Autopsy Round 12, 2025: Hawks get swooped

I reckon Meek gets 3 weeks if the incident happened 4 weeks ago.
Much criticism (justified imo) of the MRO going mostly on outcome only.
Correct.

There's a lot more the current AFL regime needs to get right. Listening to what the coaches are asking for about getting rid of the sub, which no-one likes, and just having five on the bench should be one of the absolute must-do items on their to-do list.

The Sicily issue is a head scratcher. Many on here were arguing last week to play him forward as we were tall enough down back and didn't need him there. Well Sam tried that and Sicily had no impact at all.
We scored 2 goals in the second half including zero in the last. Our forward entries were diabolical at that stage.

Sis had no impact because our entire forward line had no impact. The horse had bolted.

Correct.

There's a lot more the current AFL regime needs to get right. Listening to what the coaches are asking for about getting rid of the sub, which no-one likes, and just having five on the bench should be one of the absolute must-do items on their to-do list.
5 is too small. List size is what 42 now?

18 in field, 24 interchange.

We have a tough run home.
Adelaide twice (gee they looked good tonight)
Freo in Freo (now seem awesome after crap start)
Melbourne (see Freo)
Port (Ken fires them up)
Pies again
Bris in Brisbane
Dogs next week
Blues
Saints (but Marvel where they are ok)
Roos (Clarko will get em up)
Nowhere near as confident as I was a month back.

We scored 2 goals in the second half including zero in the last. Our forward entries were diabolical at that stage.

Sis had no impact because our entire forward line had no impact. The horse had bolted.
I'd like to play Sic as a permanent forward for a three week stretch, let's get a good sample size of how he can function in that role.

It's asking a lot of any player (especially a player out of form) to swing back to forward on a weekly basis, that's not really giving us good data on whether he can cut it as a full time forward.

Personally I think he can be effective in this role, he's deceptively strong for his size and provides a solid contest in the air.

We are looking slow down back with Battle and Barrass. They ain’t quick. Hardwick must play back.
Chol is no good, need Lewis and Dear desperately. Bruest not an option ..cooked Gunston is a freak but cant rely on him. Wizard and Ginni hot and cold.
Mids lack quality and depth. Moss Day so badly.
How good would todays Long be.
Urrggghhhhh.

Why is Sam is still pressing with playing Sic when we have better options in the VFL. Let him rest rather than being a liability, it’s hurting Sic’s career. We need to stop playing Dimma forward, he’s a gun defender full stop. Need to bring in Dear or at least Ramma and lastly we need to bring pressure and tackle hard
It seems there were so many selection mistakes to ponder too.

Lowest inside 50’s conceded 44 for a loss since the Covid season of 2020. I thought our backline would be a fortress this year but it seems too tall, a tad slow and a little disjointed.
Barrass and Battle are slow. Very slow.
The opposite of what Mitchell was tying to do with this side. It’s stuffed things up. No quick rebound.
Weird choices. I think we really wanted Smith and Perryman but they didn't want us.

Not sure how anybody could be calling for Chol to be dropped. For me, he is the the highlight of the season so far and seems to be having more impact than most. His field kicking is sublime, ruckwork is very good and he is impacting in the forward line in most games, all while being our only tall forward. What does the guy have to do?
Admittedly there are times when he can test our patience.
But holy moly there are times when The Chol’s Royce just does the incredible and you sit there wanting more.
We would be a way worse team without him definitely!
I personally love his forward pressure he puts on when the ball hits the ground and he makes it look so effortless.

Melbourne (see Freo)
Port (Ken fires them up)
Pies again
Bris in Brisbane
Dogs next week
Blues
No obvious wins there.

Since Day’s injury we have beaten West Coast & Richmond (Bottom 2) & Melbourne who really should have put us away by 3/4 time.

Is definitely part of the problem - need to review the balance between guarding space and a defensive press to bring more pressure on the ball carrier. Drives me crazy when I see us run away from the opposition to ensure that our zones are set
I will tell you what drives me crazy!

Is when you float off your man and you give up easy goals.

Also you may need to get your eyes checked as you cannot read the flight of the ball anymore??

Not sure what is going on but if you need a chat we are here for you Sic.

We just want our Captain back not this 2025 imposter!

I miss being me last year and watching footy.

Remember that time?

It was bloody wild and exciting and fearless!

Who cast a frigging Reducio curse over our players this year? We've lost the strut, the will and the desire to entertain.

What happened?

I'd like to play Sic as a permanent forward for a three week stretch, let's get a good sample size of how he can function in that role.

It's asking a lot of any player (especially a player out of form) to swing back to forward on a weekly basis, that's not really giving us good data on whether he can cut it as a full time forward.

Personally I think he can be effective in this role, he's deceptively strong for his size and provides a solid contest in the air.
The way Sicily attacks the ball in the air means he’s always going to find it more challenging being a forward.

He gets under the ball a lot and marks either directly above his head or has to reach back to mark it. Which is fine when you play back shoulder and nudge the forward you are playing against under the ball. Not so good when you’ve got a defender behind you intent on spoiling.

Also given how slow he’s moving at the moment he’s going to struggle to generate any separation and he’s got no ground game at the moment.

The coaches need to find a way to make it work for him behind the ball or he needs some time off to get whatever is preventing from playing at his best sorted.

Melbourne (see Freo)
Port (Ken fires them up)
Pies again
Bris in Brisbane
Dogs next week
Blues
Adelaide after they play brisbane and a showdown later in the year with a 6 day break.
FREO 6 day break for them coming from Sydney longest trip..
BRISBANE last game of the year they might rest players playing freo in perth the week before ..
ST Kilda after they play Sunday night in perth we play them..
COLLINGWOOD have a 5 day break after playing the lions

Good times to play most teams can't complain

Adelaide after they play brisbane and a showdown later in the year with a 6 day break.
FREO 6 day break for them coming from Sydney longest trip..
BRISBANE last game of the year they might rest players playing freo in perth the week before ..
ST Kilda after they play Sunday night in perth we play them..
COLLINGWOOD have a 5 day break after playing the lions

Good times to play most teams can't complain
And I doubt Ken will be there for the port game to “fire them up “

Even dads of players sinking em in.

With due respect that's coming from a biased position though for Pete, he was a commentator on channel 10 many years ago and I didn't hear the context of the discussion. These guys need to be careful because the season isnt over yet and the amount of dancing on our graves going on everywhere is actually laughable. Gloating is at the next level.

We were already found out by Brisbane the week before… and Port before that too…
This Daicos idiot is too arrogant and pea-brained to work that one out…
Season isnt over yet, this sort of talk should motivate the players and coaches to come out and basically say "**** these guys" and start to get fair dinkum about how we go about things.

Is definitely part of the problem - need to review the balance between guarding space and a defensive press to bring more pressure on the ball carrier. Drives me crazy when I see us run away from the opposition to ensure that our zones are set
Yeah. Our full ground defence is just not working. Everyone zoning and no one pressuring. Some of the lack of tackling/pressue is coaching as alluding to by Sam. Interesting to see if we stick it out or change things up.