Opinion Round 12 Changes vs. Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Two things:

1/ Those saying 'drop Sheridan' need to think how he goes when he goes back to Peel. I know bushie says he played like a big girls blouse last time he played for them - and I didn't see the game so I won't comment - BUT he did have 30+ possessions and kicked a goal or two from memory and (supposedly) earned his recall. He's the same as Crozier in that regards - is a 10 possession player at AFL level, so gets dropped, then goes back to WAFL and picks up 30, so gets a recall. How does one manage these young players who are too good for WAFL, but not quite up to AFL level yet? Drop him so he gets his 30, then bring him in the week after to get 10? In, out, in out, and when it comes to playing footy that probably isn't anywhere as nice as some people are currently imagining...(you dirty buggers). I don't know the answer, and I'm sure it's the $64 million question in player development....

I get what you're saying IP, but I guess the problem with Sherro is that he doesn't seem to have a defined role in the team the way Sutty and Neale both do. Sutty is our run out of half back (he did this well today! No one saying he was a turnover merchant today), Neale is a little terrier inside packs that hunts the ball and with quick hands sends it to someone who can either run it out or dispose it into space. Sherro is probably used as an outside, attacking runner more but Hill and Pearce usually play those roles depending on who's free (and the inside mids tend to give them the ball more than Sherro, understandably, as they are more senior) but both of them win their own ball, whereas Sherro is probably too slight to do that at this point in his development.

What to do with him? It's a dilemma.

Ballas being a peanut and getting rubbed out burnt, reckon he would've been the difference when we couldn't score up forward.

Let's hope he doesn't get suspended after today and history doesn't repeat itself then

Bit harsh mate.

Yeah, maybe. My point is that while Sheridan is an excellent athlete, he seems to have no idea how to get hold of the footy and what to do with it when he gets it. He's like the polar opposite of Mikey Barlow. I'm sure he's playing very well at WAFL level, but to me, he seems light years away from making a contribution at AFL level.

I get what you're saying IP, but I guess the problem with Sherro is that he doesn't seem to have a defined role in the team the way Sutty and Neale both do. Sutty is our run out of half back (he did this well today! No one saying he was a turnover merchant today), Neale is a little terrier inside packs that hunts the ball and with quick hands sends it to someone who can either run it out or dispose it into space. Sherro is probably used as an outside, attacking runner more but Hill and Pearce usually play those roles depending on who's free (and the inside mids tend to give them the ball more than Sherro, understandably, as they are more senior) but both of them win their own ball, whereas Sherro is probably too slight to do that at this point in his development.

What to do with him? It's a dilemma.

Yeah that is the conundrum. TBH i'd prefer he and Crozier played WAFL for the rest of the year, even if they are chopping. Hopefully it gets Peel some wins, so they can both spend some time in a winning environment where they can learn how to dominate games ala Box Hill or Geelong Falcons. Both really need another preseason to be effective at AFL level IMO.

Not reportable, but MRP can still look at it. It's already a clip up in the afl site.

Can you get suspended for it? Surely he simply just fell short of the tackle giving both were running at full flight.

Yep agree with this, think Sylvia could come in for either Sheridan or Suban. Same goes for Morabito but can't see it happening just yet, how did Peel go this week?

They had a bye.

IMO Suban played a decent game. I'd like Morra as sub at home and wouldn't the crowed go nuts.

Yeah, maybe. My point is that while Sheridan is an excellent athlete, he seems to have no idea how to get hold of the footy and what to do with it when he gets it. He's like the polar opposite of Mikey Barlow. I'm sure he's playing very well at WAFL level, but to me, he seems light years away from making a contribution at AFL level.

I think if you expect him to be a good inside mid you've been setting yourself up for complete disappointment. Shero's strength is his disposal on both sides and his run.

I have no expectation of him playing inside. I'm well aware of his strengths, I just haven't seen enough of it!

Takes guts to hate on a skinny kid with less than 30 games under his belt that's for sure.
Are you saying it's cowardly? Or is it a sign that I do, actually, have a decent idea on what a natural footballer is and isn't? He's not even that skinny either, blokes like Jack Macrae, Martin Gleeson, and Paul Seedsman are the guys you class as skinny. Most 18-year old blokes who play footy are slim enough.

I just agree with pavsbootlace essentially. He really tries hard. He does. It's not his effort it's just his innate ability to know what to do. He can run well and he has nice skills but he never unlocks the play with a kick. It's always the first option and when there's tight packs and blokes leading free 35 metres away, I don't think the first option is always the right one.

And I was watching him today as old Johnson had to keep pointing and telling him where to run defensively. Several times, Johnson had to take the man of Sheridan simply because Sherro couldn't suss running patterns or understand how to limit leads and things like that. Of course, being a young kid up against bigger names is going to leave you a deer in headlights. That is, unless you're some kind of freak with natural composure and assurance. But Sheridan doesn't seem to have the awareness or ability to see something and do something about it.

My positives: when Hill picks up the footy and decides he wants to do something... he is a joy to watch. That bit where he sliced through a pack of Bulldogs players, and it was so clinical I thought the umpire had actually blown to stop, and he hits Pav right on the palms was just good footy. He also took that really gutsy mark and converted it and that was so endearing; to see him step up and do something like that.

Are you saying it's cowardly? Or is it a sign that I do, actually, have a decent idea on what a natural footballer is and isn't? He's not even that skinny either, blokes like Jack Macrae, Martin Gleeson, and Paul Seedsman are the guys you class as skinny. Most 18-year old blokes who play footy are slim enough.

I just agree with pavsbootlace essentially. He really tries hard. He does. It's not his effort it's just his innate ability to know what to do. He can run well and he has nice skills but he never unlocks the play with a kick. It's always the first option and when there's tight packs and blokes leading free 35 metres away, I don't think the first option is always the right one.

And I was watching him today as old Johnson had to keep pointing and telling him where to run defensively. Several times, Johnson had to take the man of Sheridan simply because Sherro couldn't suss running patterns or understand how to limit leads and things like that. Of course, being a young kid up against bigger names is going to leave you a deer in headlights. That is, unless you're some kind of freak with natural composure and assurance. But Sheridan doesn't seem to have the awareness or ability to see something and do something about it.

My positives: when Hill picks up the footy and decides he wants to do something... he is a joy to watch. That bit where he sliced through a pack of Bulldogs players, and it was so clinical I thought the umpire had actually blown to stop, and he hits Pav right on the palms was just good footy. He also took that really gutsy mark and converted it and that was so endearing; to see him step up and do something like that.

Yeah, yeah, but he's skinny and...

I agree 100%.

OP needs a life.

Unless I am very much mistaken, Balla is fine.

Someone please show me the rule change that says a hand trip in the act of tackling is reportable.

Rule 10.6.1 A Fremantle player shall be punished in accordance with the points system of the Match Review Panel, in addition to the Fremantle bonus point system, as per rule 10.6.2

Rule 10.6.2 Fremantle players shall receive an additional 125 penalty points for every incident brought in front of the Match Review Panel, over and above points accrued as per rule 10.6.1.

Unless I am very much mistaken, Balla is fine.

Someone please show me the rule change that says a hand trip in the act of tackling is reportable.

I just don't understand why they'd differentiate between a hand trip or a leg trip when to me they seem equally dangerous. Too lazy to check so I'll take your word on it but it's an odd one if true. You do often see players "legged" though which is only worth a free kick so that probably supports what you're saying, just a bit worried for the reasons sam outlined above. Too scarred maybe from the reamings we've copped in the past and the precedents they've conjured up.