Review Round 11, 2025 - Hawthorn vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Hawthorn?

As soon as we started working hard and making options inside the corridor we took control. We grinded them down well yesterday

Feel like we were spotting up the last target before inside 50 a LOT better yesterday. Very few shallow inside 50s to 40/45m out where a turnover is so dangerous.

Also it baffles me how players are allowed to encourage, pretend there is head high cocontact.
A 20mins rest and compulsory concussion assessment would quickly stamp out any staging for free kicks for head contact....but in saying that the Hawks would have no bench and 14 players on field in most games

Matthew Lloyd reckons we're "the team to beat" after our performance yesterday.

First King and now Lloyd? What is going on in the footy media this year.
But what did they say the previous 2 weeks.

I suppose they are in the media so have to say something or they won't get paid.

One of best moments of the day when the kid the crowd lost his shit over Charlie's 3rd goal.
Not just him… I lost it and scared the living daylights out of a pair of little Hawthorn supporters sitting immediately in front of me.

That 3rd goal gave the supporters a massive lift. It was very quiet in the dry bay of the MCC where we were sitting. It was noticeable that a number of lions supporters jumped to their feet.

Loved Charlie’s celebrations. He was on, but i reckon kicking that third awesome snap would have given Charlie massive confidence. “I’ve still got it”.

That was a great bump from Eric.
I watched it again on replay when I got home and it looked fine - still don't know what the free to Sicily was for

Kane and Dillon still trying to make the game 'safe' ?
The physical intent of our players yesterday was there to see. It was awesome.
I don’t mind of we give away the occasional free going hard - it shows the boys are playing on the edge. It’s actually meaningful when it’s a whole team approach, vs what happened against Naicos.

Love it!

And don't get me started on their supporters and those black pointed hats. As embarrassing as wearing a Kentucky Fried Chicken tub on your head at the cricket.
That depends. If the person wearing it is under 16 then i’m all for it. Kids need every encouragement to get engaged.
Over 16… 100% agree.

(But this is from a middle-aged man who has worn a Lions guernsey to almost every game i’ve attended, so what would i know!).

No doubt he's been terrific over the last cpl of seasons. My question is, is he doing anything that Doedee doesn't do when fit? I'm not angling for Lester to be replaced or anything like that. Is there anything you can see Doedee doing better than Lester? Is Doedee a bit quicker for example?
I won’t see Lester dropped for Doedee unless he gets injured or starts to get exposed as deficient. Froggy’s read on the play is outstanding, knowing when to attack through the centre, or get back for an intercept, fantastic. He’s the ultimate clubman and a brilliant story. It’s not just us fans who see it, commentators are also on the Froggy story.
This is tough on Doedee because i’m sure he was bought in to take Lester’s roll… but unfortunately he came in with a knee and then did it again. This gave Froggy space to make that position his own.

3KZ is Football if Lester got these stats against cameron or for that matter Gunston yesterday, and held him to no goals you would be saying he was best on. Come on mate.

You are an astute footy watcher - you can admit that his influence was much more than what is below in stats.

…..For the record, today Payne beat Jack Gunston and had
9 Disposals (6 kicks / 3 handballs)
8 Intercept Possessions
5 Marks (1 contested)
1 Tackle
0 Clearance
55 Metres Gained
0 Inside 50
That’s true, because Cameron is a Marquee Forward and Gunston ain’t.

I too don't think Lester's spot is in danger, is a premiership player and doing a good role, but Weddle ran away from him yesterday whilst bouncing the ball at least three times down the wing and almost scored a goal.
No other player was chasing Weddle or coming across to add pressure. Perhaps the implied pressure of Froggy chasing him meant he pushed harder than his capacity, so when he got within range he had nothing left in the tank and left his shot on goal 10 meters short.

Players all have different attributes, and a reality that some players will be faster than others.

No other player was chasing Weddle or coming across to add pressure. Perhaps the implied pressure of Froggy chasing him meant he pushed harder than his capacity, so when he got within range he had nothing left in the tank and left his shot on goal 10 meters short.

Players all have different attributes, and a reality that some players will be faster than others.

Weddle is faster than all of our players. Don’t think anyone could have caught him. Maybe Charlie could have 2 years ago.

Everything Mitch says about the opposition is a subtle unexpected jab to the kidneys.

The way we wax it around for 5 minutes when we have a comfortable lead isn't much good for Hawthorn with the way they want to play so he wants all the other teams to be on to us. To him it's unfair.

Mitch hates losing .

He has the most annoying habit of jutting his bottom jaw out when emphasising something…I don’t know if it’s an affectation or the result of an unfortunate underbite but I do know that whenever he speaks, I’m watching his mouth and wanting someone to punch it until he shuts up!

It’s a bit aggressive I know but I can’t pretend it’s not true 😳 😂

Could the many second rucks things be a new experiment? I don't always pay much attention to those things but it was surprising to notice all of Dizzy, Morris and Dunks competing at times, though rarely near the middle of the ground. Are the numbers above more than usual?

I would imagine it could annoy/confuse the opposition and force changing defensive assignments to create chaos, especially in the forward 50 where it seemed to occur most. If say Barrass has Morris and he suddenly nominates unexpectedly in the ruck then you could imagine some panicked head swiveling about where he should be instead. The old "do what your opposition least wants you to do" tactic...

Could the many second rucks things be a new experiment? I don't always pay much attention to those things but it was surprising to notice all of Dizzy, Morris and Dunks competing at times, though rarely near the middle of the ground. Are the numbers above more than usual?

I would imagine it could annoy/confuse the opposition and force changing defensive assignments to create chaos, especially in the forward 50 where it seemed to occur most. If say Barrass has Morris and he suddenly nominates unexpectedly in the ruck then you could imagine some panicked head swiveling about where he should be instead. The old "do what your opposition least wants you to do" tactic...

I don't think our main ruck took any forward 50 ruck contests

I won’t see Lester dropped for Doedee unless he gets injured or starts to get exposed as deficient. Froggy’s read on the play is outstanding, knowing when to attack through the centre, or get back for an intercept, fantastic. He’s the ultimate clubman and a brilliant story. It’s not just us fans who see it, commentators are also on the Froggy story.
This is tough on Doedee because i’m sure he was bought in to take Lester’s roll… but unfortunately he came in with a knee and then did it again. This gave Froggy space to make that position his own.
Life is about timing sometimes - Doedee goes down and Lester hits a purple patch of form. If Doedee can still play at AFL level it will be a thing of beauty though.

Review Round 11, 2025 - Hawthorn vs. Brisbane Lions