcher
3. J.Johnson

I had a bad feeling about this game, I almost tipped Brissie, but my heart won out.
I don't care what anyone else thinks, but IMO the one player we really need back is Smokin Joe, we aren't anywhere near as good in the midfield without Joe.
I hope he will be back soon.

Re: Re: 3,2,1

Originally posted by topdon

I'm sorry, but you must have been watching a different game. Hille was useless. Hardly attacked the ball and was just standing around waiting for others to gget it. He was playing VFL footy, and we did better when Robran went into the ruck. Hille showed 'nothing' around the ground. and was rightfully dragged.

I was disappointed not to see Corey get more of a run. Did some good things when he came on.

My votes (hard as they may be):
3. M. Lloyd
2. D, Hardwick
1. J. Johnson

Yes...'we'll be back'!
Sorry Topdon,I`ve had another look at the tape,Hille was clearly the best big man,winning taps and around the ground,inexplicably taken off.

3. Damien Hardwick
2. Matty Lloyd
1. James Hird

I thought hille was fairly good, obviously the kid has a long way to go, and i dont think he is fully fit, he hasnt rucked a full game in the vfl this season so that could be part of the reason he went of the ground
his tap work is sensational and his best asset, this is something that sets him apart from the other young ruckman in the comp (fraser, mcdonald, ottens etc)
around the ground he will only get better with experience
good to see the kid have a crack and im sure he has a big future at the club

should get barnes, mercuri, caracella, moorcroft back next week
im sure all other clubs could only dream to have 4 inclusions of that class

3 Lloyd
2 Hird
1 Fletcher

Walshy, Hille did get a lot of taps but I felt a lot of them did not do us any good as they were down to the base of the ruck contest where a pack (inevitably) formed. Didn't think he was useless though, just has a fair bit to learn.

Originally posted by Dave
Walshy, Hille did get a lot of taps but I felt a lot of them did not do us any good as they were down to the base of the ruck contest where a pack (inevitably) formed. Didn't think he was useless though, just has a fair bit to learn.

Yeah, i thought the same thing. Hille's still pretty raw, but can only learn and will get better. In fact, i think Saturday night proved how important Barnsey is to our midfield structure.
Alessio too, for that matter.

where's wally?

Yeah Wally...we were always going to be in a little trouble after we lost Barnes. It's a lot to expect Hille to ruck for the whole match, and on review of the tape, he didn't do 'that' bad.

But I've heard that Barnes had been carrying this achilles injury for the majority of the season. Apparently Barnsey couldn't walk on Friday, which is probably a result of having to carry the rucking for an entire game. This could have been the reason why he was used sparingly so far this season. Especially when Cess regained form.

Hopefully Barnes will be back this weekend, along with Caracella. You'd think that Mercuri might be given another week.

We'll see how it pans out!

I've read that Caracella will be another week along with Mercuri. We look to get Barnes & Moorcroft back, but it looks like we'll lose Fletcher, the AFL have lodged a second trip charge:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/story_231057.htm

Didn't see this one , but the first looked innocous, though the replay didn't show a very good angle on it. What do you guys reckon, will he go?

Round 10: 3, 2, 1