Autopsy Round 11 - St Kilda v Gold Coast

Keeler was moved forward in the final term, but I really hope he starts in defence again next week. Really liked the look of Wilkie + Caminiti + Keeler. Kept King + Walter + Read to just 3 goals total

Caminiti with an equal team-high 8 intercepts. Keeler with 7

Improved performance compared to previous weeks. Can't knock the effort, but talent and footy IQ is lacking. We're being killed by the fact that our outside link-up players just can't retain the footy. Hill, Wilson and Byrnes are all liablties anywhere near the ball at the moment - can't kick, can't handball, can't mark, constantly fumbling. Bombing it on Higgo's head is not a viable inside 50 strategy either. Our defence looked better with more height and we need another tall forward as well.

Looks like Hunter was finally given a key to the weights room. Looking more like spaghettoni arms these days

The way Bassat and RTB are going ( absolutely 100% behind them) I suspect your wish will come true.

Batten down the hatches for what we’re about to cop from the likes of Cornes, Caro,Lloyd, Barrett and the like….
and we deserve everything we get, its unwatchable football and the supporters agree 13400 yesterday at the game and most leaving early. This is RTB 3rd year and we are going backwards this year.

everyone finding it easier to blame the AFL then the club it self

About the worst skilled side AFL but we train less then any other club, it was hard being there yesterday watching turn over after turn with basic skills

We are 3 -5 years away from finals

and we deserve everything we get, its unwatchable football and the supporters agree 13400 yesterday at the game and most leaving early. This is RTB 3rd year and we are going backwards this year.

About the worst skilled side AFL but we train less then any other club, it was hard being there yesterday watching turn over after turn with basic skills

After losing last week, I think fans sent a message.

Both are to blame. But we need access to draft picks to work with the system the AFL set

Every club outside of the clearly rebuilding Richmond, West Coast and North would have had hopes of making finals this year. I think it's fair to say that we are the least skilled and physically weakest of any team outside of those few. And we even managed to give WC their only win for the year.

A few years back there were calls for us to trade out some of our established stars for first round picks and in hindsight that was probably the correct call. We would have won a few less games but our young core just doesn't have enough high end talent to take us into contention any time soon. And all we have to show for hanging onto the senior players is an elimination final loss in 2023.

The league is genuinely rigged to favour the northern clubs - Brisbane, GC, Sydney and GWS could finish top 4 and all could have greater access to top talent than the team that finishes last.

We're going to have to be very smart and very ruthless to get ahead. We've been irrelevant for 14 years due to a combination of a rigged competition and our own incompetence. I see incremental improvement but we'll need a lot more than that

Every club outside of the clearly rebuilding Richmond, West Coast and North would have had hopes of making finals this year. I think it's fair to say that we are the least skilled and physically weakest of any team outside of those few. And we even managed to give WC their only win for the year.

A few years back there were calls for us to trade out some of our established stars for first round picks and in hindsight that was probably the correct call. We would have won a few less games but our young core just doesn't have enough high end talent to take us into contention any time soon. And all we have to show for hanging onto the senior players is an elimination final loss in 2023.

The league is genuinely rigged to favour the northern clubs - Brisbane, GC, Sydney and GWS could finish top 4 and all could have greater access to top talent than the team that finishes last.

We're going to have to be very smart and very ruthless to get ahead. We've been irrelevant for 14 years due to a combination of a rigged competition and our own incompetence. I see incremental improvement but we'll need a lot more than that
Hawks are the model and Richmond will go past us in 2 years their list is already better for the future

I maintain that he is not a ruckman, he is an oversized mid really. Has zero ruck craft, simply runs at the oppo and either 1. Gives a free kick, 2. Snags it out of the contest and dump kicks it on to the oppo hbf’s tit.
I’m with you dard
Reckon he should be forward or chb
Either or but reckon he should be a bookend

We need to improve our list quality no doubt, but this year still has a question mark to it as we just haven't been able to play any where near our best side, constantly not having our book ends has hurt Howard,King coupled with a slow & at time deveoloping M/F hasn't helped.

The need for TDK is more evident week in week out & Ross needs to start settling players in positions Eg: Caminiti & Keeler play them forward or back evidence shows that moving players around stiffles their development.

Fast track Boxshall,Garcia,Windhager & Pou in the M/F only play 1 of Steele or McCrae in there during centre bounces.

Keep Wood,Hill,Byrne's & Wilson on the wings we lack run and carry across those area's.

Start looking at Henry post 2025 is he going to get back to where he should be if not time to move him on.

Develop Dodson as the Number 1 ruck at Sandy for the remainder of the year see how he develops as he shows potential but playing Heath,Dodson & Boyd in the same side when they all look as though they play the #1 ruck surley isn't smart.

My thoughts.

At half time I had lost all hope in our rebuild and in the talent of our young players.

By full time, I was more positive but also circumspect in that if we do make it to a GF in the next 5 years, it will be through grit and system rather than talent and we’ll probably be up against a nepo baby club. However the crappy Tigers sides that won flags a few years ago is proof that a good system can win flags.

Positives:
  • captain Steele showing something
  • Boxshalls desperation. This kid will be a star.
  • Keeler getting his hands on the footy!
  • Cama taking the front position and intercepting. That was a breath of fresh air.
  • Travalgia’s run and carry and superb handball game to get run going. Don’t worry about the kicking turnovers, we need to persist !
  • Pou getting his hands on the footy and elite kicking.
  • Owens getting busy.
  • Windy showing some fight. Still think in the long run he’s better suited to a lockdown back pocket role or pressure forward like Rylee West.
  • O Connell. I just like him.
  • and the animal Hunter Clark with his tackling. Boy did he represent the jumper.

Negatives:
  • coughing up handballs to the oppo when getting tackled when we should hold onto it instead.
  • Hill’s turnovers
  • centre square mauling
  • etc

Never forget that we paid off Dockland stadium for the AFL. Put 800,000 more fans through there than the next best, yet we could not make a profit from it. Then the AFL took ownership of it for $1, or some other peppercorn payment. Our thanks - nothing. No marque matches, no better stadium deal, nothing. Just being forced to live of hand outs whilst bigger clubs get better blockbuster draws, and expansion teams get handouts, unless you are a basket case like North. It’s been going this way for ever and now father son and academy picks make it even tougher and unequal. Yet we will be told that in order to make this equal we will get equalization payments, but we only exist because of handouts.

What an absolute con.

Well done Lyon and Bassett, finally telling some of it like it is.

More please. Much more.
We are gonna need some supporters to call up dwanyes world today to fly the flag

After Ro got battered by Witts yesterday I hope it’s realised that TDK would be pretty handy. He may not have beaten Witts, but we would have got more out of those contests. And having Marshall moving around as a Centre Half Forward might be the way to go. If he stays.

With King back and Ro a mobile target it could be a formidable duo.

After Ro got battered by Witts yesterday I hope it’s realised that TDK would be pretty handy. He may not have beaten Witts, but we would have got more out of those contests. And having Marshall moving around as a Centre Half Forward might be the way to go. If he stays.

With King back and Ro a mobile target it could be a formidable duo.
Marshall is crazy if he thinks he should be #1 ruck lol. Hes a great player, but not a great ruck

Play Marshall as the deep forward & King at CHF like Cameron does at Geelong & he wouldn't be getting into 1 on 1 situations if he's on the move, Marshall is better suited to play the 1 on 1 role in a key forward situation.

Wonder if Ross is setting it up for the end of year when we get pick 4, but draft at pick 10 when 6 other academy ans F/S are taken away from our draft choice.
Exactly.
And for any other organisation it would be an embarrassment but the for afl and the afl nepo media it will be a celebration of romance.

That was a sneaky move by the afl handing out 10k to the number one pick. It’s stopped clubs from selecting a player they can’t get. I hope someone goes against the grain for once and let’s a top four club take pick one. Drive the nail home.

I guess on the one hand Gold Coast have pumped just about everyone they have played this year and we didn't get pumped. On the other, our skills, particularly disposal, were deplorable - worst in the AFL stuff. WE seem to have had that rank since about 2012. I'd have thought that would be one of the simpler problems to coach.

Good to see Ross Lyon and Basset firing some shots at the AFL for favouring the Northern expansion clubs with draft pick favours.

It is becoming a joke, how are we supposed to compete with the Lions, Swans, Giants and Suns being spoonfed top draft picks.

It's not an even playing field anymore, the AFL are trying to make/keep the Northern expansion clubs successful at our expense.

They think they can just treat us like shit as we have a loyal supporter base and give us handouts for a shit Marvel stadium deal.

We need to make a stand and speak up rather than sit there quietly and just allow the AFL to ride roughshod over us at their will.

We are making ourselves a joke. We spent all our draft capital topping up to sit mid table 5 years ago. All that cohort that should be rising and carrying us up the ladder are gone. The few good ones we did draft, we let walk out.

We let hubris pick a substandard side to play West Coast and lost the trust of our fans. We promised finals and then cut the list back hard and made us youth heavy and uneven. We play laborious footy that isn't getting results and isn't enjoyable to watch the we lose.

We have one bankable elite talent under 23 and some potential but will still need all our recent draftees to overachieve to catch up because of past mistakes.

Richmond have probably added just as much talented youth in one draft as we have in all drafts since 2012. We are now about to repeat mistakes and overpay for a few players with potential to look popular. Same as SOS did at Carlton and why their list maxed out just off the peloton.

We need to shut up and get everything right from here and stop whinging like a bong smoking dole bludger that thinks he should be CEO of Apple.

Gold Coast sooking it up this morning about the Nepo Baby comment. Problem for them is they’re giving it air and it will now stick. Probably worth the grief we are predictably getting from supporters of other clubs.

But what a timeslot to get. 4.40 on a Sunday evening mid winter. Against a lowly supported interstate team. Second week in a row we’ve been last game of the round. AFL’s whipping boys. We have nothing to lose having a pop.

Fast track Boxshall,Garcia,Windhager & Pou in the M/F only play 1 of Steele or McCrae in there during centre bounces.

Keep Wood,Hill,Byrne's & Wilson on the wings we lack run and carry across those area's.

If Windhager and Garcia are in our starting mids in 5 years time then we are still in the bottom half. Yes, gotta play them at at the moment because our pool of mids is about an inch deep but need to prioritise moving these guys to be back up options only.

I guess on the one hand Gold Coast have pumped just about everyone they have played this year and we didn't get pumped. On the other, our skills, particularly disposal, were deplorable - worst in the AFL stuff. WE seem to have had that rank since about 2012. I'd have thought that would be one of the simpler problems to coach.

We work our arses off for zero result. GC seemed to whisk the ball away and be inside 50 in three neat kicks. When we have the ball we can't or won't find space.

When we do get it forward we kick it straight to a defender. Youth heavy sides make mistakes and we have an extremely small talent pool on field at the moment.

I'm back to hating the club again. My faith is wearing very thin.

Gold Coast sooking it up this morning about the Nepo Baby comment. Problem for them is they’re giving it air and it will now stick. Probably worth the grief we are predictably getting from supporters of other clubs.

But what a timeslot to get. 4.40 on a Sunday evening mid winter. Against a lowly supported interstate team. Second week in a row we’ve been last game of the round. AFL’s whipping boys. We have nothing to lose having a pop.

They struggle to be relevant or get any media attention. I doubt anyone gives a shit there. To them even being looked at is a bonus, they are milking this camel for everything it's worth

We work our arses off for zero result. GC seemed to whisk the ball away and be inside 50 in three neat kicks. When we have the ball we can't or won't find space.

When we do get it forward we kick it straight to a defender. Youth heavy sides make mistakes and we have an extremely small talent pool on field at the moment.

I'm back to hating the club again. My faith is wearing very thin.
Thank god you’re back el Gringus, place was very depressing without you x

Probably worth the grief we are predictably getting from supporters of other clubs.
It seems to be mixed.

Plenty are agreeing. Plenty are doing the whole "hurr hurr poor saints aints only one flag fold them" shtick