Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond

Lol are these saints supporters serious??? You didnt get to grand finals with your midfield, which at absolute best is above average, but without depth. No match for Cotch Martin Lids etc.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: gotta love Tiger supporters!!

BTW Sportsbet have both sides at $1.90 so cant split them at moment.

interesting comments from everyone here. should be a cracker of a match and at the end of the day it will be the better team on the night that wins. Both supporters rightly go into this one very confident as should both teams. Looking forward to a ripper of a game.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: gotta love Tiger supporters!!

BTW Sportsbet have both sides at $1.90 so cant split them at moment.
Dare I say it but Tuck is almost Hayes-esque ;) can barely split them on this year's stats.

Just missing that freak leap that allows Hayes to go third man up at the ruck. And probably that freak sidestep the highlights package editors love so much.

But Lenny is just another St. Kilda witches' hat, right? :)

Honestly, can see it going either way. And I'm loving that the Tiges are in that position - definitely a team I have the utmost appreciation and respect for.

I really, really want us to win, but that is for ourselves and our position on the ladder. There are teams that I really, really want to win against, irrespective of ladder position (Carlton immediately comes to mind). Beating the Tiges is the dirty job that needs to be done. And if we lose, I will be disappointed, but happy for your mob.

Dare I say it but Tuck is almost Hayes-esque ;) can barely split them on this year's stats.

Just missing that freak leap that allows Hayes to go third man up at the ruck. And probably that freak sidestep the highlights package editors love so much.

But Lenny is just another St. Kilda witches' hat, right? :)

Funnily enough, Tuck used to do the third man up to perfection, so much so that he actually played as a second around the ground ruck several times back in the Wallace era. Doesn't often go up as third man now, as it is quite clear that he's one of the main men we rely on getting the first possession at clearances.

As for the side step, not too many match Lenny in that area :thumbsu:

I want to see Fray play Grigg the way he played Kade Simpson 3 weeks ago. A supreme shut-down job on arguably Richmonds best outside mid will go a long way to ensuring a Saints win

This may sound strange but i wouldnt mind seeing Dempster play on Nahas... Seems to dominate small forwards but not so great on taller forwards. Thoughts?

Others include:
Cockchin - Jones
Martin - Armo
Foley - Steven
Tuck - Hayes

I reckon Hardwick will set the Ranga for Nicky Dal... Hope Nick can work through it

Surely this is a typo.

nice to see the confidence around our board this week :D

hope we can snag a win in what i see to be a very close match that can swing either way

in regards to seating and co. do you guys reckon i would need to buy GA tickets beforehand on ticketmaster or rather just rock up and get em there?

I wanted the tiges to pick up Saad sooooooo bad!!! He would have been a great addition to our fwd line. Oh well, cant wait for this game!

I'll be much more confident if Fisher isnt playing. Nevertheless, hoping the boys can get over the line regardless. Tiges by 8 points

I wanted the tiges to pick up Saad sooooooo bad!!! He would have been a great addition to our fwd line. Oh well, cant wait for this game!

Yeah he’s been a fantastic addition to our side. Adds genuine pace, which we badly lacked.
I’m not sure though if he can kick on his left?

It's funny everyone was banging on about our first 5 rounds... It gets no easier probably harder.Saints are playing awesome footy.
Could be an unbelievable match really on form.
Lenny worries me.Untaggable I reckon just too good in close which is big for us as our midfield has been giving us So much impetus.Wont be the case this week.

Kosi getting off the leash is a concern too. Looks in pretty good touch and of course the small forwards.Pretty confident that Morris can keep Milne quiet to an extent but the other two really worry me.
For us Maric is key but again I've seen Lenny shark opposition hit outs for a living so the mids must be on their game.
Anyway I hope both sides are on as it could really be a monster footy match.

For us Maric is key but again I've seen Lenny shark opposition hit outs for a living so the mids must be on their game.

I think you're the first Richmond supporter to acknowledge this. If you look at the stats, we have been losing the hitouts consistently yet winning the clearances department consistently also. That's not to say Maric isn't going to be influential, of course.

Yeah Richmond supporters are getting way ahead of themselves as per usual. Looking forward to us giving them a reality check.

We just need Jones to tag Cotchin who is a gun and the key to their midfield, can't believe the Hawks didn't tag him and let him run amok, and we will beat them everywhere else.

Maric has been good lately but Blake and Kosi can at least break even with him.

Fisher and Schneider will be handy inclusions if they are fit but I'd be more than happy to just roll with the same side that did the business against Sydney.

I disagree Plugger.

Tag Cotchin? What about Foley, Edwards, Martin, Deledio? All can be very damaging

Maric? A formidable opponent for any ruck in the league. Tough and makes the simple things look brilliant. This guy will tear us a new one if not countered for every minute and for every quarter.

Richmond will be hungry for blood on Friday.

Richmond are tough and skilled. This game will be about hard ball gets. We need to win the inside or they will cut us to pieces on the outside.

The only reason the Bombers beat them is that they couldn't convert in front of goal. Richmond slaughtered Essendon in the inside 50 count.

Just my take on the coming spectacle. :eek:

BEWARE the Mullet

'The Mullet, long thought to be extinct during the later part of the 1980's has disturbingly become somewhat of a fashion statement during the early 2010's. This re-emergence pays to the fact that "fashions come in 30 year cycles". Warwick Capper style shorts are thought to be next on the fashion horizon.'

'...and now, back to the football'.

nice to see the confidence around our board this week :D

hope we can snag a win in what i see to be a very close match that can swing either way

in regards to seating and co. do you guys reckon i would need to buy GA tickets beforehand on ticketmaster or rather just rock up and get em there?

ATM it is not ticketed, if you are overtly worried then prepare for an influx around Wednesday and pre-purchase tickets. Despite being a well supported club, current history would have Richmond as the lower drawing of that bracket, but similarly also be aware that as they are "up" on these years these expectations should also be revised up.

So I'd say drop ticketmaster a line re availability, and if you're still worried 3 days before then just pre-buy them.

Re: BEWARE the Mullet

'The Mullet, long thought to be extinct during the later part of the 1980's has disturbingly become somewhat of a fashion statement during the early 2010's. This re-emergence pays to the fact that "fashions come in 30 year cycles". Warwick Capper style shorts are thought to be next on the fashion horizon.'

'...and now, back to the football'.

It would be best not to focus on the opponents choice of hairstyle but rather his effectiveness at contests. Otherwise we are looking at another Cox/Subiaco scenario like a fortnight earlier.

[youtube]eNr0WXQ3Ho4[/youtube]

Think it's time for a bit of

schneider_main-420x0.jpg

Cripps has been OK in patches, but he's generally only getting 8-10 possies and maybe a goal or two and Schneidrman has those sort of stats on a very ordinary day. Adam still has plenty to offer I imagine and can give us that extra skill and smarts and goalsense and someone else to rotate through the midfield.

I would certainly prefer to see him as the "sub" than say Cripps, or Siposs (as opposed to Adam not playing at all), as he needs to get some footy into him and is more likely to have a bigger impact for us this year than they are. There is no great hurry for Cripps and Siposs when we still have the likes of Schneider on our list and Adam's time is now, while they still hopefully have a decade of footy ahead of them. Cripps has had plenty of a taste and can now go back and keep working on his game at Sandy (whenever the hell they play next!).

If teams are having trouble containing all of Milne, Saad and Milera, it could be a real headache to have to find someone for Schneider as well. Imagine him getting potentially the "6th best defender" instead of the "4th best" as he has for years. It could be party time for him! :thumbsu:

Think it's time for a bit of

schneider_main-420x0.jpg

Cripps has been OK in patches, but he's generally only getting 8-10 possies and maybe a goal or two and Schneidrman has those sort of stats on a very ordinary day. Adam still has plenty to offer I imagine and can give us that extra skill and smarts and goalsense and someone else to rotate through the midfield.

I would certainly prefer to see him as the "sub" than say Cripps, or Siposs, as he needs to get some footy into him and is more likely to have a bigger impact for us this year than they are. There is no great hurry for Cripps and Siposs when we still have the likes of Schneider on our list and Adam's time is now, while they still hopefully have a decade of footy ahead of them.

If teams are having trouble containing all of Milne, Saad and Milera, it could be a real headache to have to find someone for Schneider as well. Imagine him getting potentially the "6th best defender" instead of the "4th best" as he has for years. :thumbsu:

If he is better in front of goal than the 2009 GF, then we need him.

Otherwise he could become a stapler. :D :p

[youtube]hqLUbmpuVw4[/youtube]

Changes I can see are

IN: Schneider, Fisher
OUT: Cripps, Siposs

*subject to fitness

I would like to see both those guys play, but I can't cut anyone else. Gram, Gilbert and Milera are probably next out, but I can't justify dropping them at the moment (although Milera has to be more aware of when to sell candy and when not to sell candy). Geary also under a cloud, but hopefully he comes up fine.

I'm very surprised we haven't tried Terry Milera as a sub yet this year. Has played full matches all year so far. If Schneiderman is up to a full game, I'd like to see Milera start as the sub. I'm not sure what kind of impact he'd have there, but he could make a good sub, and with spots in the 22 becoming more intently contested, he might have to play there later in the season so we can fit him in.

I like the idea by someone on here of using Farren to tag Grigg. :thumbsu:

Steven is also good like Hayes at reading opposition ruckman hitouts, think they will be studying Ivan tapes this week. Very happy with the improvement overall in the midfield the last few weeks, also like their willingness to hit the scoreboard this year.

Can't afford a quiet first quarter v Richmond, they can score, and quickly.

I like the idea by someone on here of using Farren to tag Grigg. :thumbsu:

Steven is also good like Hayes at reading opposition ruckman hitouts, think they will be studying Ivan tapes this week. Very happy with the improvement overall in the midfield the last few weeks, also like their willingness to hit the scoreboard this year.

Can't afford a quiet first quarter v Richmond, they can score, and quickly.

Grigg is soft. Not many possies contested.

The stoppages (just for something different) will again be a crucial factor here. Players like Grigg, much like Simpson from Carlton are shutdown by denying them supply through winning clearances.

Morris has been a great pickup for Richmond, but Tigers fans are deluding themselves if they think Milney plays anything like Cyril. Milne will be something Morris has yet to come up against.

Saad/Houli matchup would be great for multiculturalism of our great game. Saad has the ability to get loose as Houli likes to follow the play.

We must take advantage of our opportunities in front of goal. Milne kicked 4.7 last year.

Our pressure on the ball carrier will be far greater than anything Hawthorn put up on Saturday.

Can't wait for the game.

Fun fact, Saad and Houli are the only Muslim players in the AFL

I think it's great that we could see Saad v. Houli this weekend.

I'm sure both were determined enough to make it onto centre-stage in the AFL, regardless of their background and/or beliefs. Thumbs up to both of them for making it to the top. :thumbsu:

Saad should keep up his defensive forward pressure regardless. That's what denies the opponent's defense a rest. Mr.Saad you were fantastic last week. Hold the pressure.

I think there are two possibilities for this match, either one side shall take a medium sized lead and manage to hold onto it for most of the match (around 20-30 ppoints) or it'll be a real nail biter, and i think that if it is really close, the injection of speed + experience of the saints will get us over the line.

The tigs supporters are being a bit cocky except for the 1 or 2 that say the opposite from the rest, but thats normal with most clubs. I think you can't really question who has a better midfield, its the saints, but the tigers do have a very good one aswell, personally i think Dustin Martin is a bit overrated but on the other hand i think Cotchin is just a freak and Delidio is amazing. But the thing is i don't think ive seen one person be able to escape the tagging of CJ. So if we take out cotch we'll be handed the keys to victory.

On the other hand, we are low on our ruck "stocks" with big boy Mcevoy out and Stanley aswell, Blake has stood up in their absence but i think they'll win the hitouts, so not for the first time this season our midfield will have to give 120%.

I personally think with gwilt back our defences is perhaps only slightly better then theirs, if we get fisher it wont be a question and whos is better.

I think our forward line is better, but i cant really talk too much as i dont no much about their forwards except for a few. In a way its similar to ours with, milne/king, milera (or sad)/Nahas, Riewoldt/Riewoldt. But i think when we need our mids can stand up and score aswell.

Hopefully we can et over the line, i think we will, most commentators (Leigh Matthews), man i think hes got something against the saints, normally when were playing he always complains about us and says how good the other team is doing or if hes asked whos gonna win the match, i think i may have heards saints once or twice...

Saints by 18 ;)

Preview Round 10: St Kilda vs Richmond